We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scandinavian oasis in downtown London”
Review of Aquavit

Aquavit
Reserve a Table
Bookatable
Ranked #715 of 28,447 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $56
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: St. James's
Description: Aquavit London is a new contemporary all day dining experience,a restaurant that showcases the very best of Nordic cuisine and design. By taking inspiration from the original Aquavit, the two Michelin star restaurant in New York and adding a more informal setting Aquavit London creates a new modern take on Nordic fine dining. Opening 24th of November, 2016
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A beautiful Scandinavian oasis in the busy London. Classic atmosphere yet elegant, simple menu yet tasty, quite unique..

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank alexandrud958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The list of their different aquavits is almost longer than their menu.
Which gives you a good excuse to try a few different and they actually taste differently.
The menu is slightly reminiscent of IKEA, especially their Swedish meatballs.
Beside that they serve almost all classical Scandinavian dishes, e.g approx. twenty kinds of sardines.
A good geographical experience.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gournemanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Inspired by a penchant for Nordic Noir characters Sarah Lund, Saga Noren and Andri Olafsson, it was a surprise to discover a restaurant with cuisine originating from this area. Lovely bright restaurant, great front of house and exemplary, none overbearing table service. Absolutely delicious food, choices taken from the set menu Smorgasbord, the Mafje herring and Swedish meatballs absolutely delicious. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Melody N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2019 via mobile

We had the 2 course pre theatre dinner with 2 smorgasbord and a main course. Delicious food and good size portions. Excellent value. I had a really nice IPA from Sweden, Poppels.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2019

We came across this restaurant after our son had completed the Ride London event on Sunday and what a find. We settled into a table for four on the outside as our son had his bike with him even though they did offer us a table inside which was a cool and elegant space. The food and service was amazing. We shared a Skagen to start (delicious and so good we had it twice) and Gravadlax followed by traditional meatballs/Swedish style burger, all cooked to perfection. Even the bread selection was great and wine the perfect complement. Everything was amazing and the staff were really friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. After a 100 mile cycle ride, a delicious Swedish lunch is the perfect recovery, we shall definitely return.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aquavit also viewed

 

Been to Aquavit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing