We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the long stay over there!”
Review of Central Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Central Hostel
Ranked #567 of 862 Specialty Lodging in London
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Avoid the long stay over there!”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

I live outside london, and my partner and me when we know we will go to a party in central london, we book a room in a hostel in london.We did 3,4 differents hostels and this one its the worst!! we had a shower in the room but just separated from the bed by a curtain.toilets (which are outside)really bad.For the kitchen dont even think about cook something other there,its very,very bad!Ieverything was old and not clean at all.I'ts really bad

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bistoufly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    22
    40
    40
    62
See reviews for
10
18
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago de Compostela, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

we thought this place okay but a few days into our stay, a girl found bed bugs. The housekeeper apologized and said he is always fighting them and the manager refused to give a refund. Horrible place, barely clean and never had handsoap in the bathrooms. the only saving grace was the friendly staff but they didnt really know london because they were from out of town.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aflauber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Llanelli, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Ignore the horror stories - this is a perfectly acceptable hostel, handy for central London on the tube. Reception staff seem a bit chaotic but otherwise reasonably clean and comfortable. Would stay here again to save a few quid.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carwyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Although quite close to the tube station and a computer available to use for a cost, the hostel itself was disappointing as it's in desperate need of a renovation. There was missing carpeting in my room, the balcony door wouldn't close properly, and the sheets smelled of cigarettes. An employee was not familiar with local street names or shops when I inquired about the area. I would definitely be choosing another hostel next time around.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerr378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2011

First things first, when my friends and I just arrived, we had to wait for the receptionist to finish her shift. Which is at 2pm, the time they themselves set for checking in. Shouldn't they have changed shift before the check in time?

Then we were given 2 separate rooms even though we made our group booking together. We even showed our booking but the manager couldn't put us together. Not what we paid for.

The shower in the room is essentially, just a shower itself. Not a separate small room for a shower and a toilet, but a shower in the room.

The rooms are small, but typical of london accomodations. Toilets are outside the dorms. They're quite clean though. No breakfast, except coffee and tea. If you do want breakfast, be ready to pay 1.50.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisfong89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

If you book a room with friends be ready to be split up as bookkeeping skills are non-existent here.
Positive thing is because the same owner runs the Hostel 369, you can just request to be moved so that they give you the service you booked, and if its their mistake they will drive you.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chughes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gurgaon
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

Its a nice budget hotel situated in the heart of London.

Considering the price, service & rooms were nice, though toilets left much to be desired.

This place has some very good fast food joint & restaurant nearby, plus all major tourist attraction at a walking distance.

But not a bad experience at all.

Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
16 Thank shahzadyusuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
New Linden Hotel
New Linden Hotel
#598 of 1,068 in London
742 reviews
Notting Hill
Gallery Hyde Park Hostel
Gallery Hyde Park Hostel
#506 of 862 in London
108 reviews
Queen Elizabeth Chelsea
#240 of 862 in London
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Home London
#482 of 862 in London
262 reviews
Marylebone
Phoenix Hostel
Phoenix Hostel
#160 of 862 in London
282 reviews
Bloomsbury
Clink261 Hostel
Clink261 Hostel
#62 of 862 in London
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hostel

Property: Central Hostel
Address: 26 Princes Square | Bayswater, London W2 4NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Hotel Style:
Ranked #567 of 862 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Central Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Central Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hostel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing