We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rare gem amongst London resturants - a must for the opera lover”

Bel Canto Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Bel Canto Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #47 of 23,211 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $73 - $101
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located just a few minutes from Lancaster Gate tube station, Bel Canto is suitable for all events and celebrations including birthdays and romantic evenings. Our opera restaurant attracts everyone from opera enthusiasts to curious tourists and culinary explorers. The classic French menu changes seasonally, and is complemented by a diverse selection of both French and Italian wines. Bel Canto has approximately 60 artists on rotation. Every evening 4 singers and a pianist will perform a variety of arias from celebrated operas. The talented waiting staff will belt out everything from Verdi to Wagner while serving fine French cuisine! During the evening you will receive a glass prosecco to join in with the artists to toast with them for the "Libiamo" of the "Traviatta"! Bel Canto is an intimate Restaurant and is decorated with ruby red wallpaper, ornate opera costumes and crisp white linens. Bel Canto offers truly unique and intimate dining experience - the whole team cannot wait to share with you!
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Absolutely fabulous place. Very releaxed and friendly atmosphere with superb opera singers who belt it out in gusto.

We did not experience any major delays between courses. In fact we looked in anticipation for the next song whilst the food was awaited.

The waiters simply make you feel at home! You would be hard-pressed to get a similar fine dining experince anywhere else.

The restauarant is in the basement of the Corus hotel and hotel residents flock to the place. Hence reserve in advance! Definitely recommended.

Being an opera restaurant you pay an extra £15 per head towards the singing, but these singers are worth very penny!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpmaurel, Owner at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2015

Dear Mane,
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your evening at Bel Canto Restaurant. Your words affect us a lot and we are proud that we meet the expectations of our clients. Our singers, waiters, chef and cooks are working hard to offer you an unforgettable experience. Thank you for sharing your wonderful words on trip advisor. Hope to see you soon.
Lyrically yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,040)
There are newer reviews for Bel Canto Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

954 - 958 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2011

Great night. Good food, wonderful singing, great atmosphere. The highlight of our trip. Have been raving about it to all our friends. Would definitely love to go again some day.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Roberta053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpmaurel, Owner at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2015

Dear Roberta053,
Thank you for sharing this fabulous feedback with us. To read the words “brilliant evening” and “highlight of our trip” makes us very happy. I 'm glad to hear that you had a good time during your visit to Bel Canto and that you were not disappointed. I'd love to welcome you again. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

A throughly enjoyable evening, good food, good service, and the bonus on top was the opera
you dont have to be an opera buff......I believe I detected four different languages , didnt understand what was being sung, but the acting skills more than made up for this, the performers are a real talented and professional bunch ....they know there stuff....a real joy
will be back for more........

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank weezergeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpmaurel, Owner at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2015

Dear weezergeeze,
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Bel Canto. We are incredibly proud of our singers, our servers, and our kitchen staff, and we will pass your kind words on to them. We will be delighted to see you again!
Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

My wife and I recently visited Bel Canto and we heartily endorse all the good things other reviewers have said. The food was absolutely scrumptious and the chocolate fondant in particular was to die for! The singing was superb and we would certainly recommend it if you happen to be in London for the evening. We actually booked into the Corus hotel (ask them for special offers, we paid £109 b&b after telling them we had booked for Bel Canto) for the night in which the restaurant is housed and that gives you 20% off of the bill.
It isn't cheap (£42 each for 3 courses plus wine and drinks and 12.5% service) but the whole experience was well worth the money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TheDon46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpmaurel, Owner at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2015

Dear The Don 46, thank you so much for leaving us a review! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Bel Canto. We aim to provide food, service, and music of the very highest standard and we're so pleased that you think we do. We very much hope that your first visit will not be your last and that we will be able to welcome you back to Bel Canto very soon! All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

fabulous singing and very nice food. Really great night.

1  Thank fiona229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bel Canto Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bel Canto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing