We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints. . . well one . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel London Paddington
Ranked #256 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“No complaints. . . well one . . .”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

It is pretty amusing to stroll about the Paddington Train or Metro station and be accosted by tourists pulling suitcases and trying to find this hotel. It is not easy. It is, in fact, less than 10 minutes on foot from Paddington Station(s) but, what a shlep. Great staff, good buffet breakfast (except for the idiots who do not understand the concept of a buffet (i.e., get your food, move out of the way) . . . you know the type . . . they handle buffets like they drive. Std. Novotel fare, clean, contemporary design, good staff BUT, our room's bathroom had a translucent door that let light into the bedroom and made it difficult to sleep for other when the bathroom was being used. They should have put the bathroom entry door on another wall. So it goes. Neighborhood a couple of minutes from hotel is interesting. Not bad except for the stinking SNOW during our stay. (no fault of Novotel)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elite_Cruises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelpaddington, General Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Many thanks for your review about the hotel. I am really pleased to read you had a great stay with us. The hotel is indeed only a short walk away from Paddington station. The easiest is always to take the exit close to the Hammersmith and City line tube and follow the canal to the left which takes you to Paddington Central where the hotel is located.

I hope to welcome you again soon,

Kind regards,

Guillaume Rapin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    947
    1,101
    255
    56
    33
See reviews for
989
562
138
429
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We use this hotel at weekends because its really handy for Paddington station and does great weekend rates.
It is a modern business hotel so don't expect wood panelling or a cosy library, but the rooms are modern, very well equipped (iPod doc, play station, wifi, Nespresso machines) and clean. There is also a small pool and decent gym.
It is worth upgrading your room, the actual room is the same, but the robes, coffee machine and free movies are worth it to us.
Breakfast is the usual buffet affair, but good quality.
The staff are without exception helpful and friendly, a credit to the chain.

Room Tip: Upgrade your room. It's not much and worth it for the coffee alone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pigdog42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelpaddington, General Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Many thanks for your review and most importantly for coming back to stay with us. I was very pleased to read your comments and in particular that all the team are a credit to the chain.

I could not agree more with you on the Executive room: the Nespresso coffee machine alone makes the upgrade worthwhile!

I look forward to welcoming you again soon,

Kind regards,

Guillaume Rapin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The hotel is located within a 10 minute walk from Paddington. The neighbourhood is primarily a business park with offices and commercial space. Sheldon Square (1 minute walk) houses several restaurants, and a supermarket with late hours. Very convenient.

The hotel is obviously designed around the Novotel model. Very clean with well thought of spaces. Check-in was very efficient and friendly. Lobby has free (20 minute limit) internet on Apple systems, and a playstation area for children. Booked into an executive room, which has some extended privileges such as free wireless or movies, a water bottle, and other in-room/bathroom amenities.

The room was spacious, very clean and well-conceptualized. The view (of northern Paddington) was nothing spectacular. Climate control was good with the room staying warm and comfortable during the entire stay.

The hotel has a spa/fitness area located on the Mezzanine. The pool is small but clean. Towels are provided. The steam room and sauna were both good and well maintained. The fitness room is well equipped and has all the machines one could wish for. The only negative was the number of unsupervised children playing in the pool. There was diving, and pushing, and running………all of which were clearly not permitted thanks to the adequate signage around the pool area.

There is a comfortable bar in the lobby which offers a slew of beverages. The restaurant – Elements – has an a la carte menu. They also have a themed buffet in the evening which seems to alternate between Chinese, Italian, and Rotisserie. Buffet is very overpriced at £22 per person. Children eat for half-price. Had a late family dinner at the restaurant. We opted to order from the menu. The food was undercooked (undercooked burger, and chicken skewers). Restaurant staff was apologetic and offered a substitute.

Overall, a good hotel in a safe and quiet area of London. We will definitely consider this location in the future.











  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank TeachinDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelpaddington, General Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay with us. I am glad you had a good stay with us. I am sorry to read though that the a la carte food was slightly undercooked. I have discussed this with my head chef Roni to ensure this does not happen again in the future.

I look forward to welcoming you again soon,

Kind regards,

Guillaume Rapin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Not great for sightseeing, but if you're on business in Paddington Central, going back and forth to Heathrow or along the train out west to Reading/Maidenhead, it's a good spot, clean efficient, nicer than most of the junky places on the other side of Paddington Station, cheaper than the Hilton.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank gkanapathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelpaddington, General Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your review and I could not agree more with you on the ideal location of the hotel. We are just off Paddington station and with great connection to Heathrow with the Heathrow Express.
Also Paddington central is a beautiful area with the canal leading onto Little Venice.

I look forward to welcoming you again soon,

Kind regards,

Guillaume Rapin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OXFORD
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Have stayed here twice now. It is such a convieniant location, just a five minute walk from train/tube at Paddington to the hotel door. The rooms are spacious and clean with nice bathroom facilities and comfortable beds. The gym and pool are small but kept lovely and clean and I have enjoyed using them on both my visits. Breakfast is typical hotel buffet with a good selection of different foods to suit all, even veggie sausages available for full cooked. Staff are friendly and efficient and wifi worked fine for us. Overall pleasant place to stay, brilliant value for London and super convieniant location. Will stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19GEB79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelpaddington, General Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Many thanks for having taken the time to post a review about your recent stay with us. I was very pleased to read you enjoyed your time with us and even had time to use our leisure / gym facilities.

I look forward to welcoming you again soon,

Kind regards,

Guillaume Rapin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel is excellent in every way.Rooms large for London and clean with good facilities.
The restaurant is excellent and we had wonderful food all throughout the training conference.

In a good location and within walking distance of Paddington

The staff in this hotel are the most friendly and professional I have come across ,always cheerful and go out of there way to make the stay as comfortable as possible.
A big thank you to the restaurant staff and those who kept our conference room supplied with water and delicious goodies!
I would recommend this hotel to those on a London break or business conference or training event.

Room Tip: Try to upgrade to Executive and request a room on canal side or overlooking station
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerDevon193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelpaddington, General Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your review! I could not be happier than when I read that everything goes well.
I hope to welcome you again soon, whether for a meeting or a personal stay.

Kind regards,

Guillaume Rapin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We've stayed at the Novotel Paddington several times during the past few years. Only irritation, though very minor is the the weak wifi in the room. stronger reception and free in the lobby. I guess we could have paid for wifi in the room and receive a stronger reception. Room is clean, comfortable, and well designed. Breakfast (buffet) is sufficient. Excellent location for travelers flying in from Heathrowe. Take the Heathrowe Express to Paddington and it's a five minute walk to the hotel. Will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelpaddington, General Manager at Novotel London Paddington, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Many thanks for choosing us again for your London stay and I hope you will return again next time. With regards to your comments on Wifi, we are planning to upgrade all of the Wifi coverage in the hotel this year, which means you will have a stronger signal in your room very shortly.

I look forward to welcoming you again soon,

Kind regards,

Guillaume Rapin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#198 of 1,067 in London
921 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Paddington
Hilton London Paddington
#397 of 1,067 in London
3,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kensington and Hyde Park
Mercure London Hyde Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel London Paddington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London Paddington

Property: Novotel London Paddington
Address: Sheldon Square 3 Kingdom Street, London W2 6BD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in London
#174 Family Hotel in London
#189 Luxury Hotel in London
#215 Romantic Hotel in London
#237 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London Paddington 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Novotel London Paddington is in the Paddington Central area, easily accessible by public transport and a few minutes' walk from Paddington Station (15 minute link to Heathrow Airport and great connection to all parts of London with 4 tube lines). Enjoy a shopping spree on Oxford Street or take a leisurely stroll to Hyde Park and Kensington Palace. All 206 rooms have free Wifi access and satellite TV. Our Elements restaurant and bar also offer a relaxed dining and drinking experience. The hotel has a swimming pool, sauna and fitness room for you to unwind after a long day exploring London. You can as well use our concierge services to book your tickets for the best West End shows or for numerous attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Novotel London Paddington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London Paddington Hotel London
Accor London Paddington
Novotel London Paddington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing