We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grim”

The Birds Nest Youth Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Birds Nest Youth Hostel
Ranked #431 of 908 Specialty Lodging in London
Reviewed August 17, 2012

A two night stay here was booked by a relative for our visit to the London Olympics. Suffice to say, said relative won’t ever be entrusted with such a responsibility again!

This place is basic to say the least, but note that this is a HOSTEL not a HOTEL. Our 4 bed room (2 sets of bunk beds – which we expected) was superficially clean: the cheap laminate flooring was worn but clean, walls and door slightly grubby, window dirty. Bed linen provided was clean. The room had shutters instead of curtains on the window, which we couldn’t manage to shut properly. Communal toilet bowl was black with baked on dirt, although the seat was clean as were the basins. There was no hot water. Communal shower was virtually unusable, cramped, in a poor state of repair (tiles missing) and with a door that didn’t lock. A communal area with a fridge, microwave, kettle, toaster, but nowhere to prepare food, was pretty grotty. A left luggage facility was offered but, it turned out, wasn’t available until the pub opened at 12 – not much use when we had to check out by 10.

Ironically, within spitting distance there is a Travelodge which had rooms available for £95 a night (which can at a push accommodate 3 people), compared to £35 per person per night at the Bird’s Nest. Location wise the Bird’s Nest is close to the Docklands Light Railway (although the Travelodge is closer).

To be fair, the staff were absolutely charming and, when we decided we couldn’t stand staying for the second night, they did give us a full refund for that night.

Room Tip: Check prices at the Travelodge first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WestWinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (9)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 9 of 9 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2010

I don't know where to begin with how terrible this place was. Our linen looked dirty and stained. The main shower was broken for most of our stay. The other shower didn't have a door. There was a bathtub further upstairs that looked like it was about to fall through the floor, and there was no shade on the window and the train went right by. Just horrible. Very, very loud. I think there must be a truck depot nearby because trucks seemed to be passing by the hostel all night long which made it impossible to get any sleep because they were so loud. There is a pub downstairs and our first night there a band was playing and basically screamed at the top of their lungs for two hours. Didn't feel very safe at the hostel. Someone tried to open our door twice while we were there. Service is non existant. The staff person rudely showed us to our room and then just left us when his phone started to ring. I've stayed in a number of hostels so I know what to expect and this fell far below any standard. The only slightly redeeming quality is that the hostel is not a far walk to the National Rail so that makes it easy to get into the city. Do not stay here if you have any other option.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Becca45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tellou83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kim_tuyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaux l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enomis95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Greenwich
Travelodge London Greenwich High Road
Travelodge London Greenwich
#555 of 1,075 in London
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
#257 of 1,075 in London
1,928 reviews
Venture Hostels
#711 of 1,075 in London
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Birds Nest Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Birds Nest Youth Hostel

Address: 32 Deptford Church Street, London SE8 4RZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #431 of 908 Specialty Lodging in London
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Birds Nest Youth Hostel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing