We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park
Ranked #334 of 1,071 Hotels in London
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We spent a week in Shaftsburry Metropolis hotel in London, I was surprised when we first arrived as the lobby is way smaller than what the pictures show. It is not a bad hotel ba snot as good as expected, to be fair it is clean and has a good location, close to hyde park and to oxford street. But the rooms are very small and their bathrooms as well , the beds are not so comfortable specially if it is a double room. the breakfast is ok but there are no varities. If you do not care about the room and you are just seeking a nice location it would be a nice option.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heba A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Metropolis London Hyde Park & thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We are pleased to know that the location of this hotel was well suited to your plans, however sorry to hear that the size of the room & reception lobby area was not upto your expectation.

This is a victorian building and due to its architecture some of the rooms are compact . Please do write to me in advance about your future booking as I will ensure a spacious room is allocated for your comfortable stay.

Kind Regards
Sincerely
Aparna
dm@shaftesburymetropolitan.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,395)
There are newer reviews for Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

789 - 795 of 1,395 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

Booked it through the hotel website and got a very good rate with breakfast.. I think it is a good value for money. The staff was very friendly , polite and courteous. One of the lady MONICA was very helpful throughout our stay, her co-ordination was excellent. never had this personalized experience before.will definitely share my experience with friend and family. Thank you all for making it worthy...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Metropolis London Hyde Park.

We are so grateful to you for your excellent comments which have been read by our team. Monica conveys her special thanks to you. It was indeed a great pleasure for us to serve you.

We look forward to welcoming you again .

Kind Regards
Sincerely
Aparna
dm@shaftesburymetropolitan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Got 'bumped' to this hotel after booking at a superior sister hotel (London Premier Notting Hill, part of the Shaftesbury group, see separate review regarding the 'bumping' saga).

This is a pleasant enough hotel in a decent location set within a long row of hotels on Sussex Gardens and a short walk to Paddington. Staff were friendly enough and the reception was welcoming. However, the rooms are incredibly small, I was upgraded to a superior double due to the earlier inconvenience, but believe me there was nothing superior about it and it was just about a double, well there was a double bed squeezed in! I had a basement room at the front of the hotel which overlooked the aircon units, so not ideal and was noisy at night.

Despite the size the room was clean and presentable and the shower was fantastic. However, the room safe wasn't fixed to anything, so just check before you deposit your valuables!

Breakfast was average.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a box in the basement!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Metropolis London Hyde Park.

We are extremely sorry to hear about the inconvenience caused to you due to the transfer situation. Thank you for your good comments about the staff service. It was a pleasure serving you.

Due to Victorian architecture some of the rooms are compact . Very sorry for the discomfort caused to you in regards to the size of the room , plus the room being noisy. We truly understand your concern and hope to make your future stay a pleasant one.

Please write to me on the below mentioned email address prior to your future visit as I will ensure a higher level room , free from any noise is allocated for your comfort.

We do hope you will give us another oppurtunity to restore your trust in the Shaftesbury Group.

Kind Regards
Sincerely
Aparna
dm@shaftesburymetropolitan.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Situated so close to Hyde Park, The Serpentine, Kensington Park and Oxford Street makes this an ideal place to stay. Within walking distance of Baker Street, Lords and The Regents park too. Access to the sub way is also close by. A great English breakfast to fuel up before embarking on a day exploring the city is a must.Room was clean and ample for a short stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Metropolis London Hyde Park & thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We appreciate your valuable feedback & feel good to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

It will be a great pleasure serving you again. Please feel free to write to me prior to your future visit as I will ensure you are comfortable and experience a good service.

Kind Regards
Sincerely
Aparna
dm@shaftesburymetropolitan.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I write very few negative reviews, I research carefully so after reading good reviews I booked a deluxe double room directly with the hotel.
I asked about an upgrade when checking in but was told no room was available....fair enough....so proceeded to our room on the ground floor. To say it was a small double would be an understatement, it would be a small single, there was no space in the room for a chair, bar fridge or bedside table on one side of the bed. Strategy was required to move around & there was little room for one suitcase let alone two. The bathroom was also tiny, but well appointed. When pulling the duvet back as we were leaving I exposed bad stains! The only redeeming features of this property are the friendly, helpful staff and nice breakfast. I don't think it was value for money @ 84.48 gbp total per night.

Room Tip: Only book deluxe double if your not claustrophobic.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TassieAusssie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Metropolis London Hyde Park & thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We appreciate your valuable feedback as this will assist us to meet & exceed our guest's expectation.

Due to Victorian architecture few of the rooms are a bit compact . Our staff would have been very pleased to upgrade you , however being fully booked on that particular day this must have not been possible . Very sorry if this caused you any inconvenience. We have forwarded your comments regarding the stained duvet to our housekeeper. It is quite embarassing for us to read this . We thank you for bringing this to our attention and request you to kindly forward me the room number you stayed in. I will ensure the same room is checked thoroughly .

We thank you for your good comments about the staff service. They all were pleased to serve you.

Please feel free to write to me prior to your future visit as I wish to make your stay a most comfortable one by allocating a nice & comfortable room.


Kind Regards
Sincerely
Aparna
dm@shaftesburymetropolitan.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We would like to express our appreciation for the good will and courtesy extended to us by the staff during our recent stay at this hotel. We make particular praise for the effots of the Receptionist 'Monica' and your maintenance man. The coffee and biscuitr were a pleasant and welcome surprise upon on arrival..

Room Tip: Try not to have a room facing the road
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Metropolis London Hyde Park .

We thank you for your good comments regarding the staff service . We are pleased to know that you had a comfortable stay with us. Monica conveys her thanks to you .

Please feel free to write to me regarding your future visit as I will ensure you are comfortable.

Kind Regards
Sincerely
Aparna
dm@shaftesburymetropolitan.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Joe Cool reviewed a week ago
Quality Excellent Facilities Excellent Service Excellent

I booked into this hotel, on the 26th, i had read a few reviews, and thought, well so what i will try it out. The Hotel was Excellent for the price, and location, fair enough maybee the room i was in was a bit small, but was not too bad. Was very clean, and and plenty hot water, and nice bathroom. Good tv, Comfy bed. I liked this hotel, somebody said the eggs were powder, mines were not, i had propper scamled egg, and a nice breakfast, with good staff. You wont get any better than this for the the price and location, it is close to everything central. Nice area, if you want a drink, there is a pub right accross the road. i WOULD RECOMEND THIS HOTEL, AND WOULD USE IT AGAIN. Believe me, i know this area, and there are some dodgy bed and breakfasts out there, This is not one of them i will give it 5*****. Thanks Shaftsbury.

Room Tip: "This Hotel, is worth the price, for the location" "Excellent clean rooms" &qu...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gery J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Metropolis London Hyde Park for your recent stay in the city.

It was indeed a great pleasure serving you. We are pleased to read such excellent comments & thank you for the same. Your comments will be shared among our team as this will encourage them to perform even better and excel in there service.

It is really nice to hear that you will be recommending this hotel to your family & friends. Please let me know in advanve about your future visit as I will ensure you stay in one of our best room with comfort.

Looking forward to welcoming you.

Kind Regards
Sincerely
Aparna
dm@shaftesburymetropolitan.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Best Western Plus Delmere Hotel
The Darlington Hyde Park
#218 of 1,071 in London
2,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#208 of 1,071 in London
1,044 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park

Address: 78-84 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UH, England (Formerly Royal Sussex Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#237 Luxury Hotel in London
#370 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $136 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park Hotel London
Shaftesbury Metropolis Hotel London
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing