We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park
Ranked #340 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I write very few negative reviews, I research carefully so after reading good reviews I booked a deluxe double room directly with the hotel.
I asked about an upgrade when checking in but was told no room was available....fair enough....so proceeded to our room on the ground floor. To say it was a small double would be an understatement, it would be a small single, there was no space in the room for a chair, bar fridge or bedside table on one side of the bed. Strategy was required to move around & there was little room for one suitcase let alone two. The bathroom was also tiny, but well appointed. When pulling the duvet back as we were leaving I exposed bad stains! The only redeeming features of this property are the friendly, helpful staff and nice breakfast. I don't think it was value for money @ 84.48 gbp total per night.

Room Tip: Only book deluxe double if your not claustrophobic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TassieAusssie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Metropolis London Hyde Park & thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We appreciate your valuable feedback as this will assist us to meet & exceed our guest's expectation.

Due to Victorian architecture few of the rooms are a bit compact . Our staff would have been very pleased to upgrade you , however being fully booked on that particular day this must have not been possible . Very sorry if this caused you any inconvenience. We have forwarded your comments regarding the stained duvet to our housekeeper. It is quite embarassing for us to read this . We thank you for bringing this to our attention and request you to kindly forward me the room number you stayed in. I will ensure the same room is checked thoroughly .

We thank you for your good comments about the staff service. They all were pleased to serve you.

Please feel free to write to me prior to your future visit as I wish to make your stay a most comfortable one by allocating a nice & comfortable room.


Kind Regards
Sincerely
Aparna
dm@shaftesburymetropolitan.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    494
    202
    98
    136
See reviews for
154
493
176
372
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We would like to express our appreciation for the good will and courtesy extended to us by the staff during our recent stay at this hotel. We make particular praise for the effots of the Receptionist 'Monica' and your maintenance man. The coffee and biscuitr were a pleasant and welcome surprise upon on arrival..

Room Tip: Try not to have a room facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Metropolis London Hyde Park .

We thank you for your good comments regarding the staff service . We are pleased to know that you had a comfortable stay with us. Monica conveys her thanks to you .

Please feel free to write to me regarding your future visit as I will ensure you are comfortable.

Kind Regards
Sincerely
Aparna
dm@shaftesburymetropolitan.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Joe Cool reviewed a week ago
Quality Excellent Facilities Excellent Service Excellent

I booked into this hotel, on the 26th, i had read a few reviews, and thought, well so what i will try it out. The Hotel was Excellent for the price, and location, fair enough maybee the room i was in was a bit small, but was not too bad. Was very clean, and and plenty hot water, and nice bathroom. Good tv, Comfy bed. I liked this hotel, somebody said the eggs were powder, mines were not, i had propper scamled egg, and a nice breakfast, with good staff. You wont get any better than this for the the price and location, it is close to everything central. Nice area, if you want a drink, there is a pub right accross the road. i WOULD RECOMEND THIS HOTEL, AND WOULD USE IT AGAIN. Believe me, i know this area, and there are some dodgy bed and breakfasts out there, This is not one of them i will give it 5*****. Thanks Shaftsbury.

Room Tip: "This Hotel, is worth the price, for the location" "Excellent clean rooms" &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gery J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Metropolis London Hyde Park for your recent stay in the city.

It was indeed a great pleasure serving you. We are pleased to read such excellent comments & thank you for the same. Your comments will be shared among our team as this will encourage them to perform even better and excel in there service.

It is really nice to hear that you will be recommending this hotel to your family & friends. Please let me know in advanve about your future visit as I will ensure you stay in one of our best room with comfort.

Looking forward to welcoming you.

Kind Regards
Sincerely
Aparna
dm@shaftesburymetropolitan.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed two nights by myself. My basement room was very small and noisy, but that's what London hotels are like in this price range! Great bed (took up most of the room) and pillows, very clean and a nice shower with plenty of hot water. Staff were helpful enough but I didn't eat there since there are enough pubs, coffee joints, take-aways and small restaurants close-by in Praed Street or Edgware Road. This hotel is excellent for exploring London on foot, and when they get tired or need to get somewhere fast, Paddington station is three blocks away and a bicycle point one block away. Lots of cabs pass here as well. I could have gotten a better deal by booking on the hotel's website instead of Bookings.com. Since I mainly spend time in a hotel room to sleep, the great bed here won me over! Rather stay here than in a big 3-star on Russel Square. The Metropolis will see me again!

Room Tip: Rather get a room on an upper floor. The basement is a little noisy. The laptop safe will not accomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PringleBurger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurpreetLondon, Front Office Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about recent stay with us and we do sincerely sorry about all the inconvenience caused. Guest's feedback is really important to us as they help us to monitor and improve on services. Your comments has been shared within whole team and will be discussed with our General Manager to work on flaws and not to be repeated.

Unfortunately can't change what has happened however learning on issues, we would like to make arrangements in your future booking with us. So please write to me in advance of your next stay and I'll do my best to make your stay comfortable and satisfactory in every aspect.

Sincerely,
Gurpreet Singh
gurpreet@shaftesburymetropolitan.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Excellent location a short walk from Paddington station on an attractive road. Friendly staff, clean, good decor and of a very high quality for a cheaper end London hotel. Good size rooms for london, and a reasonable size bathroom.
Road noise was apparent, but not intrusive. We will definitely be using this hotel again. Best value for money hotel I have ever Used in London.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hansi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurpreetLondon, Front Office Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Wow what a excellent feedback! Once again many thanks for sharing your thoughts about recent stay with us. Guest's feedback is really important to us as they hep us to improve more and more. Your excellent comments has been shared within whole team and feel proud that we were able to meet and greet all expectations with us especially after relocating your booking.

It was our pleasure to have you with us and great to hear that you will choose us every time you stay in London. Kindly write to me in advance o f your future arrival so that I'll make sure that you are well looked after.

Best Regards,
Gurpreet Singh
FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I selected this hotel for its convenience to Paddington and its apparent quality. When I checked in, I was told that, due to a technical problem at thehotel, I could not be accomodated in the Shaftesbury Metropolis, but I would be moved to another nearby hotel. Eventually, acar turned up and moved me to the Shaftesbury Suites. I as placed in a basement room with no opening window and almost no natural light. I complained abput the room, but no alternative was offered. Later that night, I made two phone calls to the Metropolis to strongly object to my replcement room, and requesting to be moved back to the Metropolis, but with no response. The next morning, I spoke with customer assistance at londonnights.com, where I had booked my hotel. Wth the help of this person (who was polite and responsive), the Metropolis agreed to move me back to a room with them, since their "technical problem" had apparently been fixed. I gartefully checked in to a room with one window, tiny, nicely apointed, but TINY. Interestingly, while I as in the lobby using the internet, a group of guests checked in and were whisked off in a car to alternative accomodation. I also overheard a family complain of being moved to an alterntive location and asking that they receive some compenstion for the inconvenience. Throuhout this hole process, which took a lot of my time on a beautiful London day, I had only one person at the hotel who apologized for the inconvenience. I was promised free wine in my room and other compensations by this person, but they did not manifest. I will NEVER try to stay at a Shaftesbury-related hotel in future. In 12 years of visiting London for work or pleasure, this is my worst experience.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't stay in a downstairs or ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmacken12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Metropolis London Hyde Park.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you on your arrival at our property. We are extremely sorry, however we had some issues with few rooms as they had to be taken out of order. We had no other option than to arrange an alternate accomodation for our guest's.

We can truly understand how annoying it must have been for you to go through a situation like this . We are all the more sorry to know that you were not at all pleased with the quality of room you stayed in at our sister property.

Our staff is very well trained to provide satisfactory service to all our guest's however ,we are very much dissapointed to know that you had no apology from their end except from one member of staff. We will share your concern among our team so that these errors are not repeated.

We do hope you will give us another oppurtunity to restore your trust in the Shaftesbury Group. I request you to kindly write to me prior to booking with us again as I will ensure you stay with us at our property .

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards
Sincerely
Aparna
dm@shaftesburymetropolitan.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I had originally been booked into the Best Western Premier Shaftesbury Kensington (which now appears to be called the Park Grand Kensington) and while on arrival it was clear there was some renovation ongoing as a number of workmen were around, it was nothing that concerned me. I was checked in, my credit card was taken then was told I could not stay at that hotel due to the renovations and was being moved. The hotel I was to be moved to was in an entirely different part of the city and I had specifically chosen the Kensington hotel as it was close to a number of attractions I wanted to visit and other arrangements I had made. There had been no communication previously to indicate this might be the case and when I pointed out the inconvenience to the staff was met with blank stares. I very much got the impression that this move was not for negotiation and if I didn't go I would have no room for the night. I reluctantly left and was nearly in tears when I got into my room. It was small, grubby, very old fashioned and the furniture was scratched, marked and generally shabby. The fridge barely fitted into the cupboard and on opening it I then had to use considerable force to close it again. The room was extremely hot despite having had the air conditioning on for a couple of hours and eventually discovered it had been pre-set at reception so any controls I used in the room were useless. It was apparently a "club room" so I hate to think what an standard room would have been like. As I was only going to be there 1 night and it was just a place to sleep I put up with it but it was an extremely unsatisfactory experience and I would think very carefully before booking a Best Western again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hilary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Metropolis London Hyde Park.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you due to the transfer situation which was quite unfortunate.

We are extremely sorry to know that the room you stayed in was not upto what you excepted it to be. I request you to kindly forward me the room number so that we can take necessary steps to rectify the flaws. Guest's feedback is always taken into consideration and we strive hard towards improving the shortcomings noticed by our valued guest's.

Awaiting your response in regards to the room number you stayed in. Please feel free to write to me on my below mentioned email address. We do hope you will give us another oppurtunity to restore your trust in the Shaftesbury Group.

Kind Regards
Sincerely
dm@shaftesburymetropolitan.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Best Western Plus Delmere Hotel
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#212 of 1,069 in London
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Darlington Hyde Park
#223 of 1,069 in London
2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park

Property: Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park
Address: 78-84 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UH, England (Formerly Royal Sussex Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#241 Luxury Hotel in London
#370 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park Hotel London
Shaftesbury Metropolis Hotel London
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing