We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stupid 3% tip... don't sign too fast!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of No. Ten Manchester Street

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
No. Ten Manchester Street
Ranked #208 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stupid 3% tip... don't sign too fast!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2010

Found this hotel on lastminute.com, and paid half price for it. I would never have paid full price for what we recieved, but the hotel was worth what we paid for. Upon arrival you have to sit for 20 minutes and fill out your life story on a form and then sign on the bottom... once you are finished you get asked.."oh, are you aware of what you signed?".. this is never a good question to be asked, have I just signed over a first born or something?? OF course there was small print saying we authorize a 3% daily tip for the staff.. but he assured me it was not that expensive and not that big of a deal.. great, so if I take it back how cheap do I look... bugger.

The room was small but nice, great bed and would have had a wonderful sleep if it had not been for a service door that kept slamming every 5 minutes starting at 6 am every morning, not great when you're on vacation and wanting to sleep in.

The bathroom was great although bath fan was not working. Tv was great.

BEWARE!!! When we got home and checked our bill we had an extra 20 pound charge on our credit card... good thing we checked our bill because after we called them we found out they thought we took a coke and a small bottle of wine from our mini bar... which we definitely did not!

Front desk staff was a little cold, could cheer up a bit!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbugs31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanoLodi, General Manager at No. Ten Manchester Street, responded to this review, October 27, 2010
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. I will share your comments with the members of my team and work together to solve the issues you have commented. My apologies of course if you have experienced some inconveniences during your stay.

As per the 3% accomodation service charge, please note that is a tip that is shared in between the members of staff, and it is purely discretionaly to pay it or not.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    216
    66
    22
    15
See reviews for
84
355
60
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2010

We arrived in London from Paris at about 9:30 and took the tube to a station near the hotel. We then grabbed a taxi and got dropped off at 10 Manchester Street. There was a front desk person who greeted us warmly but no one to help us with our bags up the stairs or to the room. We booked this hotel on a discount site (booking.com) for aprox 150 pounds/night
The hotel was quaint and posh. Very small but help high standards in quality etc. Check-in took forever. We arrived with friends and for both of us to get checked in took well over a half hour. We were also told that by signing the check in form we were agreeing to a 3% gratuity charge and we had to also leave a 50pound per day deposit that would be refunded upon departurre. Our rooms were the "superior" rooms and were TINY!! We could not get our suitcases around the bed and actually had to haul them up and over the bed to make space. The rooms were very nice just very very small. The bathroom was clean as well but nothing special. I have to say that I was expecting more from a 4/5 star hotel.
Prices for anything in the hotel were crazy so we touched nothing. We even asked for a taxi to be called for us when checking out because we needed to go to train station. They said they could call a car service for us but not a taxi...we we just hauled our bags outside (no help offered again) and down the stairs by ourselves and hailed a taxi on the street without any problems.
I like a nice hotel, dont get me wrong, but I this one could use a little work in customer service. The location was very good but in all honesty
I would probebly not stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kodaloa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

Nicely situated about 10mins from Baker ST underground. Also 10 minute walk to top of Oxford ST.
Rooms were nice bright and air, very modern. Breakfast was slow to come but very nice when it did arrive. As another reviewer said we were a bit disapointed that after arriving back at the hotel in the evening we were unable to go out onto the cigar terrace and have a drink.
Overall though the hotel was a pleasent stay and i would stay there again

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewbsLill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2010

Booked from LastMinute.com. Advertised as a 5 star boutique hotel. Stayed in a superior double room.

1. It's not a 5 star hotel.
2. The superior room is very tiny, there's almost no room to move.
3. Beware of hidden charges. There's an additional service charge and also they take 50 GBP per day as a deposit. When you checked out we were told that the deposit will be refunded after 5 days. This is insane! We just got back home yesterday so I still haven't got our money back. BTW they won't tell you about these charges when you check in.
4. They have cheap toiletries. The ink label rubs off from the container when you use it.
5. The lift is very small. Will barely fit 2 adults with small luggage. And it only goes up. you have to take the stairs to go down.

I will not use them again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RSE73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2010

Great location but room was tiny and breakfast very expensive. Staff were great, very helpful. Very funky furniture.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FF0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

My husband and eldest son aged 18 and I stayed here on Friday of the August Bank Holiday on a last minute break when we got tickets for the Lords Test Match for the Saturday. We couldnt find much that wasnt going to break the bank and in the end Superbreak found us this hotel for £129 per room with full breakfast. Tucked away in manchester Street, a stones throw from Baker Street and marylebone High Street, its really convenient for most of central london.
When we arrived there were a lot of people in the small hall which acts as the reception, so we dropped our bags and went for lunch in the very small but nicely decorated lounge/restaurant. While we were there, the staff asked our name and checked our room which wasnt yet available. Lunch took a while to come and was nice but I have to say for £9.00 the croque monsieurs were the tiniest I had ever seen! When we'd finished our room was not ready so we chose to go out - my husband on business and my son and I to Camden market! The reception staff were helpful with maps, advice on tubes etc.
We arrived back and found check in to be very easy and that they had upgraded us to a junior suite, and my son to a standard double. The suite was really lovely -see photos on website -with sofa and central tv in the middle of the room and a good sized double bed. Nice touches with a Nespresso machine and cpasules, electric curtains etc. The shower room was nice and the drench shower large and very invigorating - although it did leak all over the floor! The bed was really comfortable with a mattress toppet which was so soft. Sadly as we were at the front of the hotel and on the ground floor, we were woken early with lots of chatting in the street and noisy delivery vans. Breakfast was nice but very slow and as we were in a hurry to get to the cricket we left without my husband having had his egg benedict!!
However it is a really nice little hotel, in a nice location, with a few local pubs nearby and the restaurants and nice shops of Marylebone High street a very short walk away. We also managed to walk it back from Lords in about 20 minutes to pick up our luggage, primarily due to a lack of taxis! The front room staff were very good and helpful. Shame their is no proper bar, and the restaurant tried a bit too hard and was quite slow.
I would however stay again at the right price!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMDBirminghamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

Ten Manchester Street - I was uncertain whether to write a review because I've since tried to go back and it was booked out. Seems too many other people love this place too.

Just off Marylebone High Street, the is an outstanding boutique hotel. The rooms are very well laid out and beautifully appointed.

The staff are understated, but exceptionally helpful. Haven't tried the restaurant but the cigar bar out the back is relaxed and casual.

It's a great location with Michelin starred restaurants literally around the corner, Marylebone High Street is a gem (patisseries, bars, restaurants, homewares shops, London's best fromagerie) and the Wallace Collection is a 5 minute walk away, as is Baker Street tube.

No Ten is one of my 2 favourite places to stay in London.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wilbur101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#120 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#51 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,317 reviews
Marylebone
The Mandeville Hotel
The Mandeville Hotel
#215 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#277 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Marylebone
Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London
Marylebone
The Sumner Hotel
The Sumner Hotel
#140 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. Ten Manchester Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. Ten Manchester Street

Property: No. Ten Manchester Street
Address: 10 Manchester Street, London W1U 4DG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#133 Family Hotel in London
#158 Luxury Hotel in London
#166 Business Hotel in London
#179 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — No. Ten Manchester Street 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten Manchester Street is a boutique hotel in Marylebone with 45 unique bedrooms housed in a beautiful Edwardian building.The hotel is located within 5 minutes walking distance of Baker Street station and 10 minutes walking from Oxford street and Bond Street station.Ten Manchester Street Hotel also boasts a walk-in 'Hunters & Frankau' designed humidor, all-weather cigar terrace and a Cigar Shop and indoor Tasting Room, offering a comprehensive range of hand-rolled Havanas plus many other famous Cuban marques.Our exclusive Dieci Restaurant, serving modern Italian cuisine, is the perfect place to relax and enjoy yourself with rare fine wines and a selection of menus, including our famous Afternoon Tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your No. Ten Manchester Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No. Ten Manchester Street Hotel London
No. 10 Manchester Street
No. Ten Manchester Street London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing