We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegan Dinner”

Jhenn of the Vegan Ronin
This is not a restaurant; it is a unique dining experience hosted by a local chef in their home. Local chefs are vetted by EatWith.
Book in advance
Enjoy a unique dining experience
Price range: $15 - $40
Restaurant details
Reviewed May 9, 2017

Interesting event. Very nice hosts. New experience having vegan Japanese food. Recommend to try also for not vegan people.

Date of visit: May 2017
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank siv_carlsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 53 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2017 via mobile

I saw Vegan Ronin on my fb feed and was intrigued so nervously booked macaroni night as it coincided with my husbands birthday. I was tired of the usual yearly restaurant meal and the same conversations.
I am more than glad that I did book this as it was way beyond my expectations!
First off Jhenn and her partner Ed are two of the warmest, kindest and entertaining hosts you could wish for. The food was plenteous, fresh, super delicious, lovingly made and presented beautifully. My non vegan sister in law who also came totally loved it and is eager to attend their Japanese food nights.
Luckily all the guests were really sweet and once we had all got over our initial awkwardness we were all interacting and genuinely laughing loudly.
Jhenn had made a gorgeous very tasty birthday cake for my husband and gone to great lengths to make it so special! It was a surreal and life affirming moment having 10 strangers singing happy birthday to him!
This was a real breath of fresh air in what can be a lonely city where we have limited opportunities to spend face to face time with complete strangers without suspicion or fear.
I do highly recommend you experience the numerous supper nights that Jhenn and Ed host! There is something for everyone.

Thank you so much guys!

Love from Julia, Martin & Linda xxx

Date of visit: April 2017
2  Thank Junalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2017

Jhenn and Ed are the most wonderful hosts. The food is always amazing and meeting new people in such an intimate setting is a very rewarding experience. I can’t recommend Jhenn’s supper clubs enough! Whether you are vegan or not the food is delicious and it is such good value for money.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank bridgethanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2017

Our lunch was perfect, the barman were fantastic full of information and it was a real pleasure being served by them. Well worth a visit.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2016 via mobile

Jhenn's Japanese supper club was an absolute joy. The selection of dishes for the starter in particular was a taste sensation. I had never tried koya dofu before and it just burst with flavour. They are excellent hosts.

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank Elisecerise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jhenn of the Vegan Ronin also viewed

 

Been to Jhenn of the Vegan Ronin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
$USD
United States
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.