We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Decent hotel for a cheap price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN London Peckham Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN London Peckham Hotel
Ranked #609 of 1,070 Hotels in London
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Decent hotel for a cheap price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

After reading some reviews, my partner and I were skeptical about booking this hotel. However, we were on a budget so we decided to book it anyway. Besides, we were there to explore, not stay in our hotel for the whole time!

It was very easy to get to the hotel by tube and/or bus. Upon arrival the staff seemed nice and we checked in very easily. We stayed in the second building on the second floor. Our room was extremely nice considering how cheap the rates were!! It was obvious that the room we stayed in had recently been renovated. New decor and cupboards etc. The room was small-ish but the bed was comfy and the bathroom was lovely! There wasn't a lot of storage space for clothes but we made do with what was provided. It was clean, bright and spacious. The shower was quite large and powerful. We never really heard any noise from the hotel or the street outside. We had fresh tea and coffee in the room everyday and the bed was made daily. We could come and go as we pleased as the front reception was open all day and night.

This was the closest hotel to the centre of London at the cheapest price. We would definitely stay here again. Some reviews have said that their rooms are not as nice, but maybe some of them aren't. We were lucky and our room was lovely! In fact, we were shocked by how little we had paid. It felt as though we'd cheated the system somehow!

We didn't pay for the breakfast and chose to get something once we were out.

The bus stop is literally 30 seconds away with easy access to central London. Buses are very often so you're never waiting long and they run 24h which means you can go out on a night out and not have to worry about being able to get back.

We never had a problem with the staff, but we said hello to them every time we passed. Politeness is a two way street. One night when we got back to our room, the key card didn't seem to work. We took it back to reception and they fixed the problem within seconds and seemed to be happy to do so. They weren't overly nice but they definitely weren't rude to us and catered to our needs.

I would definitely recommend this hotel on the stay we had. There could be some improvement, but like I'd said from the start. We were there to explore and not sit in our rooms all day. All I would say is that if you're not happy with your room, asked to be moved. It can't hurt to try and maybe you'll get a nice room like we did!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sivhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    398
    393
    170
    211
See reviews for
266
485
39
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Located a bit far from the city centre, but with direct bus-lines 24h.
Nice and clean, with a sweet staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Myself, son and grand daughter stayed here whilst the Olympics were on and definitely not impressed with the staff or breakfast. Peckham Lodge lived up to the reviews I had read on before booking. The room was clean although not the one which we expected, the WiFi hardly ever worked, a member of staff was rude when it was pointed out that there were 2 wheels missing off the bed and breakfast didn't give much choice - cornflakes, rice crispies, toast and drinks and croissants only if you stayed around long enough! They were also still completing refurbushments at the time which again, I thought they would have finished and from reviews seem to have gone on for some time. I suppose you get what you pay for as we did want something cheap and had left finding accomodation quite late so met our needs. On a good note, it is on the bus route with plenty of shops and takeawys nearby and there was a lift right outside of our room which I think they took notice of when I advised I had an impairment to my leg. Despite this, I would only return again if I had to.

Room Tip: If you want or need a lift, this may be compromised by a less qualititive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KSCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

The worst hotel I have stayed in.
Building works throughout, which we were not informed about before.
Tiles of on bathroom floor which cut my foot. shower door kept falling off. Dirty room. room only had 2 beds despite being for 3 people.
Valance sheet on duvan bed had been nailed on.
Quite expensive for a poor hotel and in rough area.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kickapoou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Oh my word! What can I say.....
We booked this place as it was cheap and there is really not much to choose from in the way of accommodation in Peckham. Desperate not to mistakenly book a B and B that might actually be a halfway house for ex-inmates (has happened) we instead landed up somewhere that had the air of being a borstal or a victorian home for wayward children.
The dingy basement twin room smelled awful and in fact had a large sticky puddle in the carpet - a mixture of rusty water from the radiator and carpet glue we thought. The air smelled a little toxic and we had to keep our shoes on! We asked for a move but were told they place was booked out. We feared being put somewhere worse and didn't want to lose the en-suite so stayed put and kept the door wedged open every night for 20 mins to let the heat and fumes out. The room was also too hot but there was not way of changing the temp we were told.
Breakfast was an 'every-man-for-himself' cornflake-grabbing experience. Never have I seen people in so desperate a rush to get a bowl of non-brand cornflakes! It was a crammed in, sit where you can situation in the dining room. I would go back having said that as, you get what you pay for and we don't like to pay much. It was more the fact that we felt that a room in this state should have been closed to residents.

Room Tip: avoid basement rooms as too hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reja G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Venture Hostels
#676 of 1,070 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
East End / East London
Ibis Styles London Leyton
Ibis Styles London Leyton
#527 of 1,070 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 1,087 reviews
Ramada London Finchley
#688 of 1,070 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#521 of 1,070 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 465 reviews
Bloomsbury
Pickwick Hall
Pickwick Hall
#545 of 1,070 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Viking Hotel
#733 of 1,070 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN London Peckham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN London Peckham Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN London Peckham Hotel
Address: 110 Peckham Road | Peckham, London SE15 5EU, England (Formerly Peckham Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN London Peckham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western London Peckham Hotel sits regally in a majestic building which was established in 1849, situated in one of London's central and urban districts. With grandiose interiors and a traditional approach to hospitality, it also offers easy access to all that London has to offer in terms of the pomp and ceremony that draws so many to our wonderful capital - we're ideally located for easy travel to central London by bus, by car or by London Overground. Ours is a modern hotel that fizzes with colour and character, offering a variety of recently renovated and themed rooms to suit every traveller's needs. Inside and out, Best Western London Peckham Hotel is brimming with soul, washed with authentic Victorian and Retro, capturing the sort of 'cool' Peckham breathes today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN London Peckham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN London Peckham Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing