We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just, no”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Astor Hyde Park Hostel
Ranked #41 of 843 Specialty Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“just, no”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

To be honest, I didn't think the location was outstanding. It wasn't really within walking distance to the tube (oh and the tube is ridiculously expensive so don't count on using it) but more importantly, I generally felt unsafe in Astor Hyde Park.

I stayed in a room on the third floor whose door didn't close all the way. As a result, I had over $600 worth of things stolen from me. The only response I got from the people at the front desk was "oh yeah that room? sorry man, that door always has problems. well there's a sign on the door that says make sure to close it all the way.." oh you mean a sign telling thefts exactly which room to go into if they feel like stealing that day? i couldn't believe it.

fortunately i left with most of my valuables. but, unfortunately, also left with a foot fungus from the disgusting showers.

seriously, there are so many better hostels in london. I sincerely avoided going back to this hostel as much as possible throughout my stay, that's how uncomfortable I felt there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank d_lu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    152
    54
    15
    9
See reviews for
8
42
105
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

If you're about to spend some time in London and you're on a budget, go for this hostel. The location (next to royal albert hall and hyde park) is just superb and you can reach the city centre just walking, hence you're saving the subway money etc. (plus subway is very close to there & it takes approx 50 minutes with only one change to Heathrow)
But it has couple of flaws: one would be the unfortunate distribution of the facilities: since the place is small, you're unable to have your suitcase in your room, if everybody would have that, there'd be no space left. The luggage room is downstairs, which if you're staying in the 4th floor is plainly annoying. On the other hand, I get it, it's better to drag your suitcase down than up.
The rooms are clean, but miss couple of things: like small personal light for each bed... if somebody wants to sleep and other people are still coming, it's just inconvenient for both sides, since light off means people tripping and making noises, light on means poor sleeping person. Same foes for the sockets, not enough of those in the room.
I had a problem with the bathroom also... it's clean, but the small sink clogs and that's plainly gross.
Also I had a little psychological problem with the personal space with the lock. It didn't seem that super safe to me, lots of holes and actually if you want you get in there... I know it's about people trusting each other, but the reality taught me to be paranoid, so it was slightly uncomfortable for me.
Also one tip: if you're staying, prepare 5 pounds deposits for everything: locks, key card... although the stay can be paid by card.
Overall if I'm on the budget and have to stay in London again, I'd probably go here once more, although I wasn't super excited.

Room Tip: If you can, try to avoid upper floors, combination of no lift and a lots of steep steps is a killer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janapka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2013

this hostel is so close to hyde park, so everymorning, i did jogging to the park!
and around the hostel is very quiet and clean.
but this hostel dont have a elevator. so it was a little uncomfortable.
(i want stayed at 5th floor...)
but i can forgive it cause the location was perfect !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SonyaHong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I found this place to be clean, safe, and an enjoyable place to stay. A friend and I spent several nights here while in London and had a great experience. The location is fantastic and easy for getting to the Bayswater Tube station, Hyde Park, and Kensington. I would stay here again and would recommend it to friends looking for accommodations in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiria, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

It's friendly, clean and you can meet lots of people in a relaxed environment. For sure a good place to be if you're travelling with friends.
You can be sure to find a neighborhood discreet and charming. Also, it's a few meters away from the beautiful Hyde Park, don't miss it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijlen, Belgium
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Had a wonderful stay in Astor Hyde Park. It's located in a beautiful old Victorian Town house in the nice neighbourhood of Kensington. Close to the underground, Hyde and Kensington Park, shops and places to eat affordably.
Nice staff, even let us stay in the lounge with a film whilest waiting on the cab at 3 AM. Breakfasts were simple but decent. Only downside was the boiling hot room temperatures, but hey, what are these odds in London? :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Staff were super friendly and it was very clean. Only complaint is that there was no air condition. Other than that it was fantastic. Great location, 20 minute walk to the subway, close to grocery stores and pubs

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summandaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Gore Hotel
The Gore Hotel
#236 of 1,067 in London
1,524 reviews
Pimlico
Astor Victoria Hostel
Astor Victoria Hostel
#46 of 843 in London
488 reviews
Astor Queensway Hostel
#99 of 843 in London
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
The Walrus Hostel
#37 of 843 in London
496 reviews
Soho
SoHostel
SoHostel
#28 of 843 in London
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor Hyde Park Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Hyde Park Hostel

Property: Astor Hyde Park Hostel
Address: 191 Queen's Gate | South Kensington, London SW7 5EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 843 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Still boasting its stunning original features, the newest addition to the Astor Family is a Victorian Town House on a quiet tree-lined boulevard. Helping Astor Hostels to win an Award for 3rd best hostel group in the World, this Hyde Park hotel is a striking building in one of London’s prettiest neighbourhoods. The best budget accommodation in walking distance of Kensington Gardens and The Serpentine.Next to the Royal Albert Hall, close to the New Kensington Palace Museum, Princess Diana Memorial and minutes walk from the Natural History, Science and Victoria & Albert Museums. The hostel has a vibrant atmosphere, where you can relax peacefully upstairs or party hard downstairs! With 24-hour reception, free safes available, free Wi-Fi and a host of other amenities your stay is guaranteed to be great. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Astor Hyde Park Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Hyde Park Hotel London
Astor Hyde Park London
Astor Hyde Park Hostel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing