We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical English Pub” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kings Arms

The Kings Arms
Ranked #8,559 of 22,199 Restaurants in London
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: City of London
Description: A great British Pub near liverpool street station, famous for sports, beers and great food. With 2 bars and a beer terrace there is ample space for you to come and relax and enjoy the ambience. A choice of great food from our Taylor- Walker Burgers and Pies to our Ultimate Fish and Chips, you will have plenty to choose from.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
281 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Typical English Pub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

Beware not all English pubs serve the same food but most of all not all serve the same price.
This one stated lunch at 4.95 but that was just for sandwiches or jacket potato not the typical steak and ale or steak and kidney pie etc.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LFC_ASR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    19
    10
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great "Mule wine"!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

I really enjoyed the friendly atmosphere with folks gathering after a working day or just stepping on to have lunch, kind and friendly staff, love the hot and spicy wine!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank MARIA LORRAINE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Spot - Charlize Theron sighting!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Attentive bar-staff in an attractive pub with a great vibe - we were in 3 nights in a row in November - the last night we were next to Charlize Theron - even without her it was a spot worth visiting.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
115 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Typical british”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

Typical pub with typical british food ... doesn't mean it's very good, but it's average I guess.
I had the steak and one of their pudding, it was as I expected, fat and heavy, overcooked steak, not so good, not so bad. The beers are nice though.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leodium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very nice "traditional" English pub.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

Just had to try an English pub during my recent business trip to London. While this one is probably a bit more on the tourist/chain side, I was not disappointed at all. Enjoyed the "Cod Father" fish and chips with the traditional mushy peas along with a pint of Guiness. The Guiness definitely lived up to what I'd heard from others...MUCH smoother than what we get over here in the States (here, it usually has a bit of a bitter taste). The fish was done perfectly, nice and tender and hot, with a crisp batter. The fries were, well, fries. The mushy peas...well, I've tried them...won't be trying to duplicate them at home, or go out of my way to find them again, but I wouldn't hesitate to eat them again if served! I ate upstairs at a small table. Especially liked the fact they had a couple of TVs going with the sound muted. Maybe they turn them up for sports games, but it was nice not having the noise competing with the conversational ambience. I would definitely stop in here again if I return to the area.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank TomT_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kings Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing