We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value london hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park
Ranked #324 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Bath
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great value london hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2009

Like many other people seem to have experienced, we were automatically upgraded to a club room. Although it contained everything you'd expect as detailed in other reviews below it still did seem rather small and dingy, so heaven knows how small the standard rooms are. The staff were all foreign but incredibly friendly and courteous and it is seriously close to paddington. Its a great hotel if all you want is a comfy bed for the night and a good breakfast in a convenient location, which is certainly all we wanted on our trip.

Tip: Book direct on the hotel website as the prices quoted there were always £5-10 cheaper than the laterooms prices.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BathAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    472
    191
    97
    134
See reviews for
143
476
170
356
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2009

Checked in for one night as had early meeting the next day. Room was on the small side, but had everything you need: double bed, nice linen, big TV on wall, tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryer, and all finished to a very high standard. The bathroom, too, although smaller than I would have liked, was fitted to an excellent standard, with complimentary shampoo and shower gel. Check in was effortless, the staff very helpful. Wake up call was bang on time. All in all, a gem of a hotel in the middle of London and for a truly excellent price – I paid £65 via LateRooms, though offers on the hotel's own website came in slightly cheaper. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milliemollymanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2009

- Newly renovated, clean;
- Good shower, bathroom;
- Free WiFi, easy to access internet;
- Friendly staffs;
- Good value;
- Good location, 5 minutes to Paddington tube station and buses near by to centrol London.
- Some good restaurants near by.

Downside:
- Some rooms are bit small.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Realbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salcombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2009

This appeared to be a new (ish) hotel - absolutely fantastic location for Paddington railway station... literally 5 minutes walk! We stayed in a front facing Club Room - and though it very good value for money - especially for a London hotel. Comfy bed - clean rooms, excellent shower although towels a bit on the rough side. Staff were fairly efficient but not overly friendly.

Minus points were that the air conditioning didn't work despite the best efforts of a member of staff and bedside lights didn't work either - I also thought the dimmer switch for the room light was decidedly dodgy. Milks for tea's / coffee were very stingy and on both nights the electronic card key had been turned off - so we had to return to reception to get it turned on! Felt these were teething troubles maybe.,...?

Overall - location made up for the minus points.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hampshirelillibet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2009

My partner and I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in March, and enjoyed the hotel very much. The room we had (a deluxe double) was cosy, well presented and clean, with a nicely decorated en suite bathroom, complete with clean towels, toiletries and a shower big enough for two. Tea and coffee facilities were provided and the room was well serviced when we were out. The window of the room looked out into an indoor lobby area, but that didn't bother us as we were only really in the room to sleep, and there were thick curtains. The reception area offered internet access and free refreshments in the seating area, and the location was very convenient, just 5 minutes walk from Edgeware Road. Highly recommended. We are planning to go back to this hotel next month.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moosedevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2009

We recently stayed here for 5 days. I had booked a "deluxe double " room through the hotel website, which had better deals than other booking sites . The room we were assigned was very small and I would have been quite unhappy with it. Luckily I had read here that guests were often upgraded to a "club" room. I asked for a larger room and in fact was transferred to one, which made all the difference. The new room and bath were wonderful. Lovely linens and down blanket, individual heating and airconditioning unit, nice toiletries. There was a microwave and electric kettle in the room, together with tea, coffee, sugar, etc. There was a minibar, but it did not work. I got the sense that none of the rooms had a working minibar.The staff was excellent and helped us with whatever we needed. There were complimentary tea, coffee, biscuits and fruit in the lobby, as well as 2 computers for guests' use. However, the internet connection was quite slow and didn't always work. The breakfast was included in the deal offered by the hotel's site and was fine. I noticed that many guests did not have breakfast included, and I'm not sure that I would pay another 15 pounds for it. As others have mentioned, the location is very convenient for those flying in and out of Heathrow (the express train goes to Paddington station, a 10 walk to the hotel) and for getting around London by public transportation or even walking. I would definitely recommend this hotel..as long as you get the larger room.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nosaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in April 09. We were originally booked at the sister property Shaftesbury Premier on Westbourne Terrace. But at the check in desk, we were told that they were out of rooms and sent us to Shaftesbury Metropole. I was reluctant at first because I specifically chose this hotel due to its location close to Paddington station, but the staff reassured me that the other hotel was about the same distance to Paddington. So they got a taxi for us and paid for it.

At the Metropolitan, the staff were already expecting us and had our paperwork ready. So I was mildly pleased. They gave us a room on the 3rd floor and as we entered the elevator we got a taste of how small the hotel is. Anyway, our room was at the end of the hallway and we had to navigate the narrow hallways and through 2 fire doors. It was quite a challenge I must say.

Our room was clean and the bathroom looked reasonably modern, but it was very small and cramped. We had 1 small suitcase and 1 medium suitcase and there was no place to open both suitcase at the same time (didn't want to put the dirty suitcase on the bed).

Anyway, we didn't have any problem during our stay. The staff were courteous. It was only about 7 minute walk to Paddington. And there are busses that can get us to Oxford St for shopping, food, etc.

So all in all I'd go back to the hotel but only if the price is right.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rootss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaftesburyPR, PR Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, June 19, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding The Shaftesbury Metropolis. We are very happy to know that you had a enjoyable stay with us. All our hotels are furnished to the same standards as you have seen although being London, the room sizes do vary. Look forward to having you here again!

Best Regards

Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#201 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
BEST WESTERN PLUS Delmere Hotel
The Darlington Hyde Park
#197 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#401 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park

Property: Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park
Address: 78-84 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UH, England (Formerly Royal Sussex Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#235 Luxury Hotel in London
#370 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park Hotel London
Shaftesbury Metropolis Hotel London
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing