We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub that doesnt care for custom”
Review of The Counting House

The Counting House
Reserve a Table
DesignMyNight
Ranked #2,010 of 28,643 Restaurants in London
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: City of London
Description: Built in 1893 as a magnificent banking hall, the aptly named Counting House oozes 19th Century decadence. With gleaming chandeliers and high domed ceiling, it's a stunning place to stop by for a hand-made pie and a pint of real ale in the heart of London.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited this place as we were staying in the area but everytime we visited there seemed it seemed to be shut to the public to cater for a private function. Its a place that doesnt seem to care about customers.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank terrierz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Counting H, General Manager at The Counting House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Terrierz
Thank you for reaching out.
We do occasionally close at weekends, typically for weddings. This information is always available through our bookings channels. However, we do apologise for any inconvenience.
As we are based in the financial district and as such the weekends are usually very quiet.The pub generally does not close for any reason Monday to Friday which is our main trading period.
We hope to see you in during your next visit.
Kind regards,
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is worth a visit just for the architecture, the food was pretty good too. We were in The City of London on a Saturday and pleased to find this place for a well earned rest, and decent lunch. Great pies, friendly staff and reasonable value for the City. But the real attraction is the interior, fantastic....and don't miss the toilets!

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sheron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Counting H, General Manager at The Counting House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good morning,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights whilst enjoying several experiences in London.
It’s a good base to explore. The rooms are full of character and named on a banking theme. Ours was very spacious and we had a complimentary mini bar which was a nice touch. The bed was very comfy and the bathroom very modern. A nice touch was a motion blue light so you didn’t disturb anyone in the night.
There was also a coffee machine and team making facilities. Nothing special you’d think but the best touch was a pint of milk in the fridge rather than some dodgy sachet.
Breakfast was good too. Good selection of cereals, pastries and fruit and the obligatory cooked breakfast. All this for £200 per night.
The only small takeaway is that the lift is very small but it has a lift!
Would throughly reccomend

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank bigeshooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Counting H, General Manager at The Counting House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good morning,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2019 via mobile

This is a very traditional pub with tens of beer brands. The atmosphere is very intense. Food was ok, the dining rooms are not aerated enough and the atmosphere can get difficult.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Anfrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Counting H, General Manager at The Counting House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good morning,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2019 via mobile

Hand down, the best place for staying in London.. very close to Tower bridge , St. Paul Cathedral, Sky Garden landmark, etc. Staff is very friendly and breakfasts are incredible!! The room was fabulous-very spacious, super clean..Complimentary beverages in the fridge , tea, coffee..If you did not get your dinner in the city , no worries -you always get delicious fish and chips downstairs in the pub..

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank MarinaF2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Counting H, General Manager at The Counting House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good morning,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Counting House also viewed

 

Been to The Counting House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing