We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just.... Don't.”

Masala Zone Camden Town
Ranked #7,304 of 22,373 Restaurants in London
Price range: $11 - $31
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Camden
Description: Welcome to one of London’s leading Indian brasserie restaurants - there are 7 Masala Zone restaurants. Each Masala Zone is visually unique. We all serve real Indian food and cuisines, in contemporary yet exotic Indian popular art settings.We offer the varied delicious tastes and cuisines of India, from homes, wayside stalls and palaces (totally different from local curry houses) in a friendly brasserie environment.We and our legendary sister fine dining restaurants - Chutney Mary, Veeraswamy and Amaya - provide an unparalleled combination of real Indian cuisines, taste, integrity, hospitality and ambience
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just.... Don't.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

There don't seem to be many decent food options in this area, so we reluctantly went here assuming that it could be toooo bad. We were wrong, and urge you not to make the same mistake... I don't even think this qualifies as restaurant food, it's tasteless, watery, minimum effort gunk that would compare badly against any supermarket ready meal. I struggle to think of a worse curry I've had (and I've been to curry shops in the welsh valleys). Avoid at all costs, but if you do find yourself here you can at least amuse yourself by singing the Kenny Loggins song from Top Gun - but switching 'danger' for 'masala'. This was the only thing that made our trip in any way worthwhile.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    96
    43
    31
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“No negative experience at All - on the contrary it was delicious - German tourists”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

After Reading the Last negative comments, we decided Not to go there.
When we Passed the Road. Watching that there are Many tables were taken, we decided to give them a Chance and that was the best decision we die this Week.
We were at some Indian Restaurants in the Last Fee days and this One was definately One of the best Food - the Service was very polkte as well.
They explained us everything before ordering and our waitress brought us a Test of a Sauce as we werent sure of it Would have Been Too hot for us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelnick85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“If you want an Indian Meal without the experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

The meal was fine, the staff polite, the cost reasonable edging towards high. All ok really. And that is exactly the problem. The best thing about some restaurants is that they attempt to build an atmosphere, not this one. While they do their best with the food the restaurant has a couple of posters on the wall but thats probably it when it comes to being cultural.
So if you are there with friends on the way home from the cinema and want a meal and a chat, go for it, but if you want ambiance, a nice place to enjoy an Indian meal, perhaps you have somewhere else to go.
However it was still a reasonable value clean restaurant with good and helpful staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vic A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid this place - unless you like watered down curry”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I ordered a lamb vindaloo with my family, it came out in the matter of minutes, it was cool, not spicy for a vindaloo and the sauce was very watery. The rest of my family had a similar experiences with their food. This is the worst curry I've ever had. The only good thing I've got to say about the place is that the waitress we had was friendly, helpful and was also very patient when my brother was struggling to make up his mind.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrSnifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bland, tiny portions and a rip off”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

I was hopeful for this place, but I was completely let down.What an absolute rip off of a restaurant. The curries are of the microscopic variety. I counted 3 cubes of chicken in mine, which cost about a tenner. Thali was insipid. Moreover, rice and naan are tiny, and outrageously priced. Don't be fooled by claims of 'authentic Indian' . This is purely food for a western palate. Don't waste your money, grab a train to wembley or East ham and grab a proper Indian for a quarter of the price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eagle020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masala Zone Camden Town also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Masala Zone Camden Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing