We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice quick professional service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Discovery Dock - Zen Apartments
Ranked #598 of 929 Specialty Lodging in London
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Large apartment. Good value for money. Nice location. Personal and professional service of friendly team. Flexible and guest orientated. Apartments are large enough to stay with a family. Really enjoyed our stay. We will be back soon

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruben a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 125 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed in a 2 bed 2 bath apartment, was great. One double bed room and the other had a double and single bed so ideal for the kids. Great location, plenty restaurants nearby, a Tesco Express just minutes away, as well as easy access to the city via tube/DLR. Was walking distance for day in Greenwich. Apartment lovely and clean, had everything we needed. The girls who met us to do the handover were lovely too. Wouldn't hesitate to use again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank erid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

3 of us managed to get some last minute tickets for the 02 but, unfortunately, there was not a hotel room to be had for miles at such short notice on the night in question.

I then stumbled upon Zen apartments in Canary Wharf and what a stroke of luck it was.

I read various reviews on TripAdvisor, some of them less than complimentary but I can only say that our experience was exceptional.

The apartment was comfortable and clean. The location was perfect and only one Tube stop away from the 02 so getting to and from the event was stress-free.

A previous post makes reference to being shown to a room by "a Middle Eastern" woman and the owner being an "Indian man." - What has this to do with a review (negative or otherwise)?

We were met by the very pleasant, helpful and cheerful Aga who made us most welcome.

The communications before, during and after our stay were very professional.

I agree that the rattling of the DLR was a minor issue but this is London. (Londoners have put up with far worse in its history!) We were exhausted by the end of the day anyway and it would have taken a Space Shuttle launch to keep me awake.

I will definitely be using Zen Apartments again in the year ahead.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARTIN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

6 friends and I had a room booked for one night around a month in advance, as we arrived in London we called to make sure someone would be there to accommodate us but this took various phone calls and several different numbers before we reached someone. As we arrived at the apartments we were shown into a room by a middle eastern woman who took a while fumbling with documents and had to phone the owner because she could not sort out the deposit etc. The owner arrived, Indian man, who then told us he was not expecting 6 of us and only 4, therefore tried changing the deposit from £200 to £500, as we did not have this money he offered to take our passports and mail them back to us in the post which we found very unprofessional and 'back handed' so to speak. The man was not sorry and did not offer anything to help sort out the misunderstanding, he had the cheek to say he raised the price because he 'didn't know what kind of people we were'. Everything seemed to be dealt with through cash, things just seemed a little dodgy and we were glad we never stayed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Travelling to London for a concert at the O2 as a last minute booking we found it quite difficult to find any hotels that did not cost £400+ to accommodate 2 adults and 2 children for a brief overnight stay. The Zen apartments were perfect for this and only 5 minutes Tube ride from the O2 venue - 20 minutes from the centre of London. For the price the apartments were fine. Plenty of room and the convenience of a small kitchen, living area, ensuite bathroom with one bedroom and a separate bathroom for the other bedroom. The furnishings were a mixture of decent with shabbier sofas which were stained and spoilt the overall feel. Kitchen floor was sticky and stained ( it would have been so easy to have cleaned this). Directions not great so we wasted 30 minutes being given directions from the Tube station - work this out before you arrive! The apartments were described as' luxury' . Not sure who's idea of luxury but they were somewhere between a decent travel lodge and a 3* hotel with the space and convenience mentioned above and a few individual finishings that made it look more like a home. They are however just rental apartments . Convenient and a reasonable price for what they are if you are visiting Docklands or O2..

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NibblerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We have stayed in these apartments each year the Barclays Final are in the O2 and they are very convenient for the Jubilee Line and the arena.
They can vary in quailty though on this occasion there was very little to compalin about. The bath can be a bit slippy without a mat however.
One year the shower in one malfunctioned and another flat had a bed whose mattress that kept falling through the wooden slats underneath.

The noise from the DLR has always caused a problem and light sleepers should probably avoid. I'm a loud snorer and am usually tired out at the tennis all day so it usually doesn't matter to me.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HabLeaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The flat we rented was not available on arrival. "Severe maintenance emergency" was cited. We were taken to a lesser quality flat with less amenities a 10 minute walk away. We were only offered a $25 per night discount in the rate despite the difference in accommodations an the trouble of having to move later.

When our flat was finally available, the move caused us to miss part of a tour we had scheduled. There was no sign of any repair or maintenance but lots of evidence that the last guests exited quickly and very little cleaning was done. Also, there was a large sharp shard of wood sticking up in the kitchen entry way. I would think that if the flat truly was being held for maintenance, that nasty hazardous could not have been missed.

We cleaned up the food crumbs and debris from the past guests ourselves (why on earth would someone have popcorn in a dresser drawer?), not realizing one of the bedrooms didn't even get fresh linens. the couple with us ended up sleeping curled up on the loveseats in the living room as their sheets were gross. They were unsure if the towels were fresh, either.

The next day management made arrangements for proper cleaning and we were giving a nice note of apology with a bottle of wine. Note that the displaced couple do not drink, so the gesture was wasted on them. Missing the Tower of London tour and dealing with the whole moving, cleaning and such was just unacceptable.

At check out we tried to discuss the rate. I stated that I thought we had overpaid for the stay based on our experience. The polite but un-empowered young lady checking us out could offer nothing.

the 2 stars are for location (phenomenal view) and the polite, friendly young ladies we dealt with...the missing 3 stars are because of the terrible experience this management company gave us.

Room Tip: If you wish to rent from them, get them to agree to a clause that you get the flat you contracted fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank twangthang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#51 of 929 in London
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Dock - Zen Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Dock - Zen Apartments

Address: Discovery Dock Apartments East 3 South Quay Square, London E14 9RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #598 of 929 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $165 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Discovery Dock - Zen Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Premium Two Bedroom Apartment certainly has a WOW FACTOR! It's a combination of luxurious furnishings, modern and high quality of equipment, very spacious with dining area and private balcony. Large bright 2 double bed bedrooms. Free access to swimming pool and gym in the building. Remarkable views on Thames River and Canary Wharf and the City. Set in a quiet residential area, each Zen apartment features 2 bathrooms, 2 double bedrooms, and a kitchen. Strictly no parties allowed. Very conveniently located with 2 types of the transport nearby: about 50m from DLR Station, 5min walk to Canary Wharf Underground Station, parking available if pre booked in advance (surcharge applies) Zen Apartments offers free Wi-Fi i The O2 Arena is 3 minutes' tube ride and London Bridge can be reached in 10 minutes on the Jubilee Line.Set in a quiet residential area, each Zen apartment features 2 bathrooms, 2 double bedrooms, and a kitchen. Guests can enjoy scenic views of Canary Wharf and the city.Conveniently located to reach many London attractions, these apartments offer easy access vibrant locations such as Covent Garden, 20 minutes' tube journey, Stratford, 15 minutes by tube, and the exciting West End, only 20 minutes' by tube from the property. Bars, bistros, restaurants are within 10 minutes' walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discovery Dock - Zen Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Dock Apartments Hotel London
Discovery Dock - Zen Apartments London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing