We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but spoilt by poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel London Paddington
Ranked #255 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Not to difficult to find, we booked in and were offered an upgrade for £15 which we accepted. The room needed to be made up to a 3 bedroom which we were informed would be done later that afternoon.
Nice room plenty of space. We went out and returned at about 5.30. The room had not been made into a room for 3 people. We had a member of the reception team walk into the room without any notice. Then reception rang twice checking who we were and when we had arrived. House keeping interrupted us getting ready 3 times in half an hour.
When we arrived back late that evening the only evidence of a 3 person room was an extra bed.
Complained to reception as we checked out, they offered the £15 refund but couldn't do it and I would have to trust them because the supervisor was away.
Breakfast was lovely and the staff in there were very good.
Would go back as since this visit the hotel have contacted me and apologised and I am happy that they took note of my complaints. Hopefully my next review will be excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDKlancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelpaddington, General Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Many thanks for your review.
Again, as mentioned when I contacted you, I am truly sorry for the disruption caused during your stay.

I have discussed this extensively with my team to ensure that this does not happen again.

I am pleased to read that you woudl try us again and I am sure that your next experience with us will be much more pleasant,

Kind regards,

Guillaume Rapin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,008 - 1,014 of 2,527 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

What can I say? Comfortable beds, great food, great toiletries, a bathtub AND a shower, good wifi and helpful staff. I wish I could afford this hotel every time I traveled. One comment is that its location is actually tucked a bit far away down a cul de sac from Paddington Station. It's about a ten minute walk to the back end of the station (the Circle Line end). Many hotels are quite a bit closer to the station, if that is your need.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelpaddington, General Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Many thanks for your positive review of the hotel. I am very pleased to read that you enjoy all our facilities and I very much hope you will stay with us again soon,

Kind regards,

Guillaume Rapin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank GoldCoastOzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
novotelpaddington, General Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We are so pleased we tried this hotel (some other places we've stayed in the same area were extremely disappointing)! The location is behind Paddington station, so just a quick 5 minute walk around the back. This hotel is new, modern, very clean, and solidly built -zero noise from inside the rooms. I slept better here than in my own bed at home and this is unheard of for me, especially while traveling. The staff is very kind, welcoming and totally accommodating. The Elements restaurant in the hotel is also quite a find -fresh foods, organic produce, etc. We had a very delicious dinner there our first night after arriving late. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TobaniSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelpaddington, General Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for sharing your great experience with us. I am so pleased to read that you had such a great night sleep.

I look forward to welcoming you again soon,

Kind regards,

Guillaume Rapin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We wanted an hotel in the Paddington area of London so the Novotel seemed perfectly situated for us. After reading other reviews we decided to go for an Executive Room and we were glad we did , the room was fine but not that big with a very small bathroom and toilet.
The breakfast was a bit hectic but it was a Sunday morning and it was very busy, but that apart everything else about the hotel was good and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Pamath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelpaddington, General Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and the Executive room.
Our Executive rooms are roughly the same size than our Superior but are all located in upper floors and offer extras such as Nespresso Coffee machine or a Bose docking station for your ipod.

I hope you will choose to stay with us again,

Kind regards,

Guillaume Rapin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank InmaMadrid_Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
novotelpaddington, General Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Staying at the Novotel Paddington was a delight. The hotel staff was beyond friendly, helpful, and informative. The staff gave us some suggestions on restaurants and local places (trying to avoid the real hard core tourist stuff) that we should see. The hotel was a bit hard to find; however once we (my husband and I) figured out the location of the hotel it seemed like a brilliant location for a hotel. Its a brief walk to Paddington Station; from there the rest of London is easy access.
Our room was large, a surprise in comparison to other European hotel rooms. The room was clean, organized, bed was comfortable, and there was a nice size bath tub to relax in after a long days worth of walking. We did not get a chance to eat in the hotel restaurant however did get the chance to try few drinks; my husband was quite pleased with the selection of beers on tap.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in London. The hotel being in great condition and no complaints; just a simply thank you for a nice comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wolfiep85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelpaddington, General Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Many thanks for your positive review. I was really pleased to read you had such a great time whilst staying with us and that you enjoyed both the hotel itself and also its location.

I look forward to welcoming you again soon,

Kind regards,

Guillaume Rapin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#131 of 1,077 in London
2,393 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#159 of 1,077 in London
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Paddington
Hilton London Paddington
#413 of 1,077 in London
4,070 reviews
Novotel London Waterloo
#329 of 1,077 in London
3,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel London Paddington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London Paddington

Address: Sheldon Square 3 Kingdom Street, London W2 6BD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in London
#109 Family Hotel in London
#189 Luxury Hotel in London
#215 Romantic Hotel in London
#237 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $145 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London Paddington 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Novotel London Paddington is in the Paddington Central area, easily accessible by public transport and a few minutes' walk from Paddington Station (15 minute link to Heathrow Airport and great connection to all parts of London with 4 tube lines). Enjoy a shopping spree on Oxford Street or take a leisurely stroll to Hyde Park and Kensington Palace. All 206 rooms have free Wifi access and satellite TV. Our Elements restaurant and bar also offer a relaxed dining and drinking experience. The hotel has a swimming pool, sauna and fitness room for you to unwind after a long day exploring London. You can as well use our concierge services to book your tickets for the best West End shows or for numerous attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel London Paddington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London Paddington Hotel London
Accor London Paddington
Novotel London Paddington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing