We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best little east Asian restaurant in crystal palace”
Review of Tofu

Tofu
Order Online
Ranked #4,824 of 27,721 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
Description: Tofu is doing freshly and healthy east asian food,which are chinese,japanese,korean food.
Restaurant details
Description: Tofu is doing freshly and healthy east asian food,which are chinese,japanese,korean food.
Reviewed April 6, 2019 via mobile

I can honestly recommend this restaurant as it has the best Asian food I've ever tasted with some dishes rarely found in other places in London. The general tso's chicken combination is great value and extremely filling. The only downside is it's cash only.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 82 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2019 via mobile

We went for a dinner with my wife, we ordered some dumplings for a starter and duck and stir fry as a main. All food was delicious, tea was served in a nice kettle. We loved it. Highly recommend

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank TomaszC45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2019 via mobile

Food was delicious. I would recommend eating in the restaurant or as a takeaway. Not the cheapest but certainly worth spending a little extra

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Treversh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2019

As a south Londoner I take great pleasure in uncovering places which don't look like much from the outside but really up the ante once you walk through the door. Tofu is the epitome of this kind if establishment. Squashed between a pub and another restaurant it's easy to walk straight past.

The staff are both friendly and attentive. The decoration is minimalist (try and get a seat on the upper deck if you're dining in the winter time as the draft from the open door, which gets a lot of use as Deliveroo drivers come in and out, can be chilly. The menu is a single piece of laminated card with meat, veggie, rice and noodle options on there.

I strongly recommend the pork belly which always arrives beautifully cooked and with a nice piece of crispy crackling attached. Also the aubergine stuffed with spiced prawn and then deep fried is a combination that you'll likely not have tried but it's a winner. Also you can't go wrong with the duck lettuce wraps and any of the stir fried noodle options

A few things worth noting
- It's semi-BYOB. You can bring booze but there is a small corkage charge per bottle.
- Food comes out as it's ready so order to share otherwise you won't be eating at the same time!
- Seats that aren't against the wall are just cubes which are a little uncomfortable if you're there for a while.
- There's nothing in the way of dessert on offer so my advice is nip over the rode to 400 Rabbits where they serve excellent gelupo ice cream.

Keep up the good work Tofu. 3 great meals out of 3 so far. Oh and it's cheap! Last time I was here we had a meal for 4 for about £65 quid and were all stuffed.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank tonycamps1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2019 via mobile

The food at Tofu is still brilliant, particularly the dim sum starters. My favourite mains include pepper beef and teriyaki salmon. The pork belly is absolutely delicious but not good for my diet. :)

They are now licenced and offer a modest range of wines and beers but you can still bring your own and pay £3 a bottle corkage.

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank V6968FYdavidm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tofu also viewed

 
Beckenham, Greater London
 

Been to Tofu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing