We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
London

“Great for Meat lovers”
Review of The Coal Shed

The Coal Shed
Reserve a Table
Bookatable
Ranked #1,675 of 27,494 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Southwark
Description: The Coal Shed, London celebrates rare breed meat and South Coast seafood coal roasted over fire. Located moments away from Tower Bridge, the restaurant offers a seasonal a la carte menu, great value express lunch menu, and pre theatre menu for those visiting The Bridge Theatre — as well as London’s new favourite Sunday sharing roast. Perfectly located for enjoying many of the capital’s best-known sights, The Coal Shed London is next to Tower Bridge and the Tower of London, moments from The Shard, City Hall and HMS Belfast and walking distance to Tate Modern.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I live and work around this part of town and are lucky to have both Blacklock and The Coal Shed on my doorstep.

I rate the Coal Shed over Blacklock for the quality of the wines and the side are unbelievable but quality of meat and the cooking is pretty much equal. Blacklock has its chop sauce that is something special but if I had to select one place it’s the the Coal Shed

Enjoy it

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank I_need_a_hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location by Tower Bridge, resturant down one of the small pasaages at More London. Food for all our party was excellent and serice friendly but efficent
Highly recommended

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 1959robin820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My daughter booked a private dining room for her birthday and the staff were extremely helpful in dealing with all her booking requests, including personalised menus and place names which was a nice touch. The room was set up for 20 covers and service was excellent. The food was delicious and plentiful, however the wine was a little more difficult to come by! We were celebrating and red wine was our preferred drink. It seems they do not stock many bottles of the same wine so we had to chop and change our choices and not always at a price in line with the original. This was the only niggle it would have been nice to have several bottles of the same wine to continue with throughout the night. Maybe an advanced order would be a good question to ask a larger party like this.
Thank you so much for a lovely evening had by all who visited, we will certainly be back in a smaller party to enjoy the delights on offer in really lovely surroundings.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lisao743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked this restaurant for my brother's birthday lunch.
We were a party of four people and we all opted for the Sunday lunch of roast beef, priced at a reasonable £22. There was a good selection of wines, which are sold by the glass, carafe and bottle. Lunch was served, a platter of rib of beef (cooked to your liking) with roast potatoes, yorkshire pudding, roasted carrots, kale and cauliflower cheese. We also ordered a carafe of Rose Primitivo, which was nice. At the end of the meal the waitress brought out a plate with Happy Birthday written on it in chocolate with two chocolate truffles made to look like coals. A very nice touch.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CambridgeTeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ooooh we had mixed feelings about this as had high expectations before hand.
The wine and beer were great and the beef was delicious......
The service was fantastic but unfortunately a few floors.

No pepper in 2 pots tried, or condiments offered with the lunch and the dessert was terrible.
We ordered yule log which is possibly the worst dessert we've ever tried.
Not too sure what happened to it but was tasteless and like rubber.

A shame they charge extra for gravy as one small pot was definitely not enough for a sharing roast.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coal Shed also viewed

 

Been to The Coal Shed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing