We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast lost the 5th Star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel London Paddington
Ranked #263 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel when we went to a concert at Wembley. Easy to find from the station, the hotel is in a little oasis of London - very clean, quiet and gated. Sainsburys mini market, Starbucks, a pub, pizza restaurant and couple of others on the doorstep as well as the hotel restaurant. A large grassed seating area is a really nice touch. We arrived at midday, as the room wasn't going to be ready until 2pm we left our case and went to get some lunch. The room was lovely, very clean and spacious. We were on the side that looked onto the office block next door - luckily we were on the end so we didn't have just the side of the building in front of us. Staff were friendly. The reason they lost a star, if I could give a half they would get 3.5 not 4, was due to breakfast. We were not told about breakfast when we checked in, and to be honest I didn't even think about it at the time. When we got back from our concert I checked the brochure in the room which said that breakfast is served until midday - perfect....not. We got to breakfast at about 10.30, had juice and toast then went to get a cooked breakfast to find it being cleared away - at 11am. I questioned what was happening, and apparently it used to be served until midday but no longer. We were offered what was left - a couple of sausages which looked ok, some of it had already gone, no mushrooms left etc. Raised it with reception when I checked out and was told it would be reported to the Manager, not sure what has happened, but check the times! Such a shame as it had been perfect up until that point, and as the price includes breakfast I feel very cheated. If you are a solo traveller, bear in mind that we went back to the hotel at 11.45pm and the place was deserted.

Room Tip: Not looking onto the building next door
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkVen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelpaddington, General Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Many thanks for your review. I was pleased to read you enjoyed the hotel.
I am sorry you felt let down by the breakfast hours. We operate breakfast from 6am to 10am during the week and from 7am to 11am on week ends and bank holidays.
Whilst those are the timings, we always show flexibility and will always be happy to accommodate someone coming just after the closing time to enjoy an a la carte breakfast in the bar to ensure you can have a tasty breakfast.
This obviously did not happen and I have shared your comments with my team to ensure that there is always sufficient food on the buffet until closure time.

I look forward to welcoming you again soon and hopefully to regain the 5th star with a very good breakfast,

Kind regards,

Guillaume Rapin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,472)
There are newer reviews for Novotel London Paddington
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

962 - 968 of 2,472 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel is a nice change from the rest available around Paddington, which are typically converted town houses and thus low on space, amenities and, often, air con. The Novotel is a modern building in a business park just at the rear of Paddington, so only a 5 minute walk with bags. The area is pleasant and has a nice grassed ampitheatre for office workers to sit in, as well as having a few restaurants and a small Sainsburys.

The hotel itself is lovely. The rooms are standard identikit fare -including the classic Novotel separate toilet and bathrooms- but clean and modern. The atrium is large, light and airy and the staff are friendly and efficient. There is a lovely swimming pool on site which is great for when you get back after a hard days sightseeing and a well equipped gym.

It's nice to see there are a couple of iMacs in reception that you can use to look up places you are going to but problems getting onto them leads to my only negative comment. As a Novotel you do get quite a high proportion of French guests who do have a different view on manners to British people. Just cultural differences but can irk sometimes.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vurtual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelpaddington, General Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Many thanks for your positive review.
I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you again soon,

Kind regards,

Guillaume Rapin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights in July. Easy to find from Paddington station. Very clean and safety district. Very good breakfast with friendly service. Fast check inn and check out. Quiet and space room and comfortable bed. Both bathtub and shower in the bathroom and a separate toilet.
We got an early booking discount and paid therefore half of the normal fare, 111 pound per night. It was worth what we paid for it. I would recommend to stay there.

Tip: If possible, use Hammersmith & City line if you arrive at Paddington by underground. There are good signs to the hotel and the entry is only 300 meter from the hotel. The Circle line and Bakerloo line entries are much more farther (even 1 km walk).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mika7275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelpaddington, General Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Many thanks for your positive review and the detailed feedback on the best station to use to get to the hotel. You are absolutely right: if you can choose the Hammermsith and City line to stop at Paddington, you are only a very short walk away from the hotel entrance.

I very much look forward to welcoming you again soon,

Kind regards,

Guillaume Rapin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Well located hotel just a few minute walk to Paddington Central, Heathrow Express train and Paddington Underground. Also close to bus routes. The Hotel is part of new business park setting with a couple of local restaurants, a mini supermarket, Starbucks and dry cleaner at the your doorstep. We styed here as our base for 2 weeks exploring central London and found the staff extremely welcoming, the room clean and quite and well serviced. Room service was above standard for this type of hotel. The only very, very minor drawback was that the pillows were a bit hard. I have read some of the other reviews about "difficult to find" and"' hard getting my cases the hotel".....I don't know where these people went as my wife and I found the hotel direction easy to follow and had not trouble pulling our cases to the hotel. Once you get out of Paddington Station you are basically on flat paved surface all the way to the hotel. I would recommend a stay here and will go back there on my next trip. No complaints a great place. A little tip...we booked and paid for our accommodation a few months in advance a got a huge saving on the advertised room rate.

Room Tip: If you're staying for an extended period ask for a room at the end of the corridor away fro the...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelbourneArchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelpaddington, General Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
I am really pleased to read you enjoyed the hotel and its location and that you found it a perfect base to explore London.

Many thanks again for staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you again when you next visit London,

Kind regards,

Guillaume Rapin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
Chepstow, United Kingdom
1
Reviewed July 4, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
novotelpaddington, General Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Not to difficult to find, we booked in and were offered an upgrade for £15 which we accepted. The room needed to be made up to a 3 bedroom which we were informed would be done later that afternoon.
Nice room plenty of space. We went out and returned at about 5.30. The room had not been made into a room for 3 people. We had a member of the reception team walk into the room without any notice. Then reception rang twice checking who we were and when we had arrived. House keeping interrupted us getting ready 3 times in half an hour.
When we arrived back late that evening the only evidence of a 3 person room was an extra bed.
Complained to reception as we checked out, they offered the £15 refund but couldn't do it and I would have to trust them because the supervisor was away.
Breakfast was lovely and the staff in there were very good.
Would go back as since this visit the hotel have contacted me and apologised and I am happy that they took note of my complaints. Hopefully my next review will be excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDKlancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelpaddington, General Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Many thanks for your review.
Again, as mentioned when I contacted you, I am truly sorry for the disruption caused during your stay.

I have discussed this extensively with my team to ensure that this does not happen again.

I am pleased to read that you woudl try us again and I am sure that your next experience with us will be much more pleasant,

Kind regards,

Guillaume Rapin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

What can I say? Comfortable beds, great food, great toiletries, a bathtub AND a shower, good wifi and helpful staff. I wish I could afford this hotel every time I traveled. One comment is that its location is actually tucked a bit far away down a cul de sac from Paddington Station. It's about a ten minute walk to the back end of the station (the Circle Line end). Many hotels are quite a bit closer to the station, if that is your need.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelpaddington, General Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Many thanks for your positive review of the hotel. I am very pleased to read that you enjoy all our facilities and I very much hope you will stay with us again soon,

Kind regards,

Guillaume Rapin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#221 of 1,072 in London
1,049 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Paddington
Hilton London Paddington
#410 of 1,072 in London
3,969 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#147 of 1,072 in London
2,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel London Paddington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London Paddington

Address: Sheldon Square 3 Kingdom Street, London W2 6BD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in London
#174 Family Hotel in London
#197 Luxury Hotel in London
#215 Romantic Hotel in London
#237 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $182 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London Paddington 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Novotel London Paddington is in the Paddington Central area, easily accessible by public transport and a few minutes' walk from Paddington Station (15 minute link to Heathrow Airport and great connection to all parts of London with 4 tube lines). Enjoy a shopping spree on Oxford Street or take a leisurely stroll to Hyde Park and Kensington Palace. All 206 rooms have free Wifi access and satellite TV. Our Elements restaurant and bar also offer a relaxed dining and drinking experience. The hotel has a swimming pool, sauna and fitness room for you to unwind after a long day exploring London. You can as well use our concierge services to book your tickets for the best West End shows or for numerous attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel London Paddington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London Paddington Hotel London
Accor London Paddington
Novotel London Paddington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing