We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for money!”
Review of Central Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Central Hostel
Ranked #600 of 908 Specialty Lodging in London
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

It was just a stop off place before we jetted around the world for our gap year! The location & price were its biggest plus points I feel! It was our only hostel experience in the uk ! So nothing to base it on unfortunately! But the staff were helpful! It's an older building but has character ! When we land back on London will probably head back purely because it's cheap & cheerful :)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cearlbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 170 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

Got there at 2 gave us a key to a full room where we pissed everyone off soon as we popped the light on. Got it sorted tho. No lockers which was kinda sketchy. It is in a good location and its cheap so I guess you get what u pay for.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IMM1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

so, we've booked this hostel without looking at the reviews and everything because it was very cheap. it was less than 40 pounds for three nights in zone 1 in London in the middle of the highest season (August) and we thought it was worth booking it just because it was so cheap.

a few weeks before we went to London I started checking the reviews here, on TripAdvisor and on HostelWorld and after all the reading I was quite terrified in which place I will have to sleep for three nights - I was afraid of unclean sheets, bad toilets, noisy people, practically everything.

we came to London on Thursday evening and quickly found the hostel. the receptionist was very nice, although she wasn't English, her English was okay to understand (not perfect but okay, good enough). we were put in a mixed dorm room with six other people. the beds were okay, although they were really noisy and moving a lot when you climbed up the bunk but they were very decent to sleep in. the sheets were okay and smelled okay but anyways I slept in my sleeping bag. the toilets and showers were clean and we had no problems with queues or anything.

the hostel could've been better but overall it was okay, especially for the amount of money we paid for.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cup0ftea_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I stayed here with three friends for four nights and we were very happy with the hostel. The service is not amazing, nothing is new but it's really inexpensive, so what do people expect? Having stayed at other hostels before, I must say that this is probably the best one I've ever stayed at. It's quite clean, the beds are ok if not fantastic, the staff is relatively helpful and polite, the place feels safe and the rooms are not so congested that you can't move around. This is not the Plaza but if you want a really cheap stay in London at a really great location then this is a very good possibility!
Now, the hostel can be a little hard to find because you have to enter through the basement and they don't have a great big sign but if you know how, it's not a problem. Coming from Bayswater or Queensqay station, go left and turn left again at Moscow Rd, when you get to a Laundrette turn right, you'll find the hostel on the righ-hand side, easy peasy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lonestar1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed here due to the location and price. Wanted somewhere cheap as wanted to explore London not a room. Opted for a private room for my friend and I and got a four bed room with ensuite and lovely view of the park at the rear of the property. It does what it says on the tin and brilliant for a overnight stay. I would certainly stay again. The gentleman at reception was friendly and imformative as well.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pcarman861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The only good thing about this place is the location. To get to reception, you have to go down steep, narrow stairs. Then to get up to your room you have to go up flights and flights of stairs. Inside the hostel it is extremely creepy. I stayed in the private room with 2 single beds, the bedding was disgusting with stains all over it. I had no idea where the bathrooms were. I went down several flights of stairs and finally found one, and the toilet didn't work. I didn't dare try to shower or anything. I slept with the lights on because I was afraid I was going to get attacked. I left as soon as I could the next morning. The staff is rude and not helpful at all. I do not recommend that you stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cvillegrl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The only one good thing I can say about it is location.
Rooms are tiny, messy and with no lockers, shelves or even chairs. Cold water running from the tap.
Breakfast for 1.5Pound consist of cereal, milk, toast bread and margarin.Kitchen smells.
there was terribly cold at reception, kitchen and in the rooms. My advice; don't even try thinking about staying there. It is better to pay 2-3 Pounds more per night and feel more comfortable than putting up with unfriendly guests.

Room Tip: basement room is cold and noisy (near reception)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Kensington Gardens Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel
#412 of 1,076 in London
305 reviews
Notting Hill
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#614 of 1,076 in London
466 reviews
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#360 of 1,076 in London
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
London House Hotel
London House Hotel
#316 of 1,076 in London
2,322 reviews
Queen Elizabeth Chelsea
#295 of 908 in London
166 reviews
London Backpackers
#170 of 908 in London
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hostel

Address: 26 Princes Square | Bayswater, London W2 4NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Hotel Style:
Ranked #600 of 908 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $16 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Central Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Central Hostel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing