We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Wellington Hotel
Ranked #503 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed May 5, 2014

This is the second time I have stayed here and I did not previously leave a review as I felt the rooms were somewhat tired, although the experience was good overall. However, they have clearly spent a substantial amount of money because the rooms now are incredible. The theme throughout this refurb is obviously "London Town" with underground station signs and London landmarks decorated everywhere. You are in the heart of London when you are here and it is nice to recognise this within the rennovations.

I will be looking to stay again in the future.

Room Tip: I stayed on the side of the train tracks and the new double glazing did a great job of soundproofing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KERRMINAT0R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 552 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

We have stayed before and enjoyed it alot so came back. This is a great location with the underground over the road. It's a beautiful building inside.The staff were very helpful and polite it's a lively pub at the weekend for all ages they serve food till late. Our room had been refurbished and was really modern clean and warm. Word of warning keep windows closed at night as it can be noisy with the trains and early morning workers. In the morning we were greeted by lovely helpful smiling staff nothing too much trouble. The breakfast menu absolutely brilliant you could not want for more my husband had a full english breakfast I had the express breakfast which was two eggs lovely bacon and toast plenty for people who can't eat too much. Plenty of fruit cereals orange coffee you will not leave hungry. Well done on your customer service we will be back.

Room Tip: Keep windows closed at night due to some noise as always in any hotel in London.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caron c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

To be frank, our expectations were fairly low because of the very reasonable price, but we were extremely impressed. The comfort and cleanliness of our en suite bedroom were of the highest quality, and these standards were maintained throughout our stay. The choice of breakfast was very good, and the quality and quantity could not be faulted (particularly the bacon!)
Staff were very friendly and helpful, and David and waitress Nicole deserve a special mention.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone, as the location is also perfect, literally across the road from Waterloo station. It is a busy pub, but in our room, we were not troubled by noise, as we were away from the main road and the other side from the railway.

We would certainly re-book this great venue for another stay in London

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank PeteandSylv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Was down in London as a friend was running the marathon and we wanted somewhere to watch the Scottish Cup semi final between Rangers and Dundee United. The staff in the Wellington were very accommodating and changed one of the TVs for us so we could see it. Spent a few hours in here and would recommend the pub as it was very friendly and spacious. The mural on the ceiling of the battle if Waterloo is amazing also

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Kingshepton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

With a warm, friendly welcome, a beautiful historic building and a very high standard of personal service, The Wellington at Waterloo is genuinely one of the nicest hotels I have stayed at. Mine was a booking at short notice prior to a job interview, and I really cannot praise the hotel highly enough. The hotel team were great and really friendly and helpful - my (huge) suitcase was carried up and down to my room for me, for which I was extremely grateful - the breakfast was tasty, and I was able to leave my bags securely at the hotel even after I'd checked out whilst I was at the interview. The hotel has just been refurbished and my room on the top floor (room 9) was very stylish and swish - and a special mention to the wonderful en suite shower too! Great location just a stone's throw from the South Bank, Westminster and The Old Vic (to name just a few), this would be a perfect spot from which to explore London on foot. I'd recommend the Wellington to anyone looking for a characterful, friendly, stylish and reasonably priced place to stay to enjoy their trip to London.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

It's a ok hotell, but it is loud outside at night. The rooms are small. And the breakfast was awful.
And if you like shopping, it's far from the main shopping areas. But other then that is was fine, nice bed, tv and hot water. And the wifi was ok. And it is not far from the Big Ben and "the eye"-thing.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Solveig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

The good:

Really clean room
Great shower
Friendly staff
Nice breakfast
Great central London location, right next to tube station
Free WiFi

The bad

Small bed
Room was ludicrously warm. So much so I struggled to sleep the first night. It wasn't so bad once I opened all the windows and the staff gave me a fan
Right next to the train station so there's a lot of noise. Ear plugs are essential

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tallintheair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Mad Hatter Hotel
The Mad Hatter Hotel
#192 of 1,077 in London
1,150 reviews
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington Hotel

Address: 81-83 Waterloo Road, London SE1 8UD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#275 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $108 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Chefs know you can only make great food with the best ingredients. So they demand that seasonal, local produce is delivered fresh every day. That’s our Chef’s commitment to your food and one of the reasons they put their signature on every menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel London
The Wellington Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing