We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Harrison Gastro Pub and Hotel
Ranked #101 of 557 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Find”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights, the rooms are clean and comfy, just what you need when planning a busy weekend in London. At this place you wont be spending much time in your room any way! The staff were great, and the breakfasts more than plentiful! the location was perfect for king cross so getting around was really easy.

The best thing about this place though is the atmosphere and food in an evening, we ate here 2 nights and both nights the food was amazing and really good value, the atmosphere in the evening with live Irish music was perfect and the wines very reasonably priced.

For a short stay in London at a reasonable price you cant go wrong with this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stella396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    72
    18
    8
    1
See reviews for
15
75
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is only the second poor review I have ever given to a hotel, so I do not make it readily, and have given it a lot of thought.

However, the Harrison is NOT a hotel. It is a PUB, with four rooms, so really a bed and breakfast. There are no facilities, not even a mini fridge or safe.
By contrast, the bed and breakfast we recently chose in Florence (Antica Dimora Johlea) was a top end hotel compared with this, and cheaper.

My heart sank when I saw the room (no 4) as it reminded me of the horrible room I was allocated as a first year student at Oxford (University) 35 years ago, i.e spartan, dingy and not clean! The metal framed, single glazed windows in both bedroom and bathroom were badly corroded. This may make it cold in winter.

The plastic bath panel had a very obvious, old, jagged crack 500 cm long, which would be inviting, and dangerous to a small child. The (cheapest of the cheap) beige carpet had a rim of dirt all around the perimeter. The mattress was visibly lumpy.

Imagine that you decided to rent out your long unused back bedroom, and visited a charity shop for the fixtures and fittings...The tv was tiny.

We chose this place, on the basis of positive reviews, which I fail to comprehend. It was not even that close to St Pancras for our early train. Thank goodness it was only for one night. I told myself that it would make the Brussels Hilton, where we were headed, and a very good deal via Travelzoo, but for which there were many very bad reviews, seem good by comparison. As it was, that hotel surprised us by being excellent.

It is only fair to make positive comment - the Harrison was very quiet after 11pm, and the staff readily accommodated our request for a 7am breakfast (included in the price of the room, whether you wanted it or not). We had planned to eat in the room, but there was only one chair and a tiny desk, so had to eat in the bar, down two flights of stairs (no lift).

Neutrogena toiletries were nice. I cannot speak for the pub food as we did not eat there the night before. It would be very hard to forget any possessions on leaving, as there is no wardrobe, or chest of drawers, just a hanging rail and shelf.

i did take photos to evidence the above, which I'm having a problem uploading. If anyone wishes to email me, I will do my best to send them to you.

So, unless you have a desire to sleep above an English pub, I would go elsewhere, Travelodge/Ibis/Premier Inn, whatever.

Room Tip: Just go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VivienJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I stayed with my girlfriend for a couple of days sight seeing and visiting friends in London. I booked the Harrison after reading the online reviews and wasn't disappointed. The staff were really friendly and the breakfasts were fantastic! It is located close to Kings Cross Station, but in a really quiet side street.
I will be staying here again when I'm next in London

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrAndyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We were looking for somewhere interesting to stay that was near the Cambridge Theater (saw Matilda the Musical which was incredible) and St Pancras for the Eurostar in the morning. The Harrison met both criteria, but was so much more than just a convenient location. The room for three was clean, spacious and pretty quiet. In fact, the only sound we heard was the music from the musicians in the bar that gathered that evening for a good Irish craic - which was so fun to watch. There was even a little Irish dancing. We'd stay here again and wished we could have had an extra night for more music. This was so much better than a typical hotel - we highly recommend it. With breakfast included, it was really affordable for London.

Pros:
* Location
* Great food - we had snacks in the bar in the evening and the breakfast (included) was really good. Go for the full English breakfast (we had ours delivered to the room).
* Nice people - everyone was professional and helpful.
* Great beer selection with lots of local choices.

Cons (very minor things, though):
* No lift - was a little bit of a trek if you have a lot of bags, but the staff helped us carry them.
* Shower was really tiny, but there was plenty of hot water.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #2 on the third floor. It has a nice double/queen bed and a twin. Was perfect for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redwagon70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This was a great find. The pub has a great atmosphere and is in a good location. The rooms are spotless and secure. The staff were all fantasic. The food in the pub was great with good selections including meals which suit vegetarians. The breakfast was brilliant. Will definately stay here again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GH5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

I trawled for ages to find somewhere in London to stay within easy walking distance of St Pancras. Found the Harrison and was not disappointed. Stayed here before leaving early for the Eurostar and on the way back a week later. Very helpful staff, had a simply fantastic meal the first night, and great breakfast early the following morning. Returned a week later quite late, but just in time to have a meal again. Food delicious, quite a lot of people eating here too when we were there, so obviously well known for quality food.

Very clean room and bathroom with good toiletries, tea and coffee making facilities too. Found a quick way to walk to the station, not on the main road. Very good for being close to the British Library too.

Only small gripe, found the restaurant a bit cold when we had breakfast. But very quiet at night and no sound from the bar either. Well recommended, would most certainly use again when in london.

Room Tip: Don't be put off because this is a pub and they only have four rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendybears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We spent only one night at The Harrison but found it an extremely comfortable and convenient stay. The room was clean, the staff were extremely accommodating and our breakfast the next morning was delicious. Their room rates are excellent, the pub is close to Kings Cross train and subway lines and the bar area has a great atmosphere. Thoroughly recommend The Harrison and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anna-kesson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#374 of 1,067 in London
1,809 reviews
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#950 of 1,067 in London
279 reviews
Bloomsbury
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#49 of 557 in London
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
The House of Toby London
The House of Toby London
#46 of 557 in London
34 reviews
Bloomsbury
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#65 of 557 in London
207 reviews
Bloomsbury
Judd Hotel
Judd Hotel
#247 of 557 in London
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harrison Gastro Pub and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harrison Gastro Pub and Hotel

Property: The Harrison Gastro Pub and Hotel
Address: 28 Harrison Street, London WC1H 8JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 557 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harrison Gastro Pub and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Harrison Gastro Pub and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harrison Gastro Pub Hotel London
The Harrison Gastro Pub And Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing