We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Improve On Service”
Review of York & Albany

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
York & Albany
Ranked #665 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Could Improve On Service”
Reviewed September 11, 2009

We had booked Sunday lunch for ourselves and two friends we were meeting in London. The greeting service was mediocre, we waiting a long time to be seated (we had booked about three weeks before). The food was excellent, we all had three courses, the only thing I could fault was the plate of cheese and biscuits, very meagre portion, and nothing about it looked attractive. The main problem was with our server, she was miserable, slow, and didn't seem to have a clue about taking food orders. We were not checked on any of our courses, and although the food was really good, the service definitely let the restaurant down. Not sure if I would go back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nunney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    82
    57
    37
    27
See reviews for
40
155
7
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2009

We had lunch here on Sunday 19th April and were greeted by a very forgetfull and arrogant bar staff, he askes our name 4 times! We had to place our drinks order twice because the waiter(s) was fooling around and cleaning the menu's..? (surely this should be done outside opening hours) also there was an array of dirty glasses on the bar in front of us or the whole time we sat there (30 mins.) even though two bar staff looked and them and looked away constantly! It was not busy at this point so no excuse.

We eventually went looking for our table ourselves after having asked twice if it was ready and other guests were being seated, our waiter really is totally incompetent to work there.
Out table turned out to be in the darkest far away spot you could imagine and we were told that no other alternative was available and that we should have requested a table upstairs. Having never been there before how were we to know this?
After some persuasion and 3 members of staff later we finally were given another table and the Maitre'd gave us some complimentary drinks, she was very nice in explaining the situation however it still spoilt the mood of the day.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorrmac44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2009

York and Albany promises quality, atmosphere and of course, fantastic food......being under the wing of Angela Hartnett in the Ramsay collection. Well......When you arrive at York and Albany, don't be disappointed, it's not a 'pretty' setting, particularly next to the tyre shop! It's also appallingly signed, particularly for hotel guests, you really have to take a guess at how to get in.........However, when you pass through the door, class and elegance hit you in the face, the decor is beautiful, stunning victorian refurbishment, mixed with ultra modern fittings. When you find the hotel check in desk, it is intimate and the staff particularly attentive - I was very impressed. The room....I booked the four poster deluxe double that is featured in the images on the website....it is stunning - beautiful antique furniture, stunning high ceilings, what's missing is the fire to give it the cosy finish and to be honest, the settee is a little 'shoved' in at the end of the bed. The bathroom is a little clinical, but is full of quirky features, but with the original windows is particularly draughty!! A lovely glass of champers on arrival was particularly welcome as I settled in, but alas, to no avail, whatever myself and the 'concierge' tried, we couldn't get our satellite TV to work - when we had booked the York and Albany 6 months before for a romantic laze away weekend, this was of particularly annoyance as we wanted to laze in bed and chill, read and watch TV, not go out and sightsee. Luckily there was another room available in the same category and after a quick look, we arranged to move. This one was much less traditional, but still as luxurious and had a bigger bed.........Lovely!! The Restaurant on valentines evening, was of course busy. The service though - BEWARE, is appalling. We were seated at 20:30 in time, but were not given a menu, or asked if we would like a drink for around 20 minutes. NOT what you expect from the reputation of Angela Hartnett and Ramsays. The food, was particularly good, the wine choice was also really satisfactory. Again though - despite liking the length of time to sit and eat for a valentines dinner (we ended up leaving at around 2330 - 3 hours later!), it was the attention to detail and the atmosphere that lacked from our less than interested waiter. Luckily for us, the company was great and we weren't in a hurry, but it wasn't necessarily that, it was the lack of interest as I say. Hence when checking out we refused to pay the 12.5% service - £25 quid in all for lacklustre service is just not on. The building inside is beautiful, the bar area surprisingly relaxed and not full of pretence. The food seriously good, and the deli offers lots of options adjacent! All in all a lovely, romantic weekend, but not quite up to the price tag is our verdict! Angela still has a lot to overlook if it's going to stay as busy as it currently is in its' early days........

  • Liked — Intimate, only 10 rooms, food, decor
  • Disliked — Restaurant service
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2009

The rooms in the hotel are gorgeous--traditional decor with modern touches. The bed is huge and we loved the wetroom in the bathroom. The hotel is attached to a great bar with amazing cocktails and a Gordon Ramsey resto. They offered us a table when we checked in which is impossible to get at the last minute on a Friday night. The location is excellent as well--just a two minute walk to Regents Park, Camden and Primrose Hill. A brief walk through Regents Park takes you into the city centre. My only complaint was that the bathroom didn't have a bathtub (room 8).

  • Liked — Location, Bar/Restaurant, Decor
  • Disliked — No bathtub
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2008

Decided to stay in this, the first Gordon Ramsay hotel on a trip to London that was part business and part fun.

The building is an old London pub with a newish Hotel attached. Just 10 rooms and on a busy junction near Regents Park Zoo. Camden Town tube is about 300m away and buses pass just outside. It's a 10 minute / £8 taxi ride to Oxford Street.

Our room was the second grade up and was fantastic. Old heavy wooden furniture and the largest bed we have slept in with immaculate linens, a wonderful wet room bathroom and real style. Everything is immaculately chosen, stylish, comfortable and luxurious.

We were right on the third floor right on the front of the building overlooking the junction but noise levels were fine. Unfortunately the lift was temporarily broken (teething troubles they say) but everything else was absolutely amazing.

Breakfast is extra (with a very wide range from £12 for full English or £6 for porridge) and can be taken downstairs in the restaurant. There is also room service.

If you want to dine there are 3 options. In the cocktail bar downstairs there are relaxed low tables and chairs ideal for grazing. Towards the rear there is a very modern and stylish restaurant with huge windows looking onto the patio. Then in the basement is another restauarant all red and black and with the open kitchen, warm and relaxed.

In each case the styles are are brilliantly done.....as is the food. This is Angela Hartnett's baby and it shows. We ate there 3 times in 2 days and it was fantastic and great value for the quality of food. Starters begin around £6 and mains £10 to £18 but its a very flexible menu. They have a great value set lunch - 3 courses for £25. There is a separate drinks menu. The wine list runs from about £12 to over £100 / bottle and there are lots of great cocktails to sample. Prices are reasonable for central London

But what made this place so brilliant for us was the staff. I have stayed in London on business for over 100 nights / year for the last 3 years and have never seen staff so good, open, friendly, knowledgeable and committed. It starts in the hotel reception and runs through the bar and waiting staff. Smooth and efficient and I lost count of how many knew our names. Ask about the food or wine and they know the answers or if they dont they say so and find out! You get the impression that they are trained committed and want to work there.

Quite simply this place bowled us over. It is not cheap but then its not expensive either. For the same price you can stay in a corporate box or in this beautifully run, fantastic pub with great food on tap and marvellous staff.

Angela Hartnett and her team have done a stunning job here.

  • Liked — Luxury. Great bed!
  • Disliked — Couldnt fault it
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Fly_Easyjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Camden
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Camden Lock Hotel
#435 of 1,069 in London
623 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Thistle Euston
Thistle Euston
#304 of 1,069 in London
3,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Level at Melia White House
Camden
St Christopher's Inn Camden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York & Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York & Albany

Property: York & Albany
Address: 127 Parkway, London NW1 7PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#373 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — York & Albany 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your York & Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York & Albany Hotel London
The York And Albany
York & Albany London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing