We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best value hostel in London”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
No.8 Hostel Willesden
Ranked #285 of 949 Specialty Lodging in London
Reviewed April 6, 2013

this hostel is great, i stayed in a 10 person dorm room and the beds are set out with dividers and curtains so it feels very private. each bed also has its own powerpoint and shelf. also, biggest best lockers ive seen while travelling! I can fit ALL of my things in it easily and you can use any lock to secure it. Also great bar and reliable WIFI and really close to a Tube station. you may look at the location and think 'its not central' but in london it does not matter one bit. the tube is so fast and easy to use you can be in central london in moments. Dont pay 20 pounds a night for substandard hostels, just stay here. The staff are also always super friendly and keen to answer any questions that you may have. Lots of reviews have said that this hostel has a lot of long term guests and to avoid it. well it does have a lot of long term guests but i dont see how that is an issue, they are friendly and know london so they are always keen to give you tips on where to go.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauratheexplorer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 247 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

Good staff (always ready for a pool in the middle of the night to catch your bad dreams),
Good beds (large enough to get a free massage by an bulgarian soldier),
Cool garden (with tv and music),
A lot of computer ( wich are all working very well),
A very convivial kitchen to cook in group,
Annonce for girls: carefull of the indian seller from the grocery, he tryed to kissed me in the back of his shop, where i've been for a friendly cofee...i ran back to the hostel for cheering with the fabulous bartender!

Room Tip: Every rooms are nice i guess if you come in this place to meet people, with an open minded vision of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saraounnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

It was a very good experience, for me and my daughter of eleven years old. it's really clean! there was a man who broke all stuffs from toilets and shower and they replace it immediatly;
the kitchen has a very good equipment. we didn't see any rats and if it really happens, it's city life; they couldn't check all pipes and all hidden places. if you were a rat , you would like to find food :-) !!! the room has good temperature to sleep, not cold, not hot. each bed has his own box, you just have to bring your padlock .( staff is honnest and tell you if you hasn't got so much money to buy it cheaper at the shop in front of the hostel). There are four computers to surf on internet, pool and big screen(i don't care cos tv is really bowlsheet for me :-) )
In fact, it's one of the cheapest hostel then you could meet all people , the one who want to save money and the one who try to survive working, drinking.... ( only at bar or outside)
in this last categorise, you could meet conscious and uncouscious people. alcool is a real problem but not in this hostel , in life . it's the ego drug. then if you want to be sure not to be disturb by noise or light when you sleep, you have to bring ear and eyes protections.
and if you really don't want to be in the real life, go to hotel , pay the price to be in your isolation bubble and don't criticize.
thank you very much
my daughter, at the beginning of our travel wanted to go only in hotel; we pass two days in 8 hostel and the last night in hotel!.after this last night , she said that hostel is a best way!!!!
meetings, sharings......
i don't think that it could be a problem for a female, and this opinion come from a man who assume his feminin part. men are men, everywhere!
i didn't see any unrespected comportments
greatings from France

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyril m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

If your a young, female, solo traveller, AVOID this hostel! The hostel is more like a giant share house for long term guests. I stayed in a 4 bed female dorm that looked more like someones bedroom than a hostel. The 3 other girls had been there for weeks and had taken over every shelf/table space with their belongings.Felt very uncomfortable. Bathrooms were dirty. Staff were nice, shame about the hostel.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmmmmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

What can i say ....Do not enter in this hostel....!!!is terrible..there are rats in the kitchen!!!!really i'm not joking!...once i was cooking and suddenly a rat run over my feet....it was disgusting....how can be possible that "the staff of number 8" didn't anything for that that????
Room 19 is very very cold and noisy!!!for all the night a terrible noise came and back came and back...so i couldn't sleep...i couldn't sleep even if i had my earplugs on...
So i prefer pay a rent in a confortable house than came back in that house of rats....
My advise..stay away from hostel number 8!!!

Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
3  Thank Davide B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I would like to recommend this hostel for everyone. I stayed here few weeks and enjoyed that time. Staff is really friendly, always helpful. The kitchen equipped very well. Rooms cleaned daily, with heating. Hot water at bathrooms. You can meet here friendly people from all over the world. The cheapest hostel I found in London.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie2012-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This place is an absolute dump, and a fire trap besides. It's very dirty and generally uncomfortable. The worst place I've ever stayed at.
I only stayed here out of desperation. Having arrived in London on a Friday night without a prior booking for lodgings I found every other place full.
I arrived exhausted and had to lug my suitcase up two flights of narrow wooden stairs. The room I shared with 3 other people had rough wooden bunks and thin lumpy mattresses.
I had serious about the bedding being fresh; all four bunks looked as if they had been slept in.
Besides all that, they jacked up the price to 5 times their normal rate; the beer was way overpriced as well. The whole place is a big rip-off.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tttggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Venture Hostels
#708 of 1,076 in London
143 reviews
Marylebone
Phoenix Hostel
Phoenix Hostel
#141 of 949 in London
296 reviews
Greenwich
St Christopher's Inn Greenwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#61 of 949 in London
2,191 reviews
East End / East London
The Dictionary Hostel
The Dictionary Hostel
#34 of 949 in London
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No.8 Hostel Willesden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No.8 Hostel Willesden

Address: 305 High Road | Willesden, London NW10 2JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #285 of 949 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $14 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No.8 is a Unique Brand of Hostels developed and delicately integrated within Traditional Old English Pubs. For Facilities, Customer Service & Affordability it must be No.8! At No.8 we take pride in our Customer Service and ensure that all of our Guests get everything they want from their time in London. We are a Youth Backpackers Hostel and cater exclusively for 18-38 yr old backpackers, Photo IDs will be required on Check In. We have Live Entertainment on Weekends within our Traditional English Pub, along with the usual range of pub entertainment and banter! - Free High-Speed WiFi - Full Facility Kitchen, Dining Space & Outdoor Deck - Secure Storage Facilities & 24 Hr Key Card Access - Laundry Facilities (Wash & Dry) - Large Lounge - Pool Table, Foosball, Chess Table, Couches, Satellite TV & Darts Board etc - Traditional English Pub & Beer Garden - Live Entertainment on Weekends! - Free Cancellation on All Bookings prior to Arrival - Reception: Sunday-Thursday 8am-12.00am and Friday-Saturday 8am-2am - Backpackers Hostel for 18-38 year olds only - ID on Check In Required. - £20 Key Deposit (Fully Refunded On Check-Out) Whether it is your first time in London or you are a seasoned traveller, No.8 has everything you need (and a few extras) to ensure that your stay in London is definitely Enjoyable & Comfortable! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
No.8 Hostel Willesden London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing