We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and welcoming!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raison D'etre

Raison D'etre
Ranked #34 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: South Kensington
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and welcoming!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

I happened to stumble across this place whilst galavanting around West London on a friend's Hen's Party...these guys made it an amazingly memorable and fun day! Matthieu the owner was a complete gentleman and they really made our day! They have great service, great food and are a fantastic place to stop in at. Really personable staff in a chilled environment! Loved it!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    60
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches, great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I was studying London across the street and after finding Raison D'etre I started going there for lunch every day. Delicious bread and a great assortment of fresh meats and french cheeses. Incredibly friendly atmosphere, the owner will gladly talk to you about the different sandwiches and make recommendations. Perfect spot for a great sandwich and great coffee.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jared K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great start to the day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Best find for breakfast while staying nearby in Chelsea. I tried a few different bagels and panini with my morning coffee, they were awesome. Menu is very big so was worth going every morning just to try the different fillings. Service was fantastic with the owner very personable and having a daily chat with us. Great start before our big walks around London. Would totally recommend this little gem!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kellie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund, Germany
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful little french cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We were looking for a nice and quiet cafe to chill out in the sun and relax after a long walk through London.
We found this wonderful cafe near South Kensington station where we had a very tasty Focaccia and a nice Cappuccino. The service was brilliant! Thanks. :)

I will come here for sure next time I visit London!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank s t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely welcome, friendly atmosphere and delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had a really tasty lunch here and were treated like valued guests by the very attentive (but not intrusive) owner. The place wasn't packed even though it was lunchtime and raining heavily - I suspect that is because it is just far enough away from the major museums. A perfect spot for lunch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca_F_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raison D'etre also viewed

 

Been to Raison D'etre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing