We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's not Greek, it's Cypriot but it is still over priced and at best mediocre” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Retsina Restaurant

Retsina Restaurant
Ranked #4,638 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Retsina, an award-winning family run restaurant serving traditional Greek and modern Mediterranean cuisine. Located in lovely Belsize Park Village, NW London. With over 30 years of service, with an emphasis on quality fresh ingredients, friendly service and value. Retsina has been described by Gordon Ramsey as "Exceptional"
london
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“It's not Greek, it's Cypriot but it is still over priced and at best mediocre”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I originally went to Retsina when it resided in Primrose Hill. It was a good small family run, reasonably priced restaurant that served good food.
A few years ago it moved to Belsize Par in the former premises of Limonia. The food was still good although the prices increased.
I went with a party of six last night. Last time I went it had fallen to average. Last night was woeful. The portions for the hot and cold meze were at best miniscule and generally bland. The baby squid was mahogany colour from either over cooking or cooked in old oil or both. The king prawns (? thats a laugh it was a shame to have taken them away from their mother) were, in number 3 at a price of £9.90 were rubbery. The main courses were at best okay. One bottle of house red, 5 cokes no deserts, three coffees and a plastic bottle of water £80 a couple!!!
Oh and surly waiters.

It's a Cypriot Taverna run by a guy called Minos and his Mum and Dad with delusions of grandeur because they appeared on the Gordon Ramsey F word. I know what the F stands for.

There is better for less money.
Never ever again

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beachbum1355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    37
    22
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous local Greek”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is how a local Cypriot restaurant should be. Excellent mezzes and probably the best Kleftico in town. Prices are great too.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“I couldn't hear myself eat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is a popular Greek restaurant in trendy Belsize Village. The ceilings are low and the tables tightly packed, and the yuppie crowd very full of themselves, so on the Saturday night we visited the noise was deafening.

The starters were pretty standard but good. I had chicken souvlaka and found it tasteless. My wife had a steak and seemed to enjoy it but I found that tasteless as well. The staff were very friendly but as the restaurant filled up the service got very slow.

At £70 a couple it's not expensive for this part of the world. Everyone around me seemed to be enjoying their food, so perhaps it was just the environment that was making me grumpy, but I won't be going back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brad_Lizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“New year's eve extravaganza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were visiting London to unite family and friends for NYSE and stumbled across this amazing little restaurant. The food was amazing especially the fish, and staff we friendly and welcoming. We saw in the new year with two complimentary bottles of champagne as we watched our fellow dancing join in with the Greek dancing around the restaurant. This was the perfect end to our evening. Thank you to the staff for their hospitality.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Annie099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
462 reviews
293 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 483 helpful votes
“Very tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

A lovely Greek-Cypriot restaurant not too far from central London. Definitely worth the trip out. The food was fresh and flavorsome. In particular, the grilled sardines for starters were delicious. As some other reviewers have commented the main courses are all excellent. The food is a little bit expensive but worth the price. Be sure to book as it was very busy the night we dined here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank runsammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Retsina Restaurant also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Retsina Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing