We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lunch with great views”

The Ivy Cafe Blackheath
Reserve a Table
2
Mon, 10/14
8:00 PM
Ranked #8,696 of 28,601 Restaurants in London
Price range: $19 - $76
Description: Located in the heart of Blackheath. The restaurant makes for an ideal spot to enjoy an accessible all-encompassing menu, serving British classics from dawn until dusk, including breakfast, elevenses, weekend brunch, lunch, afternoon tea, light snacks, dinner and cocktails.
Restaurant details
Description: Located in the heart of Blackheath. The restaurant makes for an ideal spot to enjoy an accessible all-encompassing menu, serving British classics from dawn until dusk, including breakfast, elevenses, weekend brunch, lunch, afternoon tea, light snacks, dinner and cocktails.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed our lunch on the outside patio with a view to the church and the heath. Service was a little slow but pleasant and we weren’t in a hurry. We had Prosecco to begin and green salads followed by a fish and chips and a steak sandwich with fries. Two of us split the steak sandwich which was just the right amount for us girls. We would return on a future visit.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Bev8789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We've been meaning to go for a while; so, when a family member decided to go for their birthday, I was quite excited. I can now say I've been.
The food was not great. It did not taste fresh. It was, at best, edible. Saying that... my husband said that the fish and chips was nice, it had a really crunch batter.
The staff were sweet, but not particularly effective. I did wonder if they were a bit short staffed; and, there was far too many people squashed into the restaurant.
For me, there are better restaurants in Blackheath.
One good thing... I didn't know there was a resturant/micro brewery a few doors away. We will definately be trying that one!

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank liane147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Four of us went to this cafe for breakfast for my sister’s birthday and were left feeling throughly disappointed by the standard of service we received.

The waiter took 10 mins to even acknowledge us and take a drinks order and the drinks took another 10 mins to arrive. When my girlfriend asked if the sausages were gluten free he had no idea, said he would ask a chef but then never got back to us. He forgot the gluten free toast we ordered completely and even when prompted it didn’t arrive until went inside and asked a manager about it who was very apologetic.

The food was generally very tasty but arrived lukewarm and in stages which for a table of 4 is not acceptable.

The service was generally slow and very uninterested which for a restaurant of this brand and reputation is well below par and a shame as the setting is beautiful and it could be an absolute gem!

There are many other cheaper and much better independent breakfast establishments in Blackheath so I wouldn’t bother wasting your money at this one.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank 659georgew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We are Seven friends who went to The Ivy for an 80th birthday lunch. We chose The Ivy assuming it to be the best local restaurant, we were warmly greeted and had a good table in the window and our order was taken by ariendly waiter. As we are all retired we chose the fixed price menu and treated ourselves to a bottle of Prossecco for a birthday toast. The Prossecco cot £40 a bit steep we thought but it was a special occasion.
. We waited an hour for any food to arrive at the table even though the restaurant was not busy. One of our party chose salmon from the alacarte menu as
She had special dietary concerns. This arrived very undercooked and was returned to the kitchen, after a further long wait it came back just as undercooked. This friend eventually dined on a plate of peas.
. Main course Portions were very small , mine was a tiny tail of sea bream with three small pieces of boiled potatoes and a minute piece of spinach. The desserts were okay but the friend who ordered Camembert cheese had it served freezing cold on a fridge cold plate with very cold celery. We got the impression that the entire plate had been prepared in advance and left in the fridge. The head waiter seemed not to understand that the cheese should have been at least room temperature.
The salmon was taken off the bill and the cheese removed to be warmed in the oven but came back just as cold.
We began th wonder if there was actually a chef on duty on a Monday lunch time. Luckily we were in good humour and determined to give our friend a good birthday. The bill came to £180 including coffee and the deductions we were not very happy to pay the service charge but did do so.
Seven people will not be recommending the Ivy to family or friends Fawlty Towers came to mind .

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Diner184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2019

We visited over bank holiday weekend, all superb as usual! We are really into our food so like to try different places but often find ourselves coming back here as it's consistently great. The terrace has also been updated recently and is a lovely addition.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank doglover1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ivy Cafe Blackheath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing