We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb location and OK quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
LSE Grosvenor House Studios
Ranked #159 of 837 Specialty Lodging in London
Okinawa, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb location and OK quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

As I had heard good reputation about Grovenor House (as one of the best student halls of LSE), my expectation was much higher than what I actually experienced. I thought this was just an average student hall (in terms of the smell of the kitchen and stains on the floor). Nonetheless, the location was superb and you would not regret if the main reason for choosing Grovenor House was its location for such a reasonable price. Furthermore, the size of the room was big enough (for London).

It was annoying that the fire alarm rang around 5am and we had to evacuate the building. I didn't think it was a real fire - this may be an occasional event you need to expect when staying at a student hall.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    43
    13
    9
    7
See reviews for
17
41
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2010

Great place to stay. Located less than a 10 minute walk to the tube station, and about a 25 minute walk away from piccadilly. If all you need is a place to sleep and store your luggage, then this is the place. Internet is 4 pounds for every 20 minutes or so, but there's a starbucks around the corner that has free internet. The beds are comfortable enough. TVs only get 4 channels, but I didn't go to London to watch TV. All in all a pretty awesome place to stay-I just wish it was open all year around. Will for sure be back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mattyboy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

Hi I stayed at Grosvenor House with a friend in a twin bedded apartment. It was clean, spacious and quiet. There were good cooking facilities and with M&S food just down the road we saved a fortune on eating out in London. It's in a great location. The staff on the desk were very friendly. I'll definitely stay there again when I visit London.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freespirit024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frimley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

The location and price of Grosvenor House are just outstanding. So close to Covent Garden and Leicester Square at a price that cannot be beaten. The room was comfortable though I would have liked to see a few more kitchen bits and pieces (like a saucepan, another plate and some cutlery!). There was some road noise but you can't expect peace in such a central location. Would definitely stay there again and plan to next summer.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oetzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2010

Unsure what to expect when we booked - pleasently surprised when we arrived, planning to book again as we left!!
Checked in early no problem, room ground floor large twin, kitchen basic but very usable great to have that facility, shower room small but all you need great shower always hot water, clean towels every day except Saturday just leave them on the shower room floor and they are replaced, Reception staff very helpful and friendly - looking at some of the other reviews maybe you are treated as you treat others!
To be fair this is student accomodation it exceeded our expectations and yes its a basic stay in central London for a budget price. You don't get a view or room service but you are 3 mins from Covent Garden Market and Tube Station.
Points to note, Tescos is ten mins walk and open till midnight most nights, M&S food hall 5 mins walk, Breakfast at Holborn 5 min walk (basic and fresh)
Valerie's Patisserie on Long Acre 2min walk highly recomended.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bainesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2010

centre of london! 10 mins walk to Leicester square, london eye etc! great value for money for the centre of London. Im not sure what people expect for paying low prices but the room was clean, good cooking facilites if you are on a budget. yes ok the views aren't great, but surely thats what you see when you are out and about visiting the sights?!
overall, i would recommend this to people who want to stay in London at cheaper rates! its clean, friendly staff, walking distance to most things!i stayed there for 2 nights and was happy with my stay

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyred82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2010

bathroom was more like a broom cuboard, very out dated and to be honest i didnt have a shower whilst staying, as i'ld proberly end up dirtier than before i went in!! good value 4 money however n great location in west end, communication was poor, emailed 3 times asking about a late check in, no reply so had to call u and reception very unhelpful and unwilling for us to have an extra hour in the room even though we offered to pay more. so of course on the night we stayed an extra hour anyway! much to the cleaners distriss and anger lol

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FTXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
The Hospital Club
The Hospital Club
#218 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Covent Garden
The Fielding Hotel
The Fielding Hotel
#168 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#249 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
LSE Bankside House
LSE Bankside House
#537 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Covent Garden
Seven Dials Hotel
Seven Dials Hotel
#694 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Covent Garden
LSE High Holborn Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LSE Grosvenor House Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LSE Grosvenor House Studios

Property: LSE Grosvenor House Studios
Address: 141 Drury Lane, London WC2B 5TB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 837 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — LSE Grosvenor House Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grosvenor House Studios is comprised of studio flats on Drury Lane in Covent Garden.The location of the accommodation is unbeatable, just yards away from the main plaza of Covent Garden and within easy reach of Oxford Street, Leicester Square, Piccadilly Circus and all central London attractions.Each studio and apartment has its own kitchenette and private bathroom; first-rate facilities in the heart of London.Bed & breakfast bookings are also available, with breakfast served at our High Holborn residence, just a five minute walk away. Both residences are shown on the detailed map to the right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your LSE Grosvenor House Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor House Studios Hotel London
LSE Grosvenor House Studios London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing