We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant stay”
Review of Wimbledon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wimbledon Hotel
Ranked #714 of 1,069 Hotels in London
herefordshire
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“pleasant stay”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed for one night whilst attending an olympic event. I would say this is a guest house rather than a hotel, the rooms were clean and a good size the bathroom was well appointed with a good shower. We found the beds very comfortable and had a good nights sleep although the hotel is on a busy road. Parking was available and it was a 5 min walk into Wimbledon town. The breakfast provided was very nice and served by friendly staff. In all a very nice stay, i would not really call it a boutique hotel its more boutique style, but i would stay again.

Room Tip: ask for room at back as the road at the front is busy 24 hours a day
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ylaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    28
    27
    18
    9
See reviews for
25
32
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

The Hotel is very nice, the room was very comfortable, and the staff was very friendly.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank LauranceMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Apart from no one there when we arrived, there was a phone no to ring for access.
Our room was very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was also very good.
The staff were very charming and polite.
We would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denis h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for three nights while attending a family funeral. Myself, sister and three elderly aunts were treated very well and sensitively due to our sad circumstances. Our rooms were appointed to suit each of our needs and were immaculately clean. Memory mattress and pillows were really comfortable. Breakfast was freshly cooked and of good quality ingredients. Unlimited tea, coffee and toast was served by Sandra who was a breath of fresh air who could not do enough for us. Jay the owner made us feel like we were staying in a home. It was a guest house so perhaps it's name could mislead those expecting a lounge, bar etc but this was not a problem for us. I always stay in large hotels but will Definately be rethinking this in future. I hope to return in happier times and would highly recommend this to anyone wishing to stay in Wimbeldon.

Room Tip: Look on comprehensive website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bessum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Stayed for one night and the hotel is clean and in a greta location. A little noisy as on the main road and no double-glazing but perfectly adequate for one night.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicolaJShu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

I have stayed in several hotels/B&Bs in the Wimbledon area and found the Wimbledon Hotel to be the best. It has a more homely feel than most and the standard of the room I had was excellent, especially the divine memory foam mattress and pillows. Staff are very friendly and accommodating, my only criticism would be that the breakfast could be a lot better. Will definitely stay again, and would highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for one night very recently and booked online. On arrival we were charged a slightly different price from the one quoted on the booking and given a different style of room. As my husband and I arrived at different times we did not realise the mistake until late that evening. Unfortunately the hotel has limited reception cover so no-one was available to speak to about this. To add to all of this, on arrival my husband was greeted by someone who opened the door but did not speak at all and just left him standing there!

The rooms are over-crowded with furniture that serves little purpose other than aesthetics and made it difficult for two of us to move around and get to one side of the bed. The room was also quite hot and, due to the large piece of furniture in front of the window, it was difficult to ventilate it. The rooms also lack any bedside lighting so you cannot read in bed. The bathroom is adequate but strangely they give you a bottle of handwash instead of shower gel - not very boutique!

Unfortunately the hoise created by other guests moving around is bad. Not the fault of the guest but simply due to very creaky floorboards and obviously no carpeting to muffle sound so we endured a very bad night's sleep.

We left the hotel very early so missed breakfast (which is charged at GBP7 per person) but it sounds like we did not miss much given the reviews on here.

I wrote a review of our stay at the hotel as requested by the owners but to date no-one has bothered to contact me nor have they posted it on their site, which is understandable, but clearly there is little point in providing them with feedback.

Wimbledon doesn't have a great number of hotels (Antoinette is probably the only similarly priced one) so you are limited by choice but there are better options nearby than the Wimbledon Hotel and not worth the GBP95 we paid.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon
#452 of 1,069 in London
515 reviews
Wimbledon
Hotel du Vin Wimbledon
Hotel du Vin Wimbledon
#540 of 1,069 in London
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Warren House
#2 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
812 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wimbledon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wimbledon Hotel

Property: Wimbledon Hotel
Address: 78 Worple Road | Wimbledon, London SW19 4HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#381 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wimbledon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Wimbledon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wimbledon Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing