We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Wellington Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$417
$314
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$292
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$224
$187
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$172
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$309
$239
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$143
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$222
$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$217
$202
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$288
$279
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (583)
Filter reviews
583 results
Traveler rating
189
214
112
38
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
214
112
38
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaterloo stationearplugs providedlively pubno liftpub with roomsroyal festival halllondon eyetrain noisefull englishold victop floorsouth bankset us up for the dayfirst floorbusy roadflights of stairskey card
Filter
Updating list...
448 - 453 of 583 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2012

we were doing a lot on our stay, in our 2 days we were cramming in 4 activities. so needless to say when we walked out of waterloo station via exit 2(down the escalators next to mcdonalds) and saw our hotel litrally across the road we were well impressed. its above the pub which it is part of handy if you like a drink. the room was small but how much space do you need? the bed was comfy, the room was clean, well decorated and warm, windows were open when we arrived so bear that in mind if you feel the cold you may want to shut them asap. the view was of a bit of bridge and piping but we were far to busy to really care. breakfast is provided in the pub every morning, pretty standard, full english made to order and buffet style cereal tea coffee and juices. the staff were very friendly and helpful. top tip ask for a room on the first floor as stairs are steep and lots of them, we were on second floor and felt like a mini workout going up and down. also there is a sainsburys local 1min to the left of hotel, 2 bus stops outside and waterloo train and tube station opposite so brilliant location, will be staying again

Room Tip: all rooms are pretty small had a sneaky peak at room 18 on the way past, it seemed to be bigger i think as its on the corner but try for the first floor
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauren h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

It's odd that so many reviews listed here refer to the Wellington in Victoria rather than by Waterloo Station, but noticeable that most of the less-than-complimentary reviews refer to the Victoria establishment.

In no particular order, let's get a couple of facts straight (our starter for ten):

1. Wellington is owned by Fullers, a very good London-based brewer selling fine ales such as its torch bearer, London Pride;

2. The bar, restaurant and hotel accommodation has been run for some time by a most affable, gentleman landlord, Mark Leeds. It is hard to find fault with Mark's management or with his selection of team who assist. They are all very able and willing to help;

3. Yes, the location is directly opposite Waterloo Station - that's a major plus in terms of location and a minor inconvenience in terms of background noise (what city doesn't have traffic noises?). Waterloo is a fantastic hub for accessing the underground (tube) and bus links. Do not under-estimate the convenience of this fact - it's difficult to imagine any other station having such easy and swift access to so many other key destinations within London;

4. Theatreland is a 10 minute walk via Waterloo Bridge. What hotel exists so close to Theatreland yet is such good value? The same applies to the many restaurants in this area (from the cheap & cheerful "Marie's Cafe" to the "Auberge" next door) and also across the bridge in Covent Garden.

5. The fact that Wellington is a pub should not put you off. During the evenings, the pub is busy, yes. What does that tell you?! It's very popular! Yet it's also very good-natured. Possibly a by-product of the solid management team? In the bedrooms, noise from the pub is non-existent above other sounds. We have been staying here almost every week for the past FIVE months and have never witnessed any issues with clientete. OK, so that's not a guarantee, but we've never seen any damage or mess when heading down for breakfast at 7 in the morning;

6. The rooms are well cleaned each day and all are ensuite. [Ignore those reviews that talk about communal bathrooms/WCs - they're referring to the 'other' Wellington.] There may not be air-conditioning (open windows provide good ventilation) and there aren't any lifts, but the price reflects these two weaknesses. Incidentally, the main entrance for rooms is separate from the pub entrance, and it can only be accessed using secure electronic passes.

7. Food. You'll most likely enjoy the breakfast, which has been well described in other reviews. Breakfast is most pleasant, and since the pub is empty in the morning there's absolutely loads of space to spread out. Is the number of serving staff a problem? We don't think so as they are fully attentive and you don't need a butler;

8. Wi-fi is absolutely fine. Again, any negative references to this must be confusing this with the 'other' Wellington;

9. Checkout times. Ask one of the managers THE DAY BEFOREHAND and we can almost guarantee they'll oblige. We recommend you shouldn't demand it, but if they can they most likely will. Failing that, they might ask you to vacate the room for cleaning but make yourself comfortable downstairs in the pub area where you can still access wi-fi, watch TV or find a comfortable spot to quietly read. The answer is - be reasonable. The management team certainly are;

10. The final word must go to the staff again. Have we ever had issues during our many stays? Yes. Have any of these been major issues? No. Has the management team dealt with these efficiently and effectively? Absolutely, every one. This, to us, is the hallmark of a good establishment. Sure, from time to time, problems arise. Maybe someone forgot to leave out a set of earplugs or a bath mat. When the staff are told, there is always swift action and resolution, and perpetually executed with a smile and an apology for any inconvenience. To err is human; to resolve is exceptional.

So, as long as you've checked your reservation is at the Wellington by Waterloo, you should be fine. With the prices of central London hotels leaping higher than a pole-vaulter - in anticipation of the Diamond Jubilee, Olympics & Paralympics - this remains one of the better options at <£100/night. We hope you enjoy your stay, but if you don't - just speak to Mark!

Room Tip: You will notice the sound of trains and traffic, but it's more of a rumble than a squawk.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DR CHRISTOPHER C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

First impression is very good, you enter the Hotel's main entrance and you are greeted with a superb and very impressive bar, with paintings, Muriel’s and wood panelling, we arrived at 13:00 and had a drink in the Bar while we were waiting to check in at 14:00, the gentleman behind the bar was very helpful and polite. We were given our room swipe card and given details of how to gain entry to the Hotel part of the Bar, we were told what room we were in and shown the door that we needed to use, once through this door that’s when it went downhill, first of all No lift, stairs very narrow and very creaky, it was quite a climb to the second floor, on arrival at room the floor was making a lot of noise, we went into the room which at first view seemed quite pleasant, until we noticed the curtains on the main window only had one curtain hook holding one end of the curtain up so curtains would not close, I had to take 1 hook off the other curtain so we could close them, the wardrobe only had 1 hanger inside, and as we were there for three nights we had to leave our clothes in the suitcase as we could not hang them, also there were cobwebs around the celling other than this the room was ok, bed was very comfortable except for the noise from the trains, I know that other reviews have said about the trains noise but they do not give it justice, believe me when I tell you that the trains are so close to your window you can see the driver and the passengers and the trains go buy your window from 05:00 to 01:00, yes they do supply earplugs but they are no good. The most positive part of our stay was the breakfast in the morning which is first class, if you want a meal in the hotel at night then my answer to you is have it about 3pm as the pub gets very, very, busy from about 4pm till it closes at midnight, on our second day we came back to our room to find the door had been left on the latch by the cleaner all lights were on, so anybody could have walked into our room and taken what they wanted, also after the second night we only had bath towels no hand towels were left in the room, all in all we will not be staying in this hotel again, we are frequent visitors to London and thought that we would try somewhere different this time as we normally stay in the same hotel every time, this has taught us to stick to what you know, we will be in London again in May, we will be here for three nights again we will also have 2 other people travelling with us, and we will NOT be staying at the Wellington in Waterloo again. I hope this helps

Room Tip: The rooms on the Left side of the Hotel are closer to the Railway line. The reception area is at the very left side of the Bar.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 11Helidon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Family of 4 (Children aged 6 & 12)
Overnight stay to see a show.
One of the nicest pub interiors we've seen.
Landlord and Staff very welcoming and helpful (gave good recommend for secure overnight parking nearby) - nothing was too much trouble.
Spacious family room (Double + Single with pull out bed - also Travel Cot if needed).
Ensuite shower/toilet. Flat screen, wall-mounted TV. Tea/coffee making facilities, water & biscuits. Whilst not pristine (bit of TLC needed) it was clean and suited us. Right opposite Waterloo station so there was traffic noise but not intrusive - the noises of a big city! Obviously very handy for the tube/buses. Short walk to South Bank (by National Theatre/London Eye). Substantial breakfast included (Tea, Coffee, Juice, Milk, Croissants, Cereals, Yoghurt, Full English - or variations of).
Overall, very good value and will be our London stopover for future trips.

Room Tip: We didn't inspect all the rooms - but I would suggest contacting the Landlord and discussing yur best options with him.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

When they say this hotel is near Waterloo station, they ain't joking! Be warned, if you don't like train noise, you probably won't like it here, because it is right next to the tracks, but at the same time you CANNOT beat it for location - close to everything you could need.
A very warm welcome, loved the little touches of the bottled water and earplugs in the room, bed very comfy (even if the carpet had seen better decades), facilities fine.
This isn't the kind of place you'd go for a romantic getaway, or a long stay, but it does perfectly for a city break, and they quite happily store your luggage for you on the day you check out.
Again, despite the train tracks, I have to say I slept very well!
The breakfast was yummy and freshly cooked to order.
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you don't like trains, keep away from the tracks!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Msfingerpaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews