We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It isn't worth a penny”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marlin Apartments Stratford London
Ranked #213 of 837 Specialty Lodging in London
Preston, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It isn't worth a penny”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

If you want a good nights sleep and peace of mind, stay away from Marlin Apartments in Stratford . It is so ridiculous that they can build a Hotel on top of a train line with little insulation or double glazing . i couldn't sleep at night , trains where passing every few seconds. Decided to change apartment it was 20 pounds extra a night and was told to pay upfront before i was allowed to move.
Move in to the other apartment and nothing works, radiators, microwave, etc.
Give this place a miss !

Room Tip: you need to be on the north side of the building but still will not recommend this place .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank preston blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    106
    58
    40
    63
See reviews for
76
100
27
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Storrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

I do not have an issue with the apartments, although you need to be on the north side to avoid the noisy trains. Reception staff are friendly, and the studio was of good quality, clean and modern. The water was lukewarm only in the morning.
My issue was with the price. `We booked through Hotels.com, my email confirmed a price of £80 including all taxes and fees. When I checked in, I was asked to pay £102 to cover VAT and booking fee of £6. The guy on the desk had no authority to waive this, and the girl I spoke to on the phone was quite intransigent. So, there I was in the east end with my wife, it's getting dark and we have nowhere else to go. We had to pay up. I was furious. Hotels.com have agreed to credit me with £22, but that is hardly the point. Our evening was spoiled. I am reviewing this here as Hotels.com hasn't published my review there.

Room Tip: Rooms on south side are for trainspotters only. Get up early if you want a hot shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manas0taman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Those who work at the reception are really, really helpful and friendly, but this is the ONLY positive thing I can tell about this "hotel". When peak time, there is no hot water in the apartment!!! The WIFI doesn't work, the furnishing is dirty... These apartments are very far from a 4-star accommodation. Avoid!

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Anita Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanCS, General Manager at Marlin Apartments Stratford London, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Anita,

Thank you for your feedback, we very much regret that you did not have adequate hot water for your stay. It is certainly true that we have faced challenges in this area due to some technical difficulties with one of our hot water tanks, this lead to one of them running at 50% rather than full capacity. Only a minority of our guests have had similar experiences during peak demand periods; however we recognize that this would be frustrating to have to go through.

I would like to apologize for your experience and I would welcome an opportunity to discuss this with you.


Yours sincerely

Declan Sweeney
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Terrible noise as a whole side of the building sits right next to the train tracks... passenger and freight running ALL night which was a total disaster when it came to sleeping. Also the vibrations shook the room to the extent the kettle in the kitchen would turn itself on when a train went past.. during the night, again not great so leave it unplugged! Stained furnishings, sofa, rug, chairs and curtains - looked pretty suspect and the room stank of stale takeaway curry when we got there. The plus was that the kitchen area was mostly clean.
Management really unhelpful regarding problems and only offered a 10% discount off next stay.. and I would clearly NEVER stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizuk88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanCS, General Manager at Marlin Apartments Stratford London, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear lizuk88,

It was with disappointment that I read your review and please accept my sincerest apologies for any upset and inconvenience caused during your stay.

I am surprised that the trains were running all night as they are not permitted to operate during certain hours. I will however take these issues up with the concerning parties.

Again, thank you for your time in writing your review and I sincerely hope that you would give the hotel a future opportunity to restore your faith in us.


Yours sincerely

Declan Sweeney
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

I paid £60 for a night (Sunday) and was generally very impressed with the facilities. However found the reception not that helpful and much further than the advertised "5 minute walk" from Stratford station.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owajon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanCS, General Manager at Marlin Apartments Stratford London, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Owajon,

Thank you for taking the time out to review your stay.

I am delighted that you found the apartment to be of good value. I am concerned that you found the staff to be unhelpful. I have passed your comments on to the manager and instructed them to carry out further customer service training.

If you would like to make a return visit, please contact me directly and I will ensure that we will deliver a full Marlin experience.


Yours sincerely,

Declan Sweeney
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilafranca del Penedès, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

"Completely over-rated and a total rip off. Apart from the cold showers, uncomfortable beds,the managers don't care about the hotel conditions when you complain. A long way out of the city centre and in a dodgy area. Clean but next to the noisy train traffic."

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeclanCS, General Manager at Marlin Apartments Stratford London, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Brett,

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to review us. I apologise that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologise for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

Kind regards,

Declan Sweeney
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I would not use Marlin apartments again. I have complained and have been told it will take 5-8 days to get back to me. It did not take 5-8 days for them to process the money from my account that paid for a service I did not receive but there you go!
There were various problems. The main three were: 1: We arrived back late from our son's wedding on night 2, the sofa bed we had paid for (and reminded staff about on the previous day) was not made up. We were finally brought bedding, a single duvet with no cover, a pillow and some sheets. The way the room was arranged meant a full furniture move was needed before the sofa bed could be pulled out ( something I had already mentioned the day before) so our guest just slept on the sofa. I felt sorry for the concierge to be honest. He was dealing with a incident involving a broken bottle in the hall (!) an aggressive guest, trying to cope with booking people in and move their car from our pre paid for space. He was clearly very very stressed. A definate lack of staffing! 2.Earlier the receptionist failed to book the taxi she offered to book to take us to wedding. This meant we were cutting it so fine we had to drive were incredibly anxious, and also incurred a parking fine. 3.The second room we booked for a guest had windows that slid open but could not be locked, the concierge did not have a key, and our guest felt rather insecure in an unlocked room alone and could not sleep. I felt very embarassed that both our guests stay was so spoilt. The place is adequate but my advice is not to rely on the service, and don't book if it's really important that it all works.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuRuAy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Ibis London Stratford
Ibis London Stratford
#470 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Marlin Apartments - Empire Square
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Marlin Apartments Canary Wharf
Whitechapel
Marlin Apartments Aldgate
Marlin Apartments Aldgate
#72 of 837 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlin Apartments Stratford London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlin Apartments Stratford London

Property: Marlin Apartments Stratford London
Address: Bellhaven 2 Millstone Close | Stratford, London E15 1PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 837 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlin Apartments Stratford London 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constructed in 2008, Marlin Stratford contains over 100 serviced apartments, from plush studios to magnificent penthouses, meeting the strong demand for luxury living without the Central London price tag.Connected by several underground lines, and a national and international train station, Marlin Stratford is a short journey away from the O2 Arena and a moment’s walk away from Westfield shopping centre. Marlin Stratford is also a short distance away from the ExCel Exhibition Centre and is directly accessible from major London train stations such as Waterloo, Liverpool Street and King’s Cross. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marlin Apartments Stratford London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin Apartments Stratford London Hotel London
Marlin Apartments Stratford London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing