We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sandwich Shop

The Sandwich Shop
Ranked #8,177 of 22,202 Restaurants in London
Price range: $3 - $9
Cuisines: Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Takeout
Neighborhood: South Kensington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Great value and very friendly staff
Their breakfast special is fantastic and value for money
Staff are very friendly and there is hardly any wait

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gazzaalison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great little takeaway on Gloucester Road”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Inexpensive, well-prepared sandwiches for breakfast and lunch, with friendly service. What's not to like? I would have liked to try the chicken curry, and some of the other prepared items. Service is quick, but a queue can develop when workmen in the area break for lunch. I'd give it a 5, but it's just a no frills sanswith shop...so a 4, but I understand a 5!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TMac29494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
358 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“A well kept local secret - promise you keep it that way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Hey, you, psssttt.....Say you are out and about after visiting the British Museum of Natural History. You are hungry and it's a nice day. Stop by this gen of a sandwich shop, get a baguette sandwich with wonderful fresh ingredients, a drink and head 2 block up to Hyde park for a small picnic. You will have a memorable experience. :-). This place is known for feeding local students ($3 sandwiches that will fill you for a day) as well as taxi drivers who show up in droves when it opens at 5:30 am - so you it is good and is a good value. Enjoy..but don't tell anyone else :-).

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank onepoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
170 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Perfect take out lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Looking for a quick afternoon lunch, I ordered the chicken avocado on baguette for £ 2.50. Amazingly delicious. The baguette was fresh, crunchy on the outside, soft on the inside. The sandwiches are chicken-salad-ish so I was worried about the common mayo-over-board. I was so happy by the seasoning in the dressing. The avocado was ripe and soft. They had pizza, falafel, and kebobs. I'll go back to try something new next time, The great prices paired with fantastic food sold me.

Helpful?
3 Thank Stowawaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Deserved another review!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

I've never written a review here before, but I just had to for this little gem. Can't believe it only has 1 review. It is cheap, tasty, has incredible variety and the shop owners are very friendly. I'm attending a conference at the Royal Albert Hall and it's worth the 10 minute walk at lunch break.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sandwich Shop also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to The Sandwich Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing