We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst apartment ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western London Peckham Hotel
Ranked #544 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed February 4, 2014

in the internet it was so beautiful, but when we arrived, i thought its like an bad dream.

the service didnt exist, they are very very unfriendly. the room downstairs was terrible! no windows and dirty walls and wcs.
the heater didnt work.
we wont come again, for sure!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Noema H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeckhamLodge, Manager at Best Western London Peckham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Ms Hommes,
Thank you for your feedback! although it is very disappointing to know that you have this feedback about the staff. On your arrival you had 2 reservations made by you, we did informed you and as you made a mistake on reserving twice, we decided to cancel second reservation free of charge, you were given R-155 which is on the -1 level, is a refurbished room with also a window, you came back to us to ask for another room on higher level, which we showed you and you liked, 5 minutes later you came back to us showing us a picture of a Triple room from Booking.com which you wanted to see, we show you that room, you then wanted to stay in that room instead of a Double, we informed you about upgrading charges of £15.00 per night, which you were very happy to pay, also very grateful to the staff for allowing you to change the rooms. For the heating in the rooms, our heating system is a combination of hot and cold air, normally takes about 5 to 10 minutes for the heat to come, as we told you on your check in anything you need we are there to help you, which we also did with anything you came to Reception to ask.
We are very sorry you did not feel helped at any moment, but we did our best to accommodate your needs.

Esther Rojas
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,760)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

553 - 559 of 1,761 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

It's too far from the center, quite expensive. Our room was tiny. I haven't seen that small room before:( It was very cold in our room. I had to wear pyjamas, socks and sweatshirt. Never again. Pictures look much better than reality.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank LaimeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeckhamLodge, Assistant Manager at Best Western London Peckham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

We would like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay in Peckham Lodge.

I am disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please do allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Kind regards,

Pavla C.
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The hotel is absolutely spotless and the service is excellent at Peckham Lodge, but there are a few issues I had with the stay. The basement rooms where we were situated were very very small, you can't put your bags open on the floor, there is not enough room. You can hear other guests in their rooms and you can hear the pipes and water flowing. The fire alarm would go off for no reason at ridiculous times which was very annoying. But overall, the room was warm, the bed was comfy and was clean. There was always fresh sheets and the bathroom was very nice. Good for a short and cheap stay. Free wifi also works in the rooms!

Room Tip: Don't go for basement rooms and try go for something a little bigger than the executive doubles!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeckhamLodge, Assistant manager at Best Western London Peckham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

Please accept my apology for the inconvenience you experienced regarding the fire alarm. Fire alarm detectors have to be sensitive enough to detect the changes in the heat and for that reason, the fire alarm went off when the steam from the shower in one of the rooms reached the detector.

I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Pavla Cernochova
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Saved by obliging staff and popular, having a 24 hr reception. Our daughter had a very bad room on the second night as the room we had prepaid had been let.
Good value but view the room first for broken beds,showers etc.
Would use it again. It's clean and safe.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Biffaulds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeckhamLodge, Assistant Manager at Best Western London Peckham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit at Peckham Lodge.

We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will
be looking into the matter accordingly.

I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Pavla C
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed here for a one night stay, first impressions the hotel from the outside looks nice also reception. The problem we had was the rooms first room we went into was freezing cold and in a basement stank of cigarettes and hadn't been properly cleaned from the previous guests, second room well the bed had lost its legs and had an also disgusting smell could do with a tidy up badly! In the end asked reception to look at room before they offered another room- we did find one which was to a suitable manor but had the bad smell too. I understand this is a low cost hotel but it doesn't mean cleanliness goes out the window something needs to be done as this could be a successful hotel, many other guests thought the same. Does have a breakfast room which is acceptable but beware you must buy before you go down and eat at reception! Do not stay for a long haul only for short. Please manager's read these reviews!!! Cleanliness!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wantage21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeckhamLodge, Assistant Manager at Best Western London Peckham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

We would like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay in Peckham Lodge.

Please accept my apology for the inconvenience you experienced.

We are concerned about the smell you are referring to. As we are in a process of refurbishment, there is a smell of paint in the corridors. If you could get in touch about what room you were staying in, we can look into it further. The email address is: Peckham@eurohotelsgroup.co.uk.

I appreciate that you brought these points to my attention and I will straight away make sure that we will rectify them.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Peckham Lodge.

Kind regards,

Pavla Cernochova
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

It's on the cheap side of London, the south area. The neighborhood is poor and shabby, you wouldn't say it's London. But: the bus-stop is right across the street, you can get downtown in about 30 minutes, if you swich halfway to the subway. A little shop is quite close, although not as cheap as expected...
Our room had three beds and we were in the basement. Not a very good thing, because as it rained during the night, water had flown into our room, clothes in one of our suitcases got wet, 2 hats got destroyed. So be aware, don't put anything around the window. Tv, waterheater ok, bath ok, quite clean, carpets - wear slippers, they look quite doubty.
Internetacces in the lounge - ha-ha, never menaged during our 5 day stay to access one single site or refresh the map on my phone... And I must admit, that would have been important for us, the map and some online research on the things in the city...
The bed was very narrow, was afraid of falling out of it during the night... To get to our room we hade to pass some very dirty hallways, that were under construction, a little bit weird and also disturbing, because we did pay for the room just like other guest, but didn't have natural sunlight in our room and were living in a construction area...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cuisine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeckhamLodge, ASSISTANT MANAGER at Best Western London Peckham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

I am very sorry to read about your experience at Peckham Lodge.

We are concerned about the water coming to your room when raining. If you could get in touch about what room you were staying in, we can look into it further as we have not received a complaint about this before. The email address is: Peckham@eurohotelsgroup.co.uk.

We are in a process of upgrading the hotel so a renovation work is taking place in some parts of the hotel. I would to apologise for the inconvenience caused to you. Also, the Wi-Fi connection was being upgraded during the summer which might have caused the failure to work on some occasions.

Please do allow me to express my sincerest apologies once again.

Kind regards,

Pavla Cernochova
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Context:
We're a South African family of 4 on a tight budget and were looking for reasonably priced, but basic accommodation to use as a base to explore London. The cost of living here is twice that at home and the SA Rand is 17 to the pound, so we were prepared to be less than fussy. A rating of 3 is maybe a bit generous, but I felt 2 would be unfair. It served our needs, but did not delight.

Getting there:
We resorted to a taxi from Victoria station where the Gatwick Express dropped us as it was late, raining and we were tired - it cost us 35 euro not the quoted 20 as there was an accident and the cab driver had to take a roundabout route.

Cost:
We were in room 412 on the top floor in a 4 bed room and paid 473 pounds for 5 nights, which we thought was OK value - there was nothing else we could find of comparable standard at a lower rate at the time. The room was small, but clean, fairly quiet, although you could hear people talking in the passages on odd occasions.

Value:
Reasonable value I suppose. The front desk was staffed 24x7 and the staff helpful. Various bus routes stop 50m from the front door, there Kentish Drover pub and Lidl supermarket is 5 minutes walk away, and there is a Wild Bean at a fuel station close by that sells sandwiches. Service from the front desk was friendly and helpful. The area looks fairly dodgy, but we never felt threatened as our kids are older teens and able to take care of themselves - if they'd been younger I may have been uneasy. Once we’d found the nearest Tesco and Sainsbury, we made more use of the communal microwave oven in the common room. We had access to great free WiFi from room 412 although we were told at the desk that this would be unlikely.

What sort of place was it:
A cheap hotel in a slightly rundown area south of London. The #12 bus was useful in getting in and out of the areas we wanted to see. The place was relatively clean and warm, but a bit cramped for a family of four for five days.

How long were we there:
5 nights.

Would we go back:
Probably not - if we returned to London, we’d probably shop around a bit and choose another area.

Pros:
Cheaper than other options we investigated. Right near a bus stop with at least 5 routes stopping there. Fairly comfortable, warm, with reasonably friendly service. Fast free WiFi. Good Vodaphone and EE signals.

Cons:
The beds were bad - we prefer firm mattresses - these sagged badly and were not comfortable. The lift was often not working. The shower drained extremely slowly and the shower doors and fittings showed signs of imminent failure.

Tips:
There is no public transport on Christmas day (and possibly other public holidays) and you need to book in advance at any of the eating places nearby. The Kentish Drovers was about the best option for a pub meal or a drink. There is a Lidl and a Wild Bean nearby if you are looking for provisions. Prepaid Oyster cards are the way to go for bus and tube (we bought 20 pound cards before leaving SA and topped up once with 5 pounds at Victoria station) but be aware that once the balance falls below 2 pounds you cannot ride, even if the trip will only cost 1.40! All bus trips, no matter how long cost 1.4 with an Oyster card. The #12, #36 and #171 buses were very useful.

Room Tip: I imagine rooms on the top floor are quieter and possibly better than those on lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank d4v3g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeckhamLodge, Assistan Manager at Best Western London Peckham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

We would like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay in Peckham Lodge.

I am disappointed to hear that your experience in some aspects did not meet your expectations. Please do allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Peckham Lodge, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us.

I appreciate that you brought these points to my attention and I will straight away make sure that we will rectify them.

We hope to see you again so that we can improve upon your previous experience.

Kind regards,

Pavla Cernochova
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Venture Hostels
#724 of 1,077 in London
142 reviews
Premier Inn London Sidcup
#344 of 1,077 in London
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#620 of 1,077 in London
593 reviews
Whitechapel
Hotel ibis budget London Whitechapel - Brick Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western London Peckham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western London Peckham Hotel

Address: 110 Peckham Road | Peckham, London SE15 5EU, England (Formerly Peckham Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range: $55 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western London Peckham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western London Peckham Hotel sits regally in a majestic building which was established in 1849, situated in one of London's central and urban districts. With grandiose interiors and a traditional approach to hospitality, it also offers easy access to all that London has to offer in terms of the pomp and ceremony that draws so many to our wonderful capital - we're ideally located for easy travel to central London by bus, by car or by London Overground. Ours is a modern hotel that fizzes with colour and character, offering a variety of recently renovated and themed rooms to suit every traveller's needs. Inside and out, Best Western London Peckham Hotel is brimming with soul, washed with authentic Victorian and Retro, capturing the sort of 'cool' Peckham breathes today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western London Peckham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London Peckham Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing