We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, good room but not for young children”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wellington Hotel
Ranked #513 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Booked a night here when taking the family for a break in London.
Room was nice but a double,single bed and pull out bed, suited us but it was on the 3rd floor. After a day of sight seeing and two young children it was knackering getting to the top.
Could eat in the bar as we had hoped after our day as it was rammed full of drinkers, so we took to the Pizza Express just around the corner.
Breakfast was nice. All in all - value for money

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Hi third floor its hard work that one ! a big thank you for your review i hope the little ones had a good time here and london itself . if you wish to stay with us again please ring us here at the wellington ask for me and i see what i can do for you with regards to a room on a lower floor as we are having a major refurbishment on the hotel at this time and we are making another family room on a lower floor so it would be better for you. please take care enjoy the summer
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 541 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

On entering the building, you are greeted with a very large pub area and fantastic art work on ceilings.
Check-in was a little slow as pub was packed, but a little patience doesn't hurt.
We had 2 double rooms booked and got 4 and 5. Back staircase leading from pub area was a little spit and sawdust but it is an old building. Rooms were clean well appointed and comfortable. Noise of trains passing was ok, have slept though worse in New York.
Breakfast was worth every penny. Loads of everything and if reading this you think different, try and get bed and breakfast in the center of London for less that £95.
Staff were perlite and friendly.
Would stay again.



Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank notso186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

afternoon thank you for your review we try out best here at the wellington we are not the Ritz but we are friendly . We are having a major refurbishment at this time on the Hotel so i hope if you come and stay with us again you will see the difference .Again thank you for the review and hope to see you soon
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

The positive:

It's conveniently located next to the entrance of Waterloo East. Also if you want beer or two, you are located directly above the bar.

The negative:
The noise: considering you are literally next to a very busy main line, you would think the owners would have invested in double or triple glazing?
The cleanliness is somewhat disappointing, with dust and dirt in the stair well to the rooms, the rooms were dusty and the shower room needed a good bleaching. Talking of which, I am pretty sure the poor lighting in the shower room was to hide the fact it wasn't very clean.
The sleep was obviously effected by the noise, but the bed itself was not that comfortable and the duvet was thin and lacked quality.
The breakfast as I only had scrambled eggs (rubbery) and juice (concentrated). They also only started service at 08:00, which for business travellers is usually to late.

I've stayed in worse, but I for the the cost I could have stayed in a "Secret location" 4 star (so why didn't I?)

Room Tip: I would suggest staying somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and your stay at wellington hotel. I am sorry that the standards were not great . we are having at this moment a major refurbishment at our hotel. I would like you to visit us again at our new refurbishment hotel. please contact me in person and i would be more then happy to look after you .
kind regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

The Wellington is excellect, we stayed mid week for my birthday, the room we had was clean and warm. The bed was very comfortable. The shower was amazing really woke you up. The breakfast was brillant a lot of choice, plenty of tea, coffee and juices. The staff are lovely and make you feel very welcome. The 2nd time we have stayed there and we will be back.

Room Tip: Room 18 is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear guest
I would like to thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at wellington hotel.Wellington hotel will be even better place to stay on your next visit to london as we are having a major refurbishment and we look forward to see you agin soon.
kind regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I agree with previous reviewers that this place needs a bit of TLC, but it was an ideal base for a couple of days in London.

We stayed in a family room on the 3rd floor facing the road and the noise didn't bother any of us. In fact we all slept very well. Noise would be reduced further if the windows closed properly! Room and linen we're very clean, towels soft and fluffy, beds comfy. No bath, but FANTASTIC shower. Yes, we had to climb a few flights of stairs, but this wasn't a problem.

Breakfast was great. Option of cooked, cereal, yoghurt, fruit, tea, coffee etc. Set us up for the day. There was a nice atmosphere in the pub itself. Felt really welcoming even with a very tired 7 year old! Free WiFi a bonus.

Location is ideal for Waterloo, South Bank & the West End. Walked to the London Eye, over Waterloo Bridge to Covent Garden. Direct tube to Bond Street to hit Oxford Street and to North Greenwich to the O2 Arena.

Overall The Wellington is good value for money in a great location and I would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: We slept fine facing the road, can't comment on the rooms near the tracks. If you're a ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SezIOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Guest.
Thank you for your kind review and your stay at wellington hotel. just to let you know that at moment we are having a major refurbishment at the hotel . we look forward to see you again in near future so you can enjoy the stay even more .
kind regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

On arrival, booked into hotel from the bar area, by manager Mark, speedy, professional, first impression was excellent and from then on, only got better.Rooms, clean, comfortable, linen and towels excellent. The Wellington Hotel saved us money, as it's situation was ten minutes walk from everywhere we wanted to go, ideal, add to that, superb brekfast, it can't get any better. Mark and his staff have set a high standard, well done, will we be back? you bet and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SamBDublinI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you for your review i hope you come back again and see us and lets us know what you think of the new look wellington after the refurbishment of the hotel.

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I agree with many of the comments made previously. I use this as hotel occasionally for business when the location suits me.
The hotel rooms are reasonably priced for London.The rooms are well sized for the price range with good towels, bed linen, tea and coffee facilities bottled water and en suite.
The hotel is located very conveniently for Waterloo Train station and the London Eye, South Bank and central London. It is not quiet but the noise is part of the urban grain of a city center.
The carpets do however detract - they are clean but stained.
The pub is great - it's a Fullers pub so excellent beers - and they have expressed the vaulted brick arches to dramatic effect.
Good breakfast with both buffet of cereals, fruit, dried fruit and yogurts and to follow a freshly cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BurleyBoy-XLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for your feed back. Just to let you know that we are having a major refurbishment. We look forward to see you agin soon and see what you think of the new look of the hotel rooms.
kind regards
Mark Leeds
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London Bridge
Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Southbank
The Mad Hatter Hotel
The Mad Hatter Hotel
#194 of 1,076 in London
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington Hotel

Address: 81-83 Waterloo Road, London SE1 8UD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#276 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $125 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Chefs know you can only make great food with the best ingredients. So they demand that seasonal, local produce is delivered fresh every day. That’s our Chef’s commitment to your food and one of the reasons they put their signature on every menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your The Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel London
The Wellington Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing