We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Friends!”
Review of 69TheGrove

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
69TheGrove
Ranked #2 of 573 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and I chose 69TheGrove based on TripAdvisor reviews and the only thing I would change would be to stay longer! I emailed Kanley and David a day before our last minute trip to London and they treated us so kindly and with such patience even as we ironed out last minute details to our trip. Kanley walked us over to a resteraunt the first night and alerted the resteraunt staff of our long journey and hunger. Each morning we had a family style breakfast and were invited, along with all the guests, to their New Years Eve party. At the party David helped me find transportation to Gatwick for the following morning as we had to leave very early New Years day. Kanley and David have found the subtle balance to creating a warm, family envrionment with giving you enough privacy and independence to enjoy your trip. I count them as new friends.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsea E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

500 - 506 of 1,213 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2013

I was really cordially received. I was several Times in London in different accommodations: Hotels, flats of friends and other b&bs but I have to say apart from living by Friends is this the best I ever had. Was fairly close like living by Friends.

The room was small but that's typical englisch. But besides that, it was very cosy and clean. Close to town, the Bus stop and the Underground.
And the breakfast was really, really good. I definitely miss it.

Anyhow I would stay there again and would recommend it.

Thank for all Kanley & David

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SL-Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We, my wife and 2 children 12 and 7 years old, stayed for 10 days to coincide with Christmas 2012. It was a great time, loving, kind ... Very clean rooms and excellent breakfast. They had a detail to the children by Santa Claus, um surprise gift. Everything perfect, super recommended. Juan Carlos, Yolanda, Diego and Elena

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at 69TheGrove over Christmas and New Year, and it is by far the best place we have stayed in London. It is close to a major train and bus station, it is close to town, and the place was immaculate. Our hosts and the staff were very accomodating and friendly, and we looked forward to the big English breakfast every morning. We would definitely stay there again and would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a nice place to stay in London.

-Karen Ware

Room Tip: If you don't mind not having a view, select one of the downstairs rooms (below ground level), as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KuriousKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed for 8 night on a vacation & business trip.. We found this place at trip Advisor and it really is excellent as the reviews says. The B&B is so close from the bus stop, underground and the train station. It locates near the stores too, in walking distance. The owner is very friendly and helpful to us. The breakfast were excellent, the fruit salad is phenomenal, my husband enjoys it very much. I enjoy the Sunday breakfast very much, because Kanley(the owner) baked some croissants and bagels. We book a deluxe ensuite bedroom and they upgrade us to one of the largest bedroom in the B&B. The room is not very large (because our suitcase is too big) but there are still enough room for us to pray. the room has a large Victorian window too, but sadly we were on basement floor so we cant enjoy any scenery. We met other guest for breakfast, and the ambiance is very homey. It's suitable for families too. Our challenge while staying there was the language, as English wasn't out primary language. But the owner and the staff are very patience waiting for us to explain what we want or need.

We really recommend this place and definitely stay here again on our next trip to London. Thank you Kanley & David for the experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indira_Lesmana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We loved our stay in London and this B&B was a great part of that. It was so easy to catch the tube and the central location made it easy to see everything. The house was lovely, clean and quiet. The breakfasts were delicious. We were traveling from the US and were unsure of what to expect. The service, hosts and other guests really added to our experience. Thank you again Kanley and David for the chance to stay in your home.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed one night on a business trip at the recommendation of my friends and it was a wonderful place, quite and modern. The owners were quite friendly and gracious. we had a massive breakfast that was quite a feast. I highly recommend this place and I will definitely stay there again on my next trip.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveM-AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,077 in London
2,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Drayton Court Hotel
#7 of 573 in London
740 reviews
East End / East London
The Lion & Key Hotel
The Lion & Key Hotel
#9 of 573 in London
177 reviews
The Lilac Door
#11 of 573 in London
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 69TheGrove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 69TheGrove

Address: 69 Vauxhall Grove, London SW8 1TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 573 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $121 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
69TheGrove is a welcoming and quiet Bed and Breakfast in a lovely Victorian house located in a quiet street in the heart of Vauxhall, Central London.This accommodation is perfect for those who are visiting London for a short break, holiday or business due to our location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
69thegrove Hotel London
69TheGrove London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing