We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“non pretentious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wellington Hotel
Ranked #506 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed July 2, 2014

just like to thank mark the manager and his staff he is a top bloke who from the moment we arrived to the day we left he made us feel welcome and the breakfast was top notch and location great as was the conversation we had on the sunday before we left about history of the hotel etc thanks again the sunday morning Scottish ghost couple~

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimlate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Hi how are you guys than kyou for your review it was good to meet you both and i enjoyed our little chat about Geroge please keep in touch with me and i hope to see you both again very soon
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 541 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2014

I booked this hotel for an overnight stay and it was perfect for our needs. The staff were friendly and the bar downstairs was busy and vibrant, we didn't have a chance to have a drink in there unfortunately but it looked like a true London pub. Proximity to Waterloo station and the Eye/South Bank was perfect. We met Mark the Manager who was really friendly. We left our bags and went off to meet friends and on our return we had a swift check in and were given the keys to our room. A couple of sets of stairs but nothing too major to tackle. The room itself was spotlessly clean, a safe provided and the bathroom was modern and very clean. Tea and coffee making facilities and a couple of bottles of water which was a nice touch. Room was warm but we already had a fan in there and we slept with the windows open and the fan on so no issue with the train noise. Breakfast was delicious and fast. We checked out but wished we had booked another night there. Thank you Mark and all your staff for a lovely stay, we will come again! From the sisters from Cambridgeshire going to Wimbledon!

Room Tip: We had room 22, a twin room, we didn't notice the trains to be honest and slept with the fan on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tea-and-Beaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Afternoon thank you for taking the time to do a review so how was the tennis did you have a good time ! in all the years i have lived in london i have never been . Anyway i am happy you enjoyed the wellington and my team looked after you . please take care and i hope to see you here with us again .
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We just popped in for a drink on a hot day. The staff were friendly and prices reasonable. There was a good buzz / atmosphere about the place, even after the football had finished. It is just situated just across the road from the entrance to Waterloo railway/tube station. Worth a visit.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Tully22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Spent 2 nights here after long flight from Australia and before a UK road trip. Room was spotless (special mention of housekeeping excellence) and bed extremely comfortable. Unlike some other reviews, we didn't find room noisy at all. Even though rooms are smallish, they are very well appointed. Yes there are some stairs to contend with, but we were 2 middle aged women with 3 suitcases and managed fine, so I think any complaint here from anyone is just for complaint sake. If you are going to stay in 19th century or earlier establishments, expect small corridors and narrow stairs. No issue at all here. Breakfast was excellent. The atmosphere of the pub was warm and welcoming. The only negative I have was one evening when patroning the bar, I found the service a little complacent. Some of the bar staff were definitely not interested in being there and as the bar was 2deep busy, seemed to be totally disinterested in service. We ordered a meal at the bar, they asked what table we were at, I pointed to the table as the table number ( small coin sized disc in corner of table) was missing on our table. I expressed this to the waitress and she basically didn't want to take my order as I didn't know the table number. I wasn't too stressed as a male attendant took my order and eventually we received dinner. All I could really do was roll my eyes and got on with my evening. I am not judging the hotel on one aloof staff member as the rest were on top of it. All in all, a good stay in GREAT LOCATION.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traci_rae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Have just enjoyed a great short break at The Wellington from Wednesday to Saturday. This is not your usual hotel. It has real individuality and a quirky charm that might not be everyone's taste but we loved it. The Wellington combines a great busy pub with simple well presented rooms. The reception is in the bar and the rooms extend three floors above the main bar. The staff were all great and were happy to help in anyway they could. The rooms have been recently refurbished - our room had a great shower! The bed linen and towels were also good quality. The hotel is in a good central location and offers great value for money. The breakfast, which was included in the price, was as good as any we've had. There is no lift so if you have a room on one of the upper floors, be prepared for a bit of a climb stairs! This will be our hotel of choice next time we're back in London!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AyrLedgies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We returned to the Wellington Hotel with friends after staying here a year ago. I tried to get a room here again after the refurbishment, but unfortunately it was fully booked. We came for dinner with our friends after enjoying the food so much the last time we came. The food was just as good as our last visit, the service was great despite being very busy for the world cup and we all enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Rosie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We had booked the hotel from the Monday to the thurs as we had an invite to go to the garden party at Buckingham palace. While some complain about the train noise it was not something that bothered us. That’s with the both windows open as it was boiling over the few days we were there. It was the hottest few days of the year so far. The stairs will keep you fit if you’re on a high floor lol but not a problem even for my wife who has angina you just take your time.
The staff are fantastic they can’t do enough for you I did notice a few awkward customers talk to them like dirt over silly little things like having black pudding as an item on breakfast and not hash browns. NO need to treat staff like that, the girls work hard. Had a few problems with the key card when we arrived just one of them things and as I say it was a hot day. One of the girls kept coming up and down the stairs till she sorted it out. Poor girl was shattered.
The room was great with a lot of little extras you don’t get in many other hotels. There is a bit of work going on at the moment but nothing to get in your way as they improve the hotel.
Breakfast was great again cant believe it was free big selling point for us on a budget.
Also wifi was free very handy with other hotels charging over £6 a day.

Location wise you can’t beat it waterloo station across the road for main line or tube. Bus stop right outside or a 5 minute walk for Southbank, London eye, Westminster etc or take Waterloo Bridge for a walk over the river to covert garden. The hotel is a perfect place for exploring London.
Price of the hotel was also good for location and was only £3 more than a well-known set of hotels just up the road and that was without breakfast and wifi which would have been extra.
Plus a couple of hundred pounds cheaper than a few up a short walk away.
So you will not beat it for value, drinks were expensive to us from our local but on par with London prices. The bar was very comfortable and clean and very friendly there is a separate entrance if you did wish to go through the bar but I wouldn’t have any worries taking children though.

I have stayed in this area twice and always found the locals very friendly and helpful, I look for value cleanness, friendliness and good food when away and found it all in the Duke of Wellington and can’t wait to go back as we will defiantly book again.

Room Tip: We had room 12 if you not able to handle a lot of stairs I would ask for a lower floor. Pub was ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elaine221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London Bridge
Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Southbank
The Mad Hatter Hotel
The Mad Hatter Hotel
#194 of 1,076 in London
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington Hotel

Address: 81-83 Waterloo Road, London SE1 8UD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#276 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $128 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Chefs know you can only make great food with the best ingredients. So they demand that seasonal, local produce is delivered fresh every day. That’s our Chef’s commitment to your food and one of the reasons they put their signature on every menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your The Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel London
The Wellington Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing