We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Excellent B & B”
Review of 69TheGrove

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
69TheGrove
Ranked #2 of 555 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
“Most Excellent B & B”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Excellent Bed and Breakfast. Food was first rate. The owners and staff are helpful, courteous and provided concierge assistance that was far above what was necessary. They really made our London trip a pleasure. My daughter (8) and I felt right at home and would return in a heartbeat. Good value and a reasonable location for exploring London, a 5 minute walk to the Vauxhall tube, train and bus station.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badgertoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    892
    180
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
225
398
171
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

69TheGrove is in the heart of London in a small quiet oasis in Vauxhall Grove near Bonnington square. Surrounded by beautiful trees (which are maintained by residence in this unique 'Cooperative estate'). Yet 6min walk up the road you'll find a lively (and late) night life.

We found it very easy to get most places, especially with the Oval 5 mins away and Kennington tube. There is a theatre just up the road, great places to eat and Vauxhall Pleasure gardens round the corner, which has a farm!

The rooms are immaculate and well designed. I have stayed here twice and will most certainly return. I have never quiet experienced such good hosting; happy, polite, welcoming and hardworking, I felt extremely welcome which is why I prefer to stay here than a large impersonal Hotel.

Room Tip: The deluxe ensuite is worth every penny! stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I spent a week in this lovely place with my boyfriend in april 2011. It tells something about the warm and welcoming atmosphere of this place, that I was forced to write this review even after 2 years 'couse I forgot it after the trip (sorry guys). That's why I couldn't choose the right time from the "When did you travel" -list ;-)

I really like to thank the owners of the place. Every day they made us feel like relaxing and home in the middle of everything just a few minutes away from London centre.

Rooms were nice and quiet and breakfasts were made warmly with heart. When I next time visit London, I truly know where to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saver84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Coming to this bnb was like coming to my home. kanley was friendly and kind to us. there was daily house keeping. the surrouding was very clean and tidy. I love this place and especially being in london from zambia. highly to be recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I would be the first to tell you that I am not a great fan of B&B's, and I have stayed in a few. 69 The Grove, however is in a class of its own. We had an amazing time in London, and staying at 69 The grove, made it that much more special.

I had dreaded the idea of staying in a B&B, however the place was friendly, warm and nicely decorated. This B&B is very easily accessible by public transport. Vauxhall area is a great place and close to the tourist attractions from where you can see all of London.

Fantastic meals, by far exceeding what I would expect from a B&B. In the end, it was all really worth my time at the Grove. Thanks for such a wonderful and pleasant time. We loved it and all the other guests were fabulous. I would highly recommend the 69 The Grove!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaiNill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed here for the second time in May 2012 (thought I had written previously, but apparently I've not done so).
Stayed in the new guest house just across the road.
Large room, we were 3 persons and had plenty of space. the bathroom is a little small, but it's big enough and shower is big.
Only problem is that you can eat a bit much for breakfast, because it is very good.

Just 5 min. walk away from bus/train/tube, so it's easy to get to turist atractions.
Lovely hosts, felt very welcom every time.
Easy to leave your luggage if you have a late flight.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnElisabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middelbeers, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I chose this b&b based on the many great reviews for our first trip to London on our anniversary. We were not disappointed. Kanley and David are very warm,helpful and funny. I have to say Kanley is the most wonderful person I have come to meet. The b&b is a 5minute walk from the tube/bus which got us to many attractions in a short trip. The breakfast was to die for and the room was spacious and comfortable. We ate at the Indian restaurant,5min walk from the b&b. Went to Vauxhall Griffin Pub another 5min walk which had great people and beer. Kanley I will never forgot your humour and laughter and we will be back to stay! Thanks for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BurnettFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,709 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#241 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#3 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 69TheGrove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 69TheGrove

Property: 69TheGrove
Address: 69 Vauxhall Grove, London SW8 1TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
69TheGrove is a welcoming and quiet Bed and Breakfast in a lovely Victorian house located in a quiet street in the heart of Vauxhall, Central London.This accommodation is perfect for those who are visiting London for a short break, holiday or business due to our location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
69thegrove Hotel London
69TheGrove London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing