We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfy bed - lovely decor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
York & Albany Hotel
Ranked #672 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed here for our anniversary and were upgraded to a suite - room 4 with complimentary prosecco and fruit. This was a large room with a vaulted ceiling with huge antique mahogany wardrobes and drawers. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the bathroom was fitted with a big walk in shower. The room faces onto a main junction by regents parks and with no double glazing the traffic was a constant noise - this was mainly a problem when there were sirens or hellicopters ! The windows also faced onto the seating area at the front of the bar which was noisy in the afternoon but quiet when we returned later in the evening.
I would have liked tea and coffee making facilities in the room but otherwise we were very impressed with the quality and decor.
The hotel reception is very difficult to find as it is round the back of the bar/restaurant and not signposted. The hotel reception staff were very helpful and friendly on check in and out. Unfortunately the same cannot be said regarding the bar staff - we were ignored in the evening when we wanted to order some cocktails then service was very slow.
The breakfast was delicious however we felt that again the service could have improved hence my rating of very good not excellent

Room Tip: Room 6 was a lovely suite however if you are a light sleeper i would recommend ear plugs to help wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ktleo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

189 - 195 of 312 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2014

We received dinner b&b as a gift and decided to take up the offer of the second night at a discounted rate. We would normally stay more central when visiting london but the location was actually very nice. The real positive with this hotel is the staff. Friendly, welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. The food was great as well. The issue with this hotel is the actual hotel. We were allocated room 6 on the second floor when we arrived on friday and although quite pokey initially we thought it was ok. Nothing special and certainly not worth the cost but ok, until..... came back from dinner at around 10ish, the noise was horrific, a constant very loud noise that sounded like a generator. After 30 mins I went to reception who told me it was from the kitchens and would stop in half an hour when they shut down. Not ideal but I lived in hope.... nearly an hour later we had heard the fans shut down but still so noisy!! Back to reception I went and we were moved at 11.30pm to a room along the corridor. Much bigger, no noise and very comfy bed but to be honest this hotel is supposed to be shabby chic. I would say cheap b&b.... will never return.... ever....

Room Tip: If you really want to stay and are offered room 6 refuse it unless you wear ear protectors to bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank likesniceh0tels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

We received this overnight stay/dinner as a chistmas gift from our daughter.
Had a room on second floor which was very clean & pleasant.
But on arrival air con not working, bathroom light not working.... Minor but still!!
Location was great & plenty of things to see & do.
Dinner was disappointing.... Our Menu was totally different to the usual menu, because of the voucher we had, so limited choice was available.
Starter far too salty, main was simple but tasted fine, dessert was not great.... The presentation surprisingly not that great, was surprised by that, location of our dining table was by the toilets downstairs .... Not the best!!
Ladies loos were not good... hand dryer not working had a large roll of tissue on side which was wet from other peoples use.... Dried hands on my dress! Tap wouldn't turn off & there was an unpleasant scent in there!!! no air fresheners deffo needs facilities attendance.
We literally sat by ourselves no other diners nearby..... Dining layout not great either. Constantly hear "service" shouted as kitchen was nearby.
Not the best meal we've had by far!
Bar area upstairs was fine, nice atmosphere, lovely cocktails, staff were friendly & helpful.
Room faced side of hotel, so the bin men early sat morning at 06.30am made so much noise (smashing glass) it was ridiculous!
Best thing was the lovely breakfast served, lovely weekend weather, and nice to spend time with my hubby & take a break from the "norm" !
Overall was a nice break but not sure if we'll go back
After all the expense our daughter paid for this treat, we felt a tad disappointed but made the most of our time.
Bexley, Kent, UK

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We received an overnight stay with dinner and breakfast as a present from our daughter and what a lovely present it was . The staff were superb they were so helpful and polite, the restaurant served excellent food with excellent service it was a very busy restaurant which shows that it has a deservedly good name
Our room on the second floor was well furnished and very comfortable
A big thank you to all the staff who made it a perfect weekend stay

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We had our wedding here in April and stayed for 2 nights. The whole experience was fantastic. The staff could not have been more helpful at every stage of the weekend. The venue was small but intimate as we wanted. The rooms were excellent for us and all guests. The food, a four course wedding menu was carefully balanced, well executed and enjoyed by all. Our 30 guests were well looked over and universally impressed with the standard. Cocktails were well mixed, waiting and bar staff were exceptional and alongside the hotel staff and the event manager catered for our every need faultlessly. The whole package was tailor made and offered incredibly good value. Very impressed overall. Thank you to the staff for helping make our weekend so memorable.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gorbylicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We were a heterogeneous group in this restaurant for dinner on Easter Sunday, 3 Italians and an American on a visit to London, an Italian London resident and two British London residents, ages 46 to 65. I don't think anyone was satisfied, including the person who recommended the place.
I can't find the exact menu that was available that night on their website, so I'm going by memory: I and two other people had roast beef with Yorkshire Pudding and vegetables: at nearly £20 one would expect a generous helping of something rather special, but instead a tiny portion of good beef, I will admit, but pretty tasteless vegetables, a mediocre gravy and certainly not the best Yorkshire Pud I've ever had. Two others had a Gordon Ramsay recipe fish cake that I didn't taste, but which they tell me was above average, but obviously left them hungry, as they begged me for a bit of my already scarce "Sunday Roast". There was a chicken gravy dish that the person who ordered was quite happy with and a roast ham with honey, parsley sauce and mashed potato dish that the person who ordered it particularly hated. I had a taste of it myself and, apart from it being tiny portion, it was basically a mess: a runny parsley sauce, runny tasteless mash, no taste of honey and a few miserly pieces of roast ham.
The wines were good, but again well overpriced (£27-£30, in the lower price range there was nothing the "wine experts" at the table felt they could order, nor anything the head waiter felt he could recommend).
Another negative aspect: we went there on Easter Sunday, hoping perhaps for some traditional Easter dishes on the Menu, or "master-chef" re-elaborations of them. But none of all that. The only Easter thrill the head waiter tried to palm off was a stupid Easter egg with a cocktail inside. We spared him the task of demonstrating exactly how it was made and would be served.
Apart from this head waiter, who was a mixture of irritated and obsequious with us, I must say that the rest of the staff was particularly pleasant. They deserve to work in a place where better food is served for this kind of price.
Finally, that night I could have killed the friend who recommended this place to me, considering that the area is full of pubs offering great food at reasonable prices in cosy unpretentious environments.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Gianmaria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

This place is a pure jewel when needing to sty somewhere in London in comfort without corporacy!
The setting is ideal, just over the road from Regents Park and close enough to Camden Town tube station. The staff informative, helpful and really couldn't do enough to make our stay relaxing and enjoyable. The hotel has a shabby chic setting and is full of antiques which match each other beautifully. The buzzing bar was an ideal start to our evening out with pre dinner drinks, breakfast was fantastic just right, the service excellent as was the food, the raisin pastry was to die for. Thank you so much , we will undoubtedly be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LlanonGilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Camden
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Camden Lock Hotel
#459 of 1,077 in London
654 reviews
Corner House Hotel
#759 of 1,077 in London
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York & Albany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York & Albany Hotel

Address: 127 Parkway, London NW1 7PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#376 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $230 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — York & Albany Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your York & Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York And Albany
The York & Albany Hotel London
York Albany London
York & Albany Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing