We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good ambience...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
No.8 Hostel Willesden
Ranked #190 of 837 Specialty Lodging in London
Bordeaux, France
1 review
“Very good ambience...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Good staff (always ready for a pool in the middle of the night to catch your bad dreams),
Good beds (large enough to get a free massage by an bulgarian soldier),
Cool garden (with tv and music),
A lot of computer ( wich are all working very well),
A very convivial kitchen to cook in group,
Annonce for girls: carefull of the indian seller from the grocery, he tryed to kissed me in the back of his shop, where i've been for a friendly cofee...i ran back to the hostel for cheering with the fabulous bartender!

Room Tip: Every rooms are nice i guess if you come in this place to meet people, with an open minded vision of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saraounnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    57
    42
    24
    51
See reviews for
4
36
67
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crest, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

It was a very good experience, for me and my daughter of eleven years old. it's really clean! there was a man who broke all stuffs from toilets and shower and they replace it immediatly;
the kitchen has a very good equipment. we didn't see any rats and if it really happens, it's city life; they couldn't check all pipes and all hidden places. if you were a rat , you would like to find food :-) !!! the room has good temperature to sleep, not cold, not hot. each bed has his own box, you just have to bring your padlock .( staff is honnest and tell you if you hasn't got so much money to buy it cheaper at the shop in front of the hostel). There are four computers to surf on internet, pool and big screen(i don't care cos tv is really bowlsheet for me :-) )
In fact, it's one of the cheapest hostel then you could meet all people , the one who want to save money and the one who try to survive working, drinking.... ( only at bar or outside)
in this last categorise, you could meet conscious and uncouscious people. alcool is a real problem but not in this hostel , in life . it's the ego drug. then if you want to be sure not to be disturb by noise or light when you sleep, you have to bring ear and eyes protections.
and if you really don't want to be in the real life, go to hotel , pay the price to be in your isolation bubble and don't criticize.
thank you very much
my daughter, at the beginning of our travel wanted to go only in hotel; we pass two days in 8 hostel and the last night in hotel!.after this last night , she said that hostel is a best way!!!!
meetings, sharings......
i don't think that it could be a problem for a female, and this opinion come from a man who assume his feminin part. men are men, everywhere!
i didn't see any unrespected comportments
greatings from France

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyril m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold coast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

If your a young, female, solo traveller, AVOID this hostel! The hostel is more like a giant share house for long term guests. I stayed in a 4 bed female dorm that looked more like someones bedroom than a hostel. The 3 other girls had been there for weeks and had taken over every shelf/table space with their belongings.Felt very uncomfortable. Bathrooms were dirty. Staff were nice, shame about the hostel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmmmmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

What can i say ....Do not enter in this hostel....!!!is terrible..there are rats in the kitchen!!!!really i'm not joking!...once i was cooking and suddenly a rat run over my feet....it was disgusting....how can be possible that "the staff of number 8" didn't anything for that that????
Room 19 is very very cold and noisy!!!for all the night a terrible noise came and back came and back...so i couldn't sleep...i couldn't sleep even if i had my earplugs on...
So i prefer pay a rent in a confortable house than came back in that house of rats....
My advise..stay away from hostel number 8!!!

Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Davide B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

I would like to recommend this hostel for everyone. I stayed here few weeks and enjoyed that time. Staff is really friendly, always helpful. The kitchen equipped very well. Rooms cleaned daily, with heating. Hot water at bathrooms. You can meet here friendly people from all over the world. The cheapest hostel I found in London.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie2012-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

This place is an absolute dump, and a fire trap besides. It's very dirty and generally uncomfortable. The worst place I've ever stayed at.
I only stayed here out of desperation. Having arrived in London on a Friday night without a prior booking for lodgings I found every other place full.
I arrived exhausted and had to lug my suitcase up two flights of narrow wooden stairs. The room I shared with 3 other people had rough wooden bunks and thin lumpy mattresses.
I had serious about the bedding being fresh; all four bunks looked as if they had been slept in.
Besides all that, they jacked up the price to 5 times their normal rate; the beer was way overpriced as well. The whole place is a big rip-off.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tttggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

What can I say .... I'm glad I'm out of there. Have been to many other hostels in London. But this was the worst hostel I've ever seen. Bathroom was dirty and disgusting. The window broke. It dripped through the ceiling. The staff was friendly. But that was all. Never never again: (

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
London Backpackers
#207 of 837 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Marylebone
Phoenix Hostel
Phoenix Hostel
#145 of 837 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Greenwich
St Christopher's Inn Greenwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queen Elizabeth Chelsea
#239 of 837 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
RestUp London
#451 of 837 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Tribal Hostel London
#394 of 837 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No.8 Hostel Willesden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No.8 Hostel Willesden

Property: No.8 Hostel Willesden
Address: 305 High Road | Willesden, London NW10 2JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 837 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No.8 is a Unique Brand of Hostels developed and delicately integrated within Traditional Old English Pubs. For Facilities, Customer Service & Affordability it must be No.8! At No.8 we take pride in our Customer Service and ensure that all of our Guests get everything they want from their time in London. We are a Youth Backpackers Hostel and cater exclusively for 18-38 yr old backpackers, Photo IDs will be required on Check In. We have Live Entertainment on Weekends within our Traditional English Pub, along with the usual range of pub entertainment and banter! - Free High-Speed WiFi - Full Facility Kitchen, Dining Space & Outdoor Deck - Secure Storage Facilities & 24 Hr Key Card Access - Laundry Facilities (Wash & Dry) - Large Lounge - Pool Table, Foosball, Chess Table, Couches, Satellite TV & Darts Board etc - Traditional English Pub & Beer Garden - Live Entertainment on Weekends! - Free Cancellation on All Bookings prior to Arrival - Reception: Sunday-Thursday 8am-12.00am and Friday-Saturday 8am-2am - Backpackers Hostel for 18-38 year olds only - ID on Check In Required. - £20 Key Deposit (Fully Refunded On Check-Out) Whether it is your first time in London or you are a seasoned traveller, No.8 has everything you need (and a few extras) to ensure that your stay in London is definitely Enjoyable & Comfortable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your No.8 Hostel Willesden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No.8 Hostel Willesden London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing