We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great alternative to hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atelier EC1 by BridgeStreet Worldwide
Ranked #124 of 923 Specialty Lodging in London
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed at the Strand Palace hotel on business the previous week, I was delighted to come across Atelier EC1 as an alternative. Although my corporate travel agent had made a mistake in the booking, the receptionist was friendly and helpful in sorting out the problem overnight.

My room was a large studio on the second floor, with a kitchen and en-suite bathroom. The kitchen was reasonably well-equipped, with a combination grill, microwave and oven plus a small dishwasher and clearly brand new pans, cutlery and crockery. I could have done with some small bowls for breakfast etc, but not a problem.

The double bed was large and comfortable. Air conditioning was a bit noisy. Television reception was limited to BBC1 and 2 plus Sky Sport, surely a ridiculously limited offering even if I had had been able to find all ten or so channels listed in the excellent guest manual.

My biggest gripe, however, was the excessive charge for internet access, charged individually for each device (laptop or phone) and costing me £28 for 7 days, for example. Clearly business travellers are the main target audience. Telephone signal on my iphone was consistently poor throughout my 4-night stay, so there was little alternative in that respect.

My room was opposite a restaurant, with pubs and Farringdon rail and Underground stations right on the corner. It was nevertheless quiet and largely undisturbed at night. Several small supermarkets (Tesco, Sainsbury), pubs and restaurants are on the doorstep. Atelier EC1 is in a central location for both the City and West End, although possibly better for business travellers than tourists.

The room had two large wardrobes with trouser press, safe and ironing equipment. The bathroom was smart and reasonably sized, with two separate handheld shower heads over a bath. There was plenty of shelf space, which is not always the case in hotels.

Once I had checked in, the room was left to me for the duration of my stay without the bed being made, room tidied or bins being emptied. This is different from various other serviced apartments I stay in (in Manchester). I guess it's a matter of personal preference. The three separate recycling bins had me baffled, with no explanation given in the manual.

Atelier EC1 is a great alternative to hotels for business travellers visiting the City. It is spacious, excellent value for money and very private. Recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nunneylocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 68 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed for two nights in the studio apartment whilst working in London on business. The design of the apartments is very stylish and classy. However, I am going to start this review by listing a series of negatives (which is unusual for me)!

The room itself was very nice indeed and very well appointed, but they really need to have a word with the cleaner! The bin had not been emptied from the previous occupant, the rug was covered in biscuit crumbs so clearly hadn't been hoovered and the bathroom had a number of 'personal' hairs around the sink and w.c. The picture on the wall had a hole in it and a number of the items of furniture had chunks out of them where things had clearly been bashed in to them. All of this took the gloss off of what was otherwise a lovely apartment!

The reception is manned by a single person, which is fine unless they are showing another arrival to their room, in which case you have to stand outside (whatever the weather) until they return as you cannot gain access to the lobby area (until you have checked in and got your keycard). When I went to check out, there was no one at reception and despite waiting for 15 minutes no-one appeared and so I had to just leave to meet my client.

There was also a generator in the vacinity so unless you are a sound sleeper, take ear plugs!

Having griped about all of the above I would say that I actually enjoyed the stay and it was better than most hotels. I wasn't bothered that the room wasn't cleaned daily as it made it feel a bit more private (if you see what I mean). The bathroom was fairly luxurious and the apartment had a dishwasher, washing machine, mini hob and microwave. The bed was comfortable and the television swivelled so you could watch it in bed or in the lounge area equally easily. Apart from the aforementioned generator, it was very quite despite being in a bustling area of London!

The location really is ideal. Two minutes walk from Farringdon underground/main line railway station. There are numerous places to eat nearby (I recommend KIN in Leather Lane) and is two minutes walk from a Sainsbury's local and Tesco Express if you are catering for yourself. All required utensils to cater for yourself are also present in the apartment.

Would I stay again? Yes I would....if the owners could just pay some attention to the minor annoyances I mentioned (mainly regarding cleaning), it would be the perfect stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LoneWolf153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I have been in any kind of apartment hotel, and I can tell that this one is really good.
The place is conveniently located (of course you cannot expect much to see around during the night as it is really in the city) the rooms are quite big, the furniture seems new, and you are provided with many items (fridge, washmachine, dishwasher, etc..)so that you can have a pleasant stay at their place.
Their staff is very helpful and their are always eager to help you with any question or need you have.
I am really pleased with the apartment hotel and very probably I will stay at the same place the next time I'll be visiting London.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jean michel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

booked last minute, local parking at NCP just around the corner. Was met by a very friendly and polite consierge/doorman who showed us to the apartment and talked us through the facilities etc. Didnt expect a welcome pack but this was a great surprise, nice goodies including fresh orange, tea, coffee, cokes, milk, cookies ........!

Loved the setting, loved the apartment, great location and will be booking again in the future, was fab.

Room Tip: Linen and duvets, bedroom style provided a really good nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Me and my boyfriend booked this place very last minute through Late Rooms at a very reasonable price.

Its location is great, 2 minutes from Farrington tube and very easy to find.

The reception is manned 24hrs but after the initial checking in they allow you privacy unless you require their assistance. We utilised them for taxis, directions and umbrella loans and found them to be very accommodating. We were also upgraded from our studio to a one bedroom upon arrival which was very much appreciated!

The apartment was clean, modern and had everything you could need. There was a large power shower and bath with constant hot water and the usual hairdryer and iron to be found in hotels.

There is a Tesco and a Sainsburys minutes round the corner which is handy for stocking up on alcohol and nibbles.

This was a great find at a great price and we would not hesitate to recommend staying here, in fact we are intending to stay here again in the very near future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JKHBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We have stayed at Atelier three times in recent years, for three weeks each time. We needed a place close to the LSE, with Air Con and high quality facilities. Atelier has delivered on all accounts. While the location is a little bland, it is quiet and central enough that you can walk to the West End and City. The Underground is close. The units themselves are executive quality, spacious and quiet. 24 hour concierge service is nice. Very secure building. We will stay there again when in London for extended periods

Room Tip: Better to have a room facing the Bleeding Heart. Other side has motorbikes at 6AM
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsimke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

If you are looking for comfortable, good quality accommodation in London and you don,t mind not having bar and restaurant facilities on site, then you can't go wrong with these apartments. Clean, spacious and very well equipped. We rented an apartment whilst attending the recent London 2012 Olympic games and found the experience a very positive one. The place is convenient for underground and overground transport and has plenty of pubs, cafes and restaurants nearby. Highly recommended. Booked via a third party website and considered it good value for London accommodation of this standard.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
BridgeStreet Circus Apartments
Clerkenwell
The Rosebery Aparthotel
The Rosebery Aparthotel
#35 of 923 in London
127 reviews
City of London
Suffolk Lane by BridgeStreet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
The King's Wardrobe Serviced Apartments by BridgeStreet
Bloomsbury
SACO Holborn - Lamb's Conduit St
City of London
SACO - The Cannon
SACO - The Cannon
#3 of 923 in London
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atelier EC1 by BridgeStreet Worldwide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atelier EC1 by BridgeStreet Worldwide

Address: 30 Greville Street, London EC1N 8AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Holborn
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 923 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $184 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atelier EC1 by BridgeStreet Worldwide 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atelier EC1 by BridgeStreet is a new five star, environmentally friendly apartment development based in the heart of London's thriving 'Jewellery Quarter', near the City of London. Atelier EC1 offers a luxurious contemporary setting for the most discerning business traveller. This building has 24 stylish studios, one and two-bedroom apartments and penthouses. All these boutique apartments are fitted out to the highest specification through-out with air conditioning, flat screen TV's, iPod docking stations and all have high specification kitchens and beautiful bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Atelier EC1 by BridgeStreet Worldwide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atelier Ec1 By Bridgestreet Worldwide Hotel London
Atelier EC1 By BridgeStreet Worldwide London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing