We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be eating there again, lovely food!”
Review of York & Albany

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
York & Albany
Ranked #658 of 1,067 Hotels in London
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“I'll be eating there again, lovely food!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We had a great, attentive waiter who made the whole experience lovely, contrary to recent reviews. I highly recommend the lamb, cod and tuna, all delicious. Mixed with the 'Tin Hut' New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc a perfect combination!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Arabella_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    80
    57
    37
    27
See reviews for
39
154
7
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Y&A hosted our wedding after-party; and then we stayed there for two nights. They made it a very special experience - all members of staff were friendly and helpful, both in the build-up to our party/stay and while we were there. The food - whether bespoke breakfasts, room service pizza or a very long Sunday lunch - was excellent throughout. We loved the rooms; decorated with lots of stylish touches (although we did get a bit of traffic noise on the second night); and the hotel had provided us with champagne and rose petals for the wedding night. And while not the cheapest option, there were at least no hidden extras - the bill was exactly as we expected. Look forward to going back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night in August '12. We also dined in the restaurant downstairs, which I would highly recommend. Staff were polite and helpful, the room we had was very spacious with a large comfortable bed, it has a traditional homely feel, this is obviously what they were aiming for when designing the rooms but I felt it lacked any 'wow' factor. Breakfast the following morning was good. I would recommend this hotel based on convenience of its location and there being a fantastic and reasonably priced restaurant and bar downstairs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnydays86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed for a weekend. The staff were friendly and welcoming, but the actual accommodation was disappointing. Perhaps we expected more considering the link to Gordon Ramsey, but I think he would consider this to be a 'hotel nightmare'. The room itself was cosy but the bathroom had a light hanging from its fixture. The shaving mirror was missing with only the stand remaining. The hot water in the shower alternated between cold and lukewarm and the air conditioner in the room blew out warm air on the coolest setting ensuring a sweaty and uncomfortable nights sleep. Also the staff showed us to our room by lift and we soon discovered why, because when using the stairs the window exposes an unsightly weeded patch of grass. Also no 'Do not disturb signs' or coffee making facilities. Surely finishing touches included when paying the prices!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tucker_heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the house for a weekend and had a great time in London. The house and its staff gave us a warm wellcome. We had a nice room, which was a bit loud due to the traffic rigth in front of our windows. A handwritten note wellcomed us in our room and the receptionist took the time for a little talk whenever we passed by. Everything was very clean, and every day we got fresh fruits and two bottles of water in our room. One light in the bath was not working though, and the staff did not manage to reinstall it during our stay although we mentioned it at the reception. The shoeshinging service announced in the flyer in our room did not happen, but these were only little things to criticise. Overall we had a lovely weekend and a nice stay in the york and albany. We can recommend the restaurant in the house as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luzilinde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I just stayed at the York & Albany hotel and was pleasantly surprised by how friendly, polite and helpful the staff were. I was not just a credit card number, i was an actual person to them. i really felt the room was very nicely decorated and clean. i would definitely stay there again. the only downside was the parking was chaotic.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tami c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

I was hoping this would be a good place, as it is a great re-use of a Nash building. We found that an overnight stay, based around Dinner in the restaurant was relaxed, with a buzzy atmosphere. It may be we need to get more - but found both the place and the staff charming throughout. If you enjoy high end food but don't buy into the hushed, faintly reverential dining experience nonsense, then this might suit.

As noted by others, some of the decor is a little scuffed up - but should be easily remedied. Outweighing the minor grumble, is that the building and fixtures lightly make reference to the building's heritage throughout, including the rooms. Ours quite successfully retained period proportions and details - with minimum jarring of the modern appliances etc.

Good for anyone with a passing interest in Architectural history and/or relaxed hanging out at the weekend.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BathfordDixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Camden
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Camden Lock Hotel
#430 of 1,067 in London
614 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Thistle Euston
Thistle Euston
#290 of 1,067 in London
3,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Level at Melia White House
Camden
St Christopher's Inn Camden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York & Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York & Albany

Property: York & Albany
Address: 127 Parkway, London NW1 7PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#371 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — York & Albany 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your York & Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York And Albany
The York & Albany Hotel London
York & Albany London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing