We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic, delicious and French.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Paul - CLOSED

Paul
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Soho
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authentic, delicious and French.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We used Paul to cater a 40th birthday party at a hotel next to Westminister Bridge, as their cakes, pastries and sublime french sandwiches are just the best in London, in my opinion.
They will deliver to you if you are within a certain area of the West End and the City of London (fill in an online order form) - otherwise, pop into one of their shops and drool at all the amazingly decorative gateaux and gorgeous sandwiches. My favourite is the ham/cheese one (Mixte)- brilliantly simple but totally delicious. Very authentic French fare.
They make these amazing mini sandwiches that are concealed inside a massive hollowed out Compagne loaf of bread - called "Pain Suprise" - we ordered a couple for the birthday event and everyone just loved them! Highly recommended for discerning bread heads, the sweet-toothed and francophiles.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    22
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
339 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Good food in a sloppy facility”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We've been to the one in Oxford Circus. It was a great sunny day and we decided to stop by for a french breakfast. We had to clean our table by ourselves. The staff was nice but unhelpful.
We had two cappuccinos (pretty good for being uk-made) and two good pastries for less than 10 pounds which we considered not bad.
All in all, nothing suprisingly good but ok for a quick breakfast.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RenatinoAgatina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
382 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Got my free sandwich today!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

I now usually walk past two Pret branches to get to the Paul by Charing Cross station. I find that there is more choice and tastier food and the cakes are to die for.
They also have a loyalty card; after you have bought nine sanwiches you get one free. It does work a little strangely but today I got my first freeby which was a good surprise.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnotherEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous experience, fabulous food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We wandered into Paul looking for a sweet treat. We were so impressed! As the cashier/barista watched our great debate over what sweets to purchase, we were gifted a chocolate and a normal croissant. We purchased an apple tart and a vanilla macaroon. Along with our cappuccinos, these made an excellent sweet snack and an amazingly delicious breakfast as well.

Our only regret was that we won't be able to go back. A great place, we highly recommend it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kerstenmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous pastry, even better coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is now w chain of bakery/restaurants across London. Eat breakfast here if you can a) afford it, b) aren't concerned about putting on weight. The coffees are well-made, too. My kids wanted eat breakfast every day at various Paul's.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mttaylor1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paul also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing