We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
London
Post
Inbox
Search

“Gone down hill”

The Ivy Tower Bridge
Reserve a Table
Bookatable
OR
Order Online
Ranked #3,713 of 28,978 Restaurants in London
Price range: $26 - $104
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Southwark
Description: The Ivy Tower Bridge is an all-day British brasserie serving modern British & international Ivy-inspired classics.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I’m a local. Ate here tonight but it was poor yet again.

Any half decent restaurant should be able to churn out beer battered cod and chips - mine was soggy and running in oil and was served so fast one can only guess meals are being pre cooked and then ‘finished for serving which doesn’t work with dishes like this.

My guests meal was of similar quality with the mash having a hard film on top and cold in the middle main course - service was also slow again.

This chain, which was fresh when it arrived, has rapidly become poor. There are much better places around here for the same price and you will get a far better meal too.

Won’t be going back

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank I_need_a_hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,068)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 1,068 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited this beautiful restaurant with business colleagues. First impression were very good. Very nice seat and a happy waitress then the pantomine started.
Our drinks were ordered and the waitress helper refused to bring the drinks to the table. A scrabble was over heard at the bar as we were sitting in close proximity.
Our poor waitress was running around trying to accommodate all her tables while othere seemed to ignore her.
The drinks came then the meal, minus one dish. Not sure what happened but the lady in charged removed this from the bill and the meal was served not long after with a humble apology.
In the background a male member of staff was now arguing in the restaurant with our waitress. It was embarrassing and I nearly stepped in to stop it.
My dish came with string beans on the wrong side of al dente. These too were removed from the bill.
Bit of advice for all staff. Keep inhouse squabbles to the back of the restaurant and to the management I would review what is actually going on as the restaurant is beautiful in a great location but spoilt by in house fighting

Date of visit: January 2020
3  Thank pavije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Turning into a bit of a chain restaurant and the standards are no where near as good as the original location in Covent Garden. The views from the first floor are great of the bridge. But the waiting staff need to have better training in how to serve. Food ok but a bit on the expensive side you are paying for the brand name and the location

Date of visit: January 2020
3  Thank zooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have eaten in the ivy restaurants before and this one seriously lets the brand down. We went as a party of 5 for my husbands birthday on a Saturday night.
The waiter was very rude, the service was slow and we sat with dirty glasses and plates moving them ourselves in the end. A second bottle of wine was ordered and took forever to come. Three of the main dishes weren’t available ,limiting our choice.
We are regulars to London and this felt like a tourist trap with no care and no interest in repeat business. What a shame, an iconic location and an iconic brand ,letting our great city down.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Food
4  Thank gilliansedgwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came here on a beautiful Saturday afternoon with a good friend for a long overdue catch up. Restaurant was very busy but we were shown to a window table with wonderful view ......then Corey arrived! Wow, he was fantastic in his fabulous check suit (which he made himself I’ll have you know!) and the most amazing personality he made us both feel very special and almost as if we were the only “ladies” (as he called us) in the room. In fact all the staff that served us were superb but Corey was a real treat and like the icing on the cake for a wonderful afternoon. We will definitely be back. By the way the food was perfect too!

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank KateandNeil53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ivy Tower Bridge also viewed

 

Been to The Ivy Tower Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing