We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic atmosphere but too much plastic”
Review of Ichibuns

Ichibuns
Reserve with OpenTable
Ichibuns is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,502 of 27,051 Restaurants in London
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Soho
Description: Exciting Brand New Restaurant Serving Japanese Burgers, Udon, Gyoza, Sushi, Cocktails & Shakes, in the Heart of London's West End
Reviewed September 14, 2017

We ate here during the soft launch and as such could forgive some teething problems. The vibe is Japanese 80's fast food joint. What you might imagine that a Japanese diner would feel like. It's set over three floors and the décor and vibe is slightly different on each floor. The décor seems authentic without being tacky and I must add that if you were going to judge a place on its bathrooms this place would definitely get 5 stars. Each bathroom has a Toto toilet and the basins and taps are in an oriental style which looks pretty swish.
There was a small queue when we arrived and we were seated on the ground floor. I would recommend sitting in the basement bar area if possible as the atmosphere is slightly more funky with trendy music and a retro look.
So far so good and I was excited to get stuck into one of the well-priced cocktails. The waiter offered us some water and apologised for the wait however when the water arrived I was disappointed to find it was in plastic disposables. In this day and age I look to new restaurants to be leaders in sustainability and to have disposable plastic cups and then cocktails that arrived in further disposable cups was a negative to this place. I get that the disposable cocktail glasses with perforated lids for the straws were on message with the vibe that they were aiming for but all the disposable packaging could have been easily replaced without losing too much.
Otherwise the service was superb, the wait for the food was reasonable for a soft launch, and the burgers were good without being excellent. The Japanese spring rolls were delicious and the Hokkaido burger was a highlight but the chicken katsu burger was a little bit on the dry side. The cocktails were both delicious.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (651)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

517 - 521 of 651 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2017 via mobile

I went to this restaurant on Wednesday 13th September 2017 with 8 people. You are advised to get there early as they do not take bookings. I arrived at 18.55 and my group were already waiting for me. We were immediately shown to our table. One thing that you will notice is that the cutlery and glasses are plastic and that there are no china plates in the restaurant. This is in keeping with the restaurants recycling policy.
For my starters I had snow crab maki and for my mains I had the classic burger which were average. There was not anything on the menu which challenged the chefs to produce anything gastronomic. My wine was good but as it was served in a plastic glass did not bring out the best taste in the wine. One of the people on my table complained about his dish of Beef Ramen which was not to his liking.
If you expect something gastronomically challenging , then do not go to this restaurant. As for the burgers, you would be better off going to McDonalds. My maki however, was delicious.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank G2184IYannaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ichibuns, General Manager at Ichibuns, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Ichibuns.

We are so sorry your meal with us didn't live up to expectations.

We take comments like this very seriously and rest assured we will do everything in our power to make improvements in the areas you were dissatisfied with.

Our customer service and food quality is of great importance to us and if all of our guests aren't satisfied with it we have done you a disservice and for this we offer our sincerest apologies.

I will be passing your comments regarding your food onto our chefs.

We hope you will give us another try in the future.

Kind Regards,

Sam Sédécias, Service Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017

We went there on the opening day. There was a special offer with free burgers for the first 500 clients. Queued for almost two hours, which was kinda expected.
We had the panko chicken for starters which had nothing special. Then had the salmon burger and the burger with the two patties and blue cheese. The beef burger was disappointing. The beef was just ok and there was very little sauce and blue cheese. So overall it was a bit dry and not tasty enough. Had to add sauce in it. The salmon burger was better. The fries were too salty. Didn't have the dessert.
The highlight of the diner was the high tech Japanese toilets which were really impressive.
Would not come back for the burger, maybe for the toilets.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mastercheflarecette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ichibuns, General Manager at Ichibuns, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Ichibuns.

We are so sorry your meal with us didn't live up to expectations.

We take comments like this very seriously and rest assured we will do everything in our power to make improvements in the areas you were dissatisfied with.

The quality of our food is of great importance to us and if all of our guests aren't satisfied with it we have done you a disservice and for this we offer our sincerest apologies.

I will be passing your comments regarding your food onto our chefs.

We hope you will give us another try in the future.

Kind Regards,

Sam Sédécias, Service Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: January 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ichibuns also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Ichibuns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing