We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great outside, poor inside” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel London Paddington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Novotel London Paddington
Ranked #238 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great outside, poor inside”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

The hotel looks stunning and modern on the outside, even the reception desk and the breakfast bar. But this is the end of the positives for me. The staff was unfriendly and demanded to take a deposit from the credit card even though I did not want to use a mini bar. The room was small, very dark and did not have any wardrobe! To add to this, the bathroom was the size of my luggage. I was very surprised the price charged for the room and how far the hotel was placed from the city centre. The only good thing was a convenient location to access the hotel from Heathrow Airport.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KM O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelpaddington, General Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for having taken the time to review the hotel. I am pleased to read you enjoyed the aesthetics of the hotel as well as the good connection to the airport.

As for the guarantee asked on arrival, this is a standard practice and I am sorry you felt offended. I have discussed this process with my team to ensure it is truly presented in a polite and professional manner.

I hope you will choose to stay with us again soon,

Kind regards

Guillaume Rapin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    912
    1,057
    239
    55
    31
See reviews for
941
545
135
416
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, Ca
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

If you're only in London for a couple of days and you want to use the Paddington Express to get to and from Heathrrow this hotel works nicely. It's a little tricky to find at first (especially at night) but it's an easyy enough walk to the stationn. It's a very moderrn hotel with zero charm but the rooms are nice and the bedding is comfortable. Staff were all friendly and the buffett breakfast is outstanding. Only real compllaint is the plumbing fixtures are so hip and modern they are a pain in the neck to use.Why new hotels put style over functionality never ceases to amaze me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Escritor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelpaddington, General Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Many thanks for your positive review about the hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and eventually found your way around Paddington to get to the hotel.
The easiest to find us is to follow directions from inside Paddington station to go to the Hammersmith and City line. From there, exit towards the canal and turn left to reach Sheldon Square. From there you can not see the Novotel.

I hope you will choose to stay with us again,

Kind regards,

Guillaume Rapin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this Hotel for two nights in the third week of April & then for five nights in the Second week of May 2013.
The Hotel is in an excellent location; about five minutes walk from the Paddington Station. So it is very convenient as the Underground & the British Rail Surface trains are easily accessible.
The room was spacious and had all the facilities, but ours over looked the Main Paddington Line. I am not complaining as we were not there for the view.
We found the Breakfast Buffet to be superb. A true English breakfast with Eggs, Bacon, Sausages & all what you can think of.
We did not have Lunch or Dinner at the Hotel Restaurant as there are plenty of places within 10 minutes walking, in or very close to the Paddington Station.
Overall it is a good Choice & well worth the money.
The free 20 minute Internet Access was an added bonus

Room Tip: Try to get a better view than the Main Railway Lines
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingsleyhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelpaddington, General Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Many thanks for your positive review and also for staying twice with us. I hope that you will use us a third time when you next come back to London.

Kind regards,

Guillaume Rapin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Room Booked W/c 27th May having contacted the hotel direct on 24th May to advise that the room would not be needed on the 26th as i was in Paris. Noted that all would be fine and that the room would be available 27th - 31st being the checkout. Upon arrival both receptionists with poor understanding of the English language and manners,advised that the room had been cancelled and they had one room available for that evening. In turn they then focused there attention to detail that a booking wasn't always deemed as a confirmation? They then changed there tune,to advise they had a room until the 29th. Both receptionists extremely rude and arrogant. The Room 2nd floor, Disabled with a view of the A70. Poor WiFi No Toilet Lid, Towels washed in Vim Powder, Cold Shower, The carpet was dirty,lack of wardrobe space in the Ikea DIY. Air Con Unit not working, Breakfast was Continental and location was at the back of Paddington Train Station. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone and i shall write a email of complaint to the CEO of the Chain

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveller007248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelpaddington, General Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and to report the issues you faced. I have taken those very seriously and I can only apologise for the inconvenience caused when you arrrived at the hotel.

I have a meeting this afternoon with my team to discuss in details the occurence and to ensure that this does not happen again.

I do hope this will not prevent you to give us a second chance as I would like to demonstrate the good service we usually deliver.

I look forward to welcoming you again soon,

Kind regards,

Guillaume Rapin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a clean modern hotel that is offers unfussy accommodation in a fantastic location. The rooms are spacious and well equipped, and despite overlooking the main line into Paddington the sound proofing is excellent. Food is fairly standard but well prepared.

Overall this would be a good choice for a business or leisure stay however the price is high compared to other options in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamSSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelpaddington, General Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel and I hope you will book again soon. In order to benefit from the best rates, I would invite you to check on the Novotel website where you are guaranteed the best rates.

I look forward to welcoming you again soon,

Kind regards,

Guillaume Rapin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great location near the Paddington Basin. Many eateries nearby with chic bars & restaurants. Hotel is easily accessible by both bus & tube. Paid extra for an upgraded room which was really good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Escapade88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelpaddington, General Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Many thanks for your positive review and I hope you will stay with us again when next in London,

Kind regards,

Guillaume Rapin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

I have just stayed in the hotel for 2 weeks from 12 may to 24 may 2013. The hotel is in very good location, located in the gated Sheldon square complex, very close to paddington underground and train station. In general, it has polite and helpfull staffs, but i just experienced this one lady from the front officer (look like she is a native londoner, and probably a manager) who always look very impatient to the border of rude in answering my inqueries.
There are two particular incident when we were discussing the restaurant guarantee and when i am just asking to help the other lady who was helping me carrying my luggage.
It was of course not blatanly rude, but you can sense the impatience and the look down attitude.
We are from indonesia, and regular tenant of novotel chain, are a bit disappointed that the hotel management has this kind of service.
We stayed in executive room, 10.18. From 12 to 24 may 2013.
Hope this will not happen again in the future.

Awan, dian, and sophie.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Umbaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelpaddington, General Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the hotel. I was pleased to read you had a plesant stay with us.

I am sorry however that you felt one member of my team was not showing enough care and I have discussed this with my Front Office Manager to ensure this does not happen again,

Kind regards,

Guillaume Rapin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Paddington
Hilton London Paddington
#390 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,645 reviews
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#194 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#197 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#246 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel London Paddington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London Paddington

Property: Novotel London Paddington
Address: Sheldon Square 3 Kingdom Street, London W2 6BD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in London
#174 Family Hotel in London
#180 Luxury Hotel in London
#215 Romantic Hotel in London
#237 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London Paddington 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Novotel London Paddington is in the Paddington Central area, easily accessible by public transport and a few minutes' walk from Paddington Station (15 minute link to Heathrow Airport and great connection to all parts of London with 4 tube lines). Enjoy a shopping spree on Oxford Street or take a leisurely stroll to Hyde Park and Kensington Palace. All 206 rooms have free Wifi access and satellite TV. Our Elements restaurant and bar also offer a relaxed dining and drinking experience. The hotel has a swimming pool, sauna and fitness room for you to unwind after a long day exploring London. You can as well use our concierge services to book your tickets for the best West End shows or for numerous attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Novotel London Paddington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London Paddington Hotel London
Accor London Paddington
Novotel London Paddington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing