We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing spectacular.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN London Peckham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BEST WESTERN London Peckham Hotel
Ranked #563 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Orangevale, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nothing spectacular.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Ugh. Where to begin. I'll start out by saying I read every review about this place before I booked. A lot were negative but I thought it was just people in a bad mood complaining. Plus, a lot of reviews were good too. So we decided to give this place a shot. Bad idea. Bottom line, we'll be staying somewhere else next time.

My boyfriend and I stayed here from January 9th til January 12th of 2013. This hotel is not "walking distance" from the train station. No way. Website advertised that and we disagree! So we had to walk a lot to get there. And the walk is straight through the ghetto! It was terrible. So we got there and checked in and got to our room (we were on the floor below the lobby). The room was small but it was fine. It was just us two so we had enough room. The water heater for coffee/tea took forever for us to figure out. The button that turns it on was broken. But not a big deal, we made it work. The bathroom was small, but again, we didn't mind so much. Only problem in the bathroom was the mold and the shower had poor drainage. BUT the shower was really big for such a small room. So that was really nice! The bed was kinda hard for my liking, but I dealt with it. The room came with freeze dried coffee crystals to have in the morning. I thought that was strange, but it turned out to be pretty good actually! The breakfast was average. It left something to be desired. It was nothing spectacular. Croissants, coffee, juice, toast (the toaster for the toast was HORRIBLE. You either got warm bread or charred black toast) and some cereal. There was really no need to upgrade breakfast. There was enough food to start your day. One bad thing about breakfast was the line! If you are going to stay here (which I strongly advise you NOT to) get to breakfast early! There was always a place to sit though.

Positive things: Internet worked well. Bus stop right across the street (kinda made up for being in the ghetto). Didn't take long to get to city center. Staff seemed a bit stuck up, but they were helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohheytherejessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    504
    438
    191
    222
See reviews for
332
561
52
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We chose to stay here after a gig at Brixton Academy. I was pleasantly surprised with the room considering the price... modern, ensuite bathroom, flatscreen tv.

It's really handy for getting into central London if you don't mind a 20-30 minute bus journey - positioned really close to a busy bus stop.

Bad points - hard beds and thin pillows! Noisy traffic outside on the main road although this probably wouldn't be an issue if given a room at the back of the building

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room towards the back of the building if you don't want to hear any traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Arrived for a two night stay, when we asked about parking told they only had 10 spaces and it cost £10 per day the alternative was trying find street parking in a really seedy area. How they thought they could get 10 cars in the parking space \i dont know.

Room at the front on the first floor very basic had to ask for another duvet foreach bed the one on the bed was so thin you could practically see through it and it was very cold outside. Give the reception staff their due they did get us two more duvets quite quickly. Bedding was clean and the beds ok but only 1 pillow each. The door did not lock so felt a bit unsafe the front door was not locked at night and the area not very nice. Breakfast was a complete joke we had to wait 25 minutes to get some nondescript cereal and toast that you had to put through the machine twice to get it light brown and if you were lucky a small dry croissant, glasses,cutleryand cups ran out. Staff very pushed to keep up, breakfast room more like a dungeon. The second morning we decided to upgrade our breakfast and I use the word upgrade very loosely I could not eat it the sausage were deep fried and were cold in the middle so could not eat and the fried eggs were disgusting the wait staff were not interested and said I should speak to the chef she did not however go and get him. I was really worried about salmonella from poorly prepared food.

on the second morning we were rudely awakened by the fire alarm going off at 4.50am and again half an hour later didnt really matter as the traffic kept us awake most of the night.

Yes ok it was cheap but the website is misleading and should be removed you defintely do not get anything like the room shown.

Asked reception to get us a taxi to take us to our function and we were charged nearly £30 on getting a taxi back we wereonly charged £15 and it was well after midnight. Something not quite right there.

Wouldnt stay again would rather pay a bit extra and get a few luxuries.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front and side are very noisy dont pay for breakfast not worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Not the hotels fault at all of course, but we were further out than we thought. Oval is the nearest underground station and its a 20 - 40 min walk from Oval to the hotel but there is a good bus service which we used most days. Also wouldn't recommend this area for children, one night we got a takeaway and decided to save money and walk back to the hotel, 2 men, separately, harassed us for money, shouting etc.. Not violently but to some people can be intimidating. However me and my partner weren't too fazed.

At hotel I had mentioned in the preferences box for a quiet room. We were put in a room on its own behind a fire door and with it being a little out the way, all the wires and pipes had to come in through the room ... I don't know why to be honest ... We saw other rooms with their doors open and they were much nicer so maybe I won't be snobby and ask for a quiet room again. Ha! Apart from that i found the room cosey! it was small and no where to hang clothes ( oh ok, there were 2 hangers) but clean and neutral, en suit, clean towels every day ...

Breakfast was horrible ... sorry .... I am quite picky with food and the cleanliness of areas that i eat. The 'Breakfast room' wasn't very nice, it smelt quite fusty and was sticky.

Staff were pleasant when we approached them. We were given only one mug in our room and we wanted to go to bed with a cup of tea so i went down to reception to ask for another. The lady said she couldn't get me one and can I ask in the morning, I just said that's fine and was secretly a bit miffed but didn't bother asking the next morning. However she must have left a note and someone came straight up with one !

Would I stay again? We had a lovely time in London, and apart from the plumbing and wires coming in the room I really liked it in there, the breakfast was included so can't complain about that so ...... yes ...... maybe ;)

Room Tip: Don't ask for a quite one !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriet90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the hoteel from dec 30 till january 2nd 2013.
The hotel is 20 minutes away from the centre of London, but thats not problem because there are several buslines just outside the hotel who drive 24/7 and they come very frequently.
The hotel was on the brink of the good and bad part of peckham, move north and the city will look better and better, move south and you will see the poor side of London.
The interior was very basic,bbut clean.
My room was on the basement level, and it was one of the renovated onws, the room was very clean and the beds were good, also the heater/airco worked very good, a flatscreen tv with over 40 channels also worked as it should.
The bathroom was extremely clean, good job!
I was very surprised by the good state of the hotel because I expected a dirty old hotel.
To the staff I would like to say: Keep up the good work, and try to educate the front desk girls a little bit more about hospitality and language, they did good, but could get better.
This hotel i can recommend strongly for students and backpackers because the prices are low. Great value for your money!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHague070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Peckham Lodge is by no means the Ritz, but nor does it try to pretend it is. We were looking for somewhere cheap, close to Brixton for a party on New Years Day, just as a stop over before we drove back to Cornwall. We booked the Peckham Lodge based on the price, £35 for the room, including breakfast - bargain! We had absolutely no problems. Check in was less than 5 minutes, check out even shorter. The rooms were extremely clean, crisp white bed sheets, spotless bathroom. Extra pillows upon request. On a main road, but windows blocked out the sound of traffic. Excellent for what we needed. Some reviews need to bare the star rating in mind before writing reviews based on expectations which are deluded and unrealistic. It is what it is and doesn't try to pretend otherwise. A+++++

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatherineCruises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#564 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
East End / East London
Ibis Styles London Leyton
Ibis Styles London Leyton
#550 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Whitechapel
Hotel ibis budget London Whitechapel - Brick Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venture Hostels
#677 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#734 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN London Peckham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN London Peckham Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN London Peckham Hotel
Address: 110 Peckham Road | Peckham, London SE15 5EU, England (Formerly Peckham Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN London Peckham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western London Peckham Hotel sits regally in a majestic building which was established in 1849, situated in one of London's central and urban districts. With grandiose interiors and a traditional approach to hospitality, it also offers easy access to all that London has to offer in terms of the pomp and ceremony that draws so many to our wonderful capital - we're ideally located for easy travel to central London by bus, by car or by London Overground. Ours is a modern hotel that fizzes with colour and character, offering a variety of recently renovated and themed rooms to suit every traveller's needs. Inside and out, Best Western London Peckham Hotel is brimming with soul, washed with authentic Victorian and Retro, capturing the sort of 'cool' Peckham breathes today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN London Peckham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN London Peckham Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing