We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shikara

Shikara
Ranked #12,842 of 22,199 Restaurants in London
Price range: $25 - $111
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Fitzrovia
Description: Eclectic and delicious Indian cuisine with a contemporary edge is found at Shikara restaurant, only a 5-minute walk from Oxford Circus. Exotically fresh delicacies on the Shikara menu include the divine Malabar monkfish curry or the fresh squid jalfrezi. Shikara London offers friendly service in relaxed and tranquil surroundings with a modern dining room.
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Don't order off the menu! Ask them for a Murg Mussalam, you don't need anything else, maybe some Naan if you're feeling hungry! Enough to feed a horse, great quality, great value...

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    13
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Adequate but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

I ate there last Saturday lunchtime. The service was friendly and fine, and the food was ok, but uninspiring. I stayed a while, as I had time to kill, and for the whole period I was the only diner in the place. Although they were doing moderately lively take-away business.
I got the impression that Saturday lunchtime was a slow time for them; the whole area was very quiet, despite manic Oxford Street being only 5 minutes way.
Maybe weekdays are busier for them, and maybe the food would get a lift too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank slimboy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catania, Italy
Level Contributor
98 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A good Indian restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

It's a nice and elegant place in South Kensington. I was there at lunch with my family and we had very good Indian food. Service is fine and prices are expensive .

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“late night when everything else was closed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stopped by around 10 something at night after a show in West End. Couldn't find anyplace else serving food and we were starving. This place was on our walk back to the flat. It served its purpose of feeding us late, but the tikka masala, naan and daal were all pretty uninspired...like out of the jar sauce and microwaved frozen bread.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank reveilnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AVOID AT ALL COST”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

VERY BAD. Ordered a take-away. I don't think chicken can be drier. Saag paneer was bad, too. Okra dish mush as horribly overcooked. Mango chutney had a funny aftertaste. AVOID.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank L Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shikara also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Shikara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing