We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, Dirty and in the bronx!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western London Peckham Hotel
Ranked #547 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Hundreds of noisy teenage school kids visiting London stay here week in week out. If you don't mind that - fine. The teenagers down the hall from us decided to play 'knock and run' on our door well after midnight. You can hear loud TV volume levels leaking through the neighbouring walls last thing at night and from 7 am onwards. Peckham at night is quiet un nerving!! Has a feel of the Bronx. One final point if you still want to try it and I don't recommend you do, do not book in advance, regardless of what they tell you it is always cheaper to walk in and book. You will pay around £20 extra by booking online, either directly or through an agent.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yamma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

606 - 612 of 1,743 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Marious C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Noise Level: The hotel was under construction, and we didn't know till we got there. The noise was just horrible.

Entrance: The main gate had stairs (like 8 of them) so getting the pram and the luggage up was a nightmare! (they told us later there is a back door, and when we used it later their buzzer to let us in wasn't working, and we had to wait with the baby in the cold for about 10 mins!).

Payment: When I was paying. First time, they put the wrong amount, and I pointed out, so it got canceled. Second time, the card machine said it wasn't authorised. Third time, it worked, but when I checked my account later. I got charged THREE TIMES! now the pain with the bank to get it all sorted.

Room: The room itself was very small. The air condition wasn't heating properly. There wasn't a phone in the room to even call the reception. I had to call them from my cell phone when I had questions! The water was cold!

Breakfast: ok that was the most shocking part of this whole experience. When I booked it said "continental breakfast included". It was a room in the basement with two TVs on music videos, and white toast, butter, jam and cereals! OMG! they didn't have ANY eggs or cheese or ANYTHING. and if u wanted eggs u had to pay extra?! Not to mention the juice glasses and cups smelt disgusting.

Overall: the experience was REALLY horrible. It took a damper on our trip. NOT recommended, especially with a baby on board.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esra87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I liked a lot this hotel. It is very clean, the staff is very helpful, the rooms are big and clean. Though there were maintenance works, we had no trouble to sleep or do any of the activities we planned. Totally recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Katherin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Pros:
-Nice and clean rooms (a bit short on space though).
-Not too far from city centre (good transportation).
-Cheap.
-International environment.
Cons:
-WiFi connection was unreliable.
-Breakfast was quite pokey.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Adam_Erdelyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I Google mapped this hotel after booking it through TravelTura at a very reasonable rate of £54 for one Saturday night double room B & B. I noted the building hoarding and reckoned that Google maps are several years out of date so the hoarding would be gone....wouldn't it?

No it wasn't and the hotel was visibly still undergoing building work. The room was small and a quick inspection revealed exposed pipes from the aircon/heater unit that went through the wall underneath a tiny window that had little or no natural light anyway. the shower head fittings were covered in verdigris and rust and the ceiling of the shower room was mouldy. Other fittings were rusty and the sink plug fitting was inoperative. Requested extra towels were available and delivered within minutes and strangely, by one of the builders (?).

The queue for breakfast on Sunday morning was half an hour long and no full English breakfast was on offer. Buffet style cereals and toast was all that was on offer and the three toasters were slow and ineffective and no staff were available at all and the tray situation was equally fraught with the very real thought that one might have to continually revisit the buffet if no tray arrived. it was almost a hot tray system and i noted with dismay that the considerable foreign guest contingent was prone to reserving a seat prior to joining the queue. That queue was much longer when we left abot 45 minutes after we arrived and a 130 room hotel needs considerably more attention to the breakfast arrangements than this hotel is currently providing.

The lobby and lift were really good and obviously new. The staff were courteous and efficient and the parking (chargeable) ok but very restricted. The bed was a tad uncomfortable and not too well equipped for warmth. All the linen and towels were clean on arrival.

This was only for one night for us to attend a party in Brockley and we had a superb time so we were not in the hotel for very long really and this close to Central London, one cannot complain at this price. Certainly, apart from the lack of a full cooked breakfast, all that was promised was delivered but badly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Premier Inn London Sidcup
#330 of 1,077 in London
258 reviews
Venture Hostels
#725 of 1,077 in London
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#598 of 1,077 in London
589 reviews
Mayfair
45 Park Lane - Dorchester Collection
Whitechapel
Hotel ibis budget London Whitechapel - Brick Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western London Peckham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western London Peckham Hotel

Address: 110 Peckham Road | Peckham, London SE15 5EU, England (Formerly Peckham Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range: $53 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western London Peckham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western London Peckham Hotel sits regally in a majestic building which was established in 1849, situated in one of London's central and urban districts. With grandiose interiors and a traditional approach to hospitality, it also offers easy access to all that London has to offer in terms of the pomp and ceremony that draws so many to our wonderful capital - we're ideally located for easy travel to central London by bus, by car or by London Overground. Ours is a modern hotel that fizzes with colour and character, offering a variety of recently renovated and themed rooms to suit every traveller's needs. Inside and out, Best Western London Peckham Hotel is brimming with soul, washed with authentic Victorian and Retro, capturing the sort of 'cool' Peckham breathes today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western London Peckham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London Peckham Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing