We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff - great location, tiny room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Indigo London-Paddington
Ranked #220 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The room is just big enough for a bed, so it can be frustrating if you want to work at a desk. The shower and room facilities are modern and the room is clean and fresh. The general hotel facilities are very good and the staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: avoid the street view rooms - it can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Hotel Indigo London-Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your recent review on Hotel Indigo Paddington and we were pleased to read you really enjoyed the hotel but please accept our apology that your room was smaller than expected. Should you stay with us again I would like to recommend you try one of our king bedded rooms which I know you will enjoy even more.
We can’t wait to see you next time.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,949)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

939 - 945 of 1,949 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

Have used this hotel several times. It is very well located for public transport, being only yards from Paddington Station and numerous bus routes. No problems with noise however, even with a room overlooking the street at the front.
Rooms are characterful and comfortable, clean and well maintained. Standard rooms are very small, but I have been upgraded as a platinum IHG member on the last 2 occasions to a considerably larger one - probably worth paying the extra for if staying for more than one night.
Staff are always pleasant and welcoming.
Attached brasserie always seems popular, and offers good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Hotel Indigo London-Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your recent review on Hotel Indigo Paddington and we were pleased to read you really enjoyed your stay again and it is always a pleasure to see you and we look forward to your next stay with us.
We can’t wait to see you next time.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The rooms are extremely small. It's ok if you intend to go out all day and just return to sleep.The location is not bad since it is only a few steps away from the Paddindton station. The staff during the day is very nice and courteous, however, the evening shift is less friendly and doesn't look very happy. Overall, this hotel is fair for its price.

Room Tip: Get the executive room if traveling as a couple. My daughter fell out of the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canucks1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo London-Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Canucks1234,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We've stayed at two Indigos now, and this one is certainly less impressive than their property in Glasgow. But the rooms are cute--small, but well designed. Opt for the executive upgrade: the extra square footage is worth the modest price increase, and the views are pleasant. Bed is very comfortable and bath is small but efficient. Rooms are quiet, given that the area around Paddington is noisy. Downside of the hotel is its public space--there is none (and a tiny, slow elevator), and a staff that knows nothing about local restaurants or sites and struggles with English (in England!). They were friendly, but not very helpful. This Indigo is good for a night or two for folks with early departures to Heathrow from Paddington (one block away), but wouldn't recommend it for anything more than that.

Room Tip: choose a higher floor and the larger room type (there are only two).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wrldtrvlrs2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo London-Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear wrldtrvlrs2013,

Thank you for your feedback. We value feedback as it assists us in our never ending task to better ourselves and improve our guest services.

I am sorry to hear your issues with our staff and the lack of public space. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience and dissatisfaction these aspects have caused you.

I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. We appreciate all guest feedback, and strive to provide excellent service to all of our guests. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My fourth visit to London but my first time in this hotel .. I loved it and look fwd to staying here again in my next trip to London .. location is so good .. took Heathrow Express / Connect (train service from airport) into Paddington station and from the station it is very short walk to the hotel (less than 5 minutes)

The hotel is good - clean, in quiet neighborhood, modern decoration, the room is well-sized so does the bathroom - equipped with A/C .. free wi-fi worked well in the room, lobby

Another thing that makes me happy with the hotel is - there are many Halal restaurants in the vicinity - so finding halal food for is not a problem at all.

For those who like to shop .. 10 to 15 minutes walk will bring you to Oxford Street and for those who are planning to join the Big Bus Tour - there is a Big Bus stop few meters away from the hotel - so you can hop on and hop off the bus (at the end of the tour) and take a 1-minute walk back to the hotel .. very convenient.

Overall - great place great hotel and will definitely be back in my future trip to London :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOERIZAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Hotel Indigo London-Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Dear Guests,
Many thanks for your recent review on Hotel Indigo Paddington and we were overjoyed to read you really enjoyed your stay and will definitely return.
We can’t wait to see you next time.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Looking for a last minute hotel booking and being fussy is not an ideal combination so when we stumbled across the Indigo we were very pleased. We arrived early at the hotel intending only to leave our luggage but on arrival the friendly reception staff checked if our room was ready and although it wasn't another room was, so they gave us an early check-in in that one instead. A point to note I had requested a quiet room which would have been at the back of the hotel, but because we chose to swap rooms we ended up at the front, it wasn't incredibly noisy but the back would have been quieter. I do agree with other reviewers that the rooms are quite small, but for a short stay perfectly adequate and comfortable and most essentially clean. I booked directly with the hotel which beat any of the hotel booking sites for price and included breakfast in that price. Breakfast was a pretty standard choice of cold buffet or hot cooked to order, but of good quality and plenty of it. Hotel is within walking distance of Hyde Park/Kensington Gardens and in a generally nice area. The only disappointment was not being able to find a decent restaurant in the area for an evening meal, the selection was pretty run of the mill, but fine if that's what you want.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hardtoplease55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Hotel Indigo London-Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Dear Guests,
Many thanks for your recent review on Hotel Indigo Paddington and we were overjoyed to read you really enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at the Indigo twice on our recent UK trip. On both occasions we were very happy with the room, location, service and assistance provided. Rooms are consistent in size of other similar priced London hotels but the bedding is significantly better. Good sized bathrooms with all complimentary goods. Hotel is very clean and the staff very helpful, especially Peter the concierge. Buffett breakfasts were also very good, cooked on demand, so guaranteed fresh and hot ! The hotel is 5 minutes walk to the Paddington Station or 20 minutes walk thru the park to Buckingham Palace. Overall we would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Street view rooms are brighter but internal rooms are bigger.........
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TassieFamily7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, General Manager at Hotel Indigo London-Paddington, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Dear Guests,
Many thanks for your recent review on Hotel Indigo Paddington and we were overjoyed to read you really enjoyed your stay and will definitely return.
We can’t wait to see you next time.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Mercure London Hyde Park Hotel
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Paddington
Hilton London Paddington
#408 of 1,077 in London
4,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Roseate House London
#70 of 1,077 in London
1,486 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#169 of 1,077 in London
1,226 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo London-Paddington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo London-Paddington

Address: 16 London Street | Paddington, London W2 1HL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#70 Romantic Hotel in London
#102 Business Hotel in London
#163 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $147 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo London-Paddington 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upon entering Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence 2014 winner Hotel Indigo London-Paddington you feel an immediate shift away from the hectic pace of business travel. Enjoy the quiet luxury and individuality of this chic, London boutique hotel moments from Paddington Station. Hotel Indigo London-Paddington benefits from the central Paddington location which is a tourist hub and a home to many business headquarters. This boutique hotel is adjacent to Paddington Station from where the Heathrow Express leaves every 15 minutes and takes the same time to reach the airport. Preferred equally by business executives and leisure guests, the Hotel Indigo London-Paddington is close to Oxford Street shops and Selfridge's, beautiful Hyde Park and Notting Hill areas. It is easy to reach the City, West End theatres or the famous galleries and museums from Paddington Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo London-Paddington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo London-Paddington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing